We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cuan

6-10 The Square, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
+44 28 4488 1222
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“scampi” (49 reviews)
“chowder” (34 reviews)
“seafood” (25 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Irish, Seafood, European, British, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6-10 The Square, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Boys night out , called before and after eating across the road ...next time I will reverse, nice friendly place can only guess the grub would match

Thank nigeltheshed
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the chowder my son had the beef and guiness stew. both were excellant. great service too, not to mention the awesome bread.

Thank Chuck K
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend, daughter and I nipped in for a coffee on Saturday 11th November.......I had never been in the Cuan before. We stepped into a cosy room heated by a roaring fire and were treated by friendly staff, despite only ordering coffees. What a lovely...More

Thank elaineamymcfeeters
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms are incredibly small, need an update and the beds and pillows were so firm that I was unable to sleep. I did not find it to be the friendliest place either.More

1  Thank catherinemQ2687CP
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear CatherinemQ2687CP I was very disappointed to read your review, we are rated as a 4 * premises by Tourism N Ireland, indeed in many categories we scored 5*, this review is so out of keeping with all of our other feedback I am struggling...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited on the Game of Thrones tour and had pre-booked our menu on the bus having been given the option for The Cuan among other options. The menu looked promising so we decided to go with this option. We had to pre-book due to...More

Thank Robert D
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Robert D I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. Lasagne rank between the third and fifth most popular dish every week, we use a very high quality minced Irish beef that we source from local farmers in Crossgar, Co Down...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in without booking and weRe made welcome at once. Good food but a bit of a wait once food was ordered. Delicious smoked haddock and duo of sea bass and say trout was lively and fresh. Will visit again.

Thank valeria2016651
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear valeria2016651 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of the world. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Caroline, Peter & Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We tried the Cuan after reading about it online and driving past it a number of times. The six of us were sat straight away and after having our drinks ordered and delivered we were greeted and welcomed by Peter the owner who had been...More

Thank Philip B
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Philip B It was a delight to read your review, we are genuinely interested in every single guest that visits The Cuan and welcome the opportunity to spend a little extra time with them when the pace of business allows. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived mid/late Saturday afternoon having heard good reports of the Cuan. Service was very slow despite the fact that there seemed to be plenty of staff. We waited about half an hour for a garlic bread starter. While we were there other tables were sitting...More

Thank JoMac111
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear JoMac111 I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations in relation to speed of service, we will certainly have a look at this. i do hope you will have the confirence to visit again as this is the exception not the rule....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Got a chicken burger this evening still had blood in middle and was pink. Food hygiene practices were rather poor regarding something else i witnessed. To clarify beyond all doubt this was the chip shop and not the main restaurant.More

Thank Paul B
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Paul B I am happy to explain that what you thought was uncooked chicken was actually a blood vessel at the point here the wing bone attaches to the breast, very occasionally this can remain after the preparation of the chicken breasts by our...More

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Ate here with relatives - the welcome was second to none. The food was delicious, and nothing was too much trouble. Would most definitely return if I was in the area.

Thank MaureenD1500
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear MaureenD1500 Thank you for your lovely heartfelt words, we hope to see you again. Regards Caroline, Peter & team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Artisan Cookhouse
80 reviews
.10 km away
Portaferry Hotel Restaurant
221 reviews
1.17 km away
The Lobster Pot
291 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Exploris
344 reviews
1.31 km away
Clearsky Adventure Centre
147 reviews
1.32 km away
Castle Ward
458 reviews
1.49 km away
Portaferry Library
5 reviews
1.56 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Barbara F
17 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TheCuanCoDown | Property representative |
Hello Barbara, you do not need to specify a time at this stage just let us know on arrival. We look forward to meeting you Barbara. Regards Caroline
0
Votes
shirleyok2015
14 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Eileen Q | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure if it was but if you contact the owners....Caroline is the contact she will let you know very timely. They are wonderful people and have a special business in the Cuan.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$26 - US$40
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Television, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6-10 The Square, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Down  >  Strangford
  • Phone Number: +44 28 4488 1222
  • E-mail
Description
The Cuan Licensed Guest Inn is a family owned and run hotel located in the beautiful conservation village of Strangford, on the shores of Strangford Lough. We offer a fantastic food experience, available all day, with a passionate commitment to sourcing local seasonal produce. At the Cuan, we believe in the personal touch that comes with a family run business – you give us our livelihood – we reflect that in the way we look after you Plan a short break with us and explore the breadth of attractions and things to do in Co Down.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing