We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Holywell Inn

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene

Location and contact

About
Nestling in the Somerset countryside close to the Devon border, The Holywell Inn is a family owned and operated traditional village pub. The owners, Vic and Paulette Bigg, have lived in the area all their lives and fell in love with the charms and location of this pub many years ago. In June 2011 they managed to fulfill their dream of ownership and completely yet sympathetically restored the whole building whilst restructuring and relaunching the whole business. All of the offerings in their traditional British menu are now freshly prepared by Paulette using local ingredients whenever possible, her Sunday lunches should NOT be missed! You will always find Vic behind the bar, meeting, greeting
PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$28
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
221
26
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
221
26
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish pie pudding warm salad puds potatoes pot roast lamb the pub extra jug of gravy resident cat great sunday lunch en croute booked a table lovely atmosphere friendly landlord mothering sunday many thanks
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Fantastic night out at The Holywell. We came with our best friends. Had three courses each and plenty of drink. We had prawns and the breaded brie as starters. All steak for main and a variety of puddings. Price was reasonable. Atmosphere and service was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank audi099
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi audi099, What lovely kind words, many thanks for using your precious time to post your opinions. you are always welcome here.

Reviewed 6 days ago

Firstly I must say I was disappointed to the reply nuff said,and equally shocked to find the gentleman that dealt with us was the owner, and not just the barman, not all barmen are as rude as you sir. It may have come as a...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Deliciously
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Deliciously, Many thanks for taking the time to leave your opinions, as you mentioned, you work in a similar establishment, so you should appreciate that mistakes occur on the odd occasion and I can only apologise that you were served undercooked new potatoes during...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from Sunday lunch. Absolutely first class. Food superb, great beer and atmosphere. All country pubs should be like this. It never fails to match expectation. Well done to all at The Holywell.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank AndyDee57
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi AndyDee57, How lovely tho read that you enjoyed your time with us here on Sunday, it was a pleasure to see you and we all look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Not home cooking. Frozen CUBED fish in the fisherman’s pies, undercooked and frozen pies from Lidl. Coquille st Jaques frozen from somewhere similar. Microwaved potatoes and veg. Barman was informed, who then said, we’ll keep doing what we’re doing, and said that the veg were...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank GingerLola
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I expected this one - nuff said!!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent a week staying nearby and ate out every night. I can safely say this was the best restaurant by miles. The food was incredible, all home made, fresh and super tasty. Yes it's a tad (£1-£2) more expensive however the quality is well...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank sixhundred
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi sixhundred, Many thanks for your high praise, I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next nearby.

Reviewed 11 December 2018

All of our meals were super as was the service. The menu was varied, even for the younger members of our party. Would highly recommend the Holywell Inn.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Edwarddoone
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2018

Hi Edwarddoone, Many thanks for your super review, I look forward to welcoming you back in thew future.

Reviewed 1 December 2018 via mobile

We were made to feel really welcome and the cheesy garlic bread and fisherman's pie were amazing.The pub is beautifully decorated and has a nice atmosphere. There is also a lovely outdoor room as well.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Trip403518
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Hi Trip403518, Many thanks for your kind words, it's good to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Holywell. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 26 November 2018 via mobile

I have to leave another review as I absolutely love this place. Fabulous decor, place is full of character and each corner in this restaurant has something unique . Food is absolutely amazing. Last week we had rib eyes and they were delicious. Little one...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank maryna84
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Hi maryna84, many thanks for your fantastic review, it is heartwarming to learn that you enjoy your visits to our little pub so much, I'm so pleased that your little one found the goujons to his liking! I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 18 November 2018

As a party of eight we lunched at the Holywell Inn today. Lovely informal atmosphere great for talking to friends over a lovely lunch. The quality of the products used seemed very good along with the preparation and delivered to our table by staff who...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Nigel C
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Hi Nigel C, Many thanks for your kind compliments, it was a pleasure to see you and the rest of your party, I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

Visited today with my son after a walk to Wellington monument. We hadn't booked but were seated straight away. Very cosy traditional country pub/restaurant. Everyone friendly and polite. I had nut roast, my son roast beef. Both excellent, no room for a pudding unfortunately though...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank kaz h
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Hi kaz h, Many thanks for your lovely review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, I look forward to your next visit.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lyn P
24 October 2018|
Answer
Response from b1ggv | Property representative |
The building is reasonably wheelchair accessible for a building dating back to 1180 in parts, there is a very gentle slope from the entrance to the bar with one small small step to negotiate. The toilets, although lovely... More
0
Votes
Booker67
29 April 2018|
Answer
Response from b1ggv | Property representative |
Hi Booker67, Sorry no dogs inside - we have a cat - dogs are welcome outside in the gardens though.
1
Vote
luckyflyer_12
8 April 2018|
Answer
Response from b1ggv | Property representative |
Hi luckyflyer, Sorry no dogs inside - we have a cat - dogs are welcome outside in the gardens though.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing