We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barn at Alfold

€€ - €€€Seafood, , British
Alfold Barn Horsham Road | Alfold Crossways, Cranleigh GU6 8JE, England
+44 1403 752288
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good11%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“paella” (11 reviews)
“lobster” (17 reviews)
“potatoes” (24 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Bar, British, Contemporary, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Alfold Barn Horsham Road | Alfold Crossways, Cranleigh GU6 8JE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Roaring fire with lovely old beams for character. But few external lights - so we drove right past. Moderately wide menu with standard dishes, not gourmet. If you want lobster or paella you must order this 48 hours in advance. My starter of crab cakes...More

Thank DolphinDorset
carolyn m, Owner at The Barn at Alfold, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for reviewing your evening. You were the couple with the best seat in the house, right on top of the fire!! Apologies for the lack of outside lighting, a young girl recently drove in to our lamp post thus disabling our external lights...really...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Went to the Alfold Barn with family as I was moving away from the area and all 6 of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Great British food cooked to perfection complemented by the ambiance and the friendliness of the staff. Be sure to leave room...More

Thank Glyn1971
carolyn m, Owner at The Barn at Alfold, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for finding the time to review your experience of the Barn even though you are in the middle of moving. Really pleased that one of your last tastes of 'down south' is of our cheesecake, hopefully the lure of the dessert will be...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just started revisiting dining pubs that i have enjoyed in the past. This one didn't disappoint.

Thank gamazo
carolyn m, Owner at The Barn at Alfold, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Short but sweet, thank you. I don't know but think that you could be one of the men in last Friday lunch, one had fishcakes and one had bass, and you hadn't been for about 15 years. Don't leave it another 15 years!! Many thanks.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four of us went for a Saturday lunch. We had never been before. The restaurant is housed in a wonderful old barn, oak beams, log fire and a wonderfully warm atmosphere. The staff/owners were charming and attentive. The food is traditional British with rather large...More

Thank michael a
carolyn m, Owner at The Barn at Alfold, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What lovely positive feedback, thank you Michael. So pleased that you enjoyed your lunch, it was great meeting you and we very much enjoyed your banter! What a relief that Dave's arms didn't put you off your meal, thanks for giving us a go. Hopefully...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent highly Recommended, I cannot begin to tell you how amazing the food was and the staff could not be more helpful, I have eaten out in a lot of restaurants and I have to say this was the best nothing is too much trouble....More

1  Thank Jo W
carolyn m, Owner at The Barn at Alfold, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Jo for taking the time to review your experience at the Barn. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your brisket and was able to sample the oxtail. Remember to let me know when you are next coming so that we have fish...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well, what can I say that Anghus hasnt already?! Yet another outstanding meal at The Barn. Carolyn and family are so thoughtful and make each visit personal. We really cant fault them, Thank you, so much, for accomodating my difficult pregnant daughter! Her request for...More

Thank Paul W
carolyn m, Owner at The Barn at Alfold, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

As always, fantastic to see you and your lovely family (especially Angus, after the fabulous gift of cookies...he is now definitely my favourite!!) Really pleased that your celebration was such a success and looking forward to the next time. Love to you all xx

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Contrary to previous comments, we have always found The Barn to be absolutely awesome. We've been going there for many years now, and have never yet had a bad meal. My husband always has the lamb shank, and has never been disappointed by the flavour...More

Thank Sally G
carolyn m, Owner at The Barn at Alfold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Sally for your wonderful comments. It is always lovely to see 5 of the 6 of you, as for the 6th person (you know who you are Tony) it is like holding a tiger by the tail!! I am pleased that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another fantastic family meal at the Barn. A great choice of dishes on a personalised menu. The food was fantastic and arrived at the table at the same time, nice and hot too. (12 people). Nothing is to much trouble. Pudding is to die for....More

1  Thank AJGKW90
carolyn m, Owner at The Barn at Alfold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Well, I am not sure if this is Angus or a relative of Angus, but either way thank you so much. It is always such a pleasure serving you and your family. I am still so touched that Angus found my favourite biscuits in the...More

Reviewed 17 October 2017

I was being treated by my girlfriend for a birthday Sunday lunch but I am compelled to express my dissatisfaction both at the food and service. My girlfriend ordered a vegetarian nut roast only to be told that they had sold out. That wasn't a...More

2  Thank Nick M
carolyn m, Owner at The Barn at Alfold, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a vindictive character you are!! This is your second review of your experience at the Barn. I responded to your first barrage of abuse, you were not happy with my reply, so you thought you would have another go. So let's start again, Your...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017

I have been to the Alfold Barn at lunchtimes with my friend before. This time my husband accompanied us and we went on Saturday evening. Lovely food. Two of us had Turbot and my husband had the lamb shank, we cleared our plates. There was...More

Thank Marilyn8S
carolyn m, Owner at The Barn at Alfold, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thanks so much for you very positive comments regarding your meal on Sat night. You were the two ladies having the large sauvignon and large chardonnay. Great seeing you again, and I thought your turbot looked lovely too. Thanks again and hope to see you...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Three Compasses
69 reviews
1.28 km away
Sir Roger Tichborne
313 reviews
2.00 km away
JJ'S BBQ & Burgers
5 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glassblowing & Paperweight making
54 reviews
4.05 km away
Wey & Arun Canal Trust
102 reviews
4.12 km away
Firebird Brewing Company
12 reviews
4.34 km away
Wintershall Estate
7 reviews
7.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Chestnut2222
10 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Paul W | Reviewed this property |
Open Sunday lunchtimes - awesome Sunday lunch! Booking is a must. Closed Monday and also (I think) Tuesdays. Visit their website or give them a call. The Barn beef and brisket are to die for!
0
Votes
elainew748
30 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Brian P | Reviewed this property |
To be honest, for the enviroment, food quality & choice I don't think it's expensive. As they say, you "get what you pay for". Their menu is priced up on their website, I'm sure you'll enjoy your evening.
0
Votes
elainew748
29 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Suzanne S | Reviewed this property |
Yes, very good food, you must book as they tend to spread the bookings over the evening, so that you get their full attention.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$46
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Alfold Barn Horsham Road | Alfold Crossways, Cranleigh GU6 8JE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Cranleigh
  • Phone Number: +44 1403 752288
  • E-mail
Description
Very Traditional Family run Restaurant in a 16th Century Oak Beamed Barn. Full of atmosphere and serving food with substance.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing