We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aberlour Takeaway

92 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9QA, Scotland
+44 1340 871871
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good20%
  • Average11%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
12:00 - 13:30All hours
CUISINES
Fast food, British, Scottish
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
92 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9QA, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have used this takeaway on several occasions over the last few months and have not been disappointed - until last night: Wednesday, 16/08/17. I asked for a fish supper and, when I opened it at home, was horrified to see the usual decent-sized whole...More

Thank HRJSpeyside
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good morning, Thanks for your review. To answer your comments, all of which are noted. Firstly there has been no change of ownership and no corners being cut. Secondly, we would explain that the fish is bought in at a specific size, and servings have...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really good food never had a bad experience with lots to choose from for all. Plenty of choice for kids meals and always freshly cooked. Would recommend the fish as it is always really tasty.

Thank fi0naj0
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I will pass it on to our staff.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fish was full of oil, chips weren't fresh but the staff was very friendly! I don't recommend unless you have no other choice.More

Thank Stéphane G
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good evening, Firstly thank you for taking the time for putting in a review. disappointed to read you comments however they are noted, whilst we aim to please it is obviously your opinion that we haven't met your expectations. Whilst it is nice to see...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this chippy twice over the weekend and it was great. Lots to choose from, staff were happy to help and must say very clean. Really good to see the place so busy too.

Thank malcolmwalshy
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi thanks for review glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On holiday in craigellachie and kids were after a chippy. The food was pretty good and my fussy daughter liked the pizza, not my taste very thick base but it wasn't for me. My only gripe was after we ordered our food we headed around...More

Thank Mollydrew
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi thanks for taking the time to put in a review My apologies for the pizza not being cut as they are supposed to be and to my knowledge usually are. I will pass on your comments to the staff.

Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Passing through on business so decided to stop and give the chippy another go . Colleague and I ordered King Rib supper and a Chip Steak supper. Oh dear as soon we opened our wrapping we were perplexed at the pale batter but thought we'd...More

Thank bUbBlEgUm91919
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Good evening, I thank you for putting in a review. whilst we take on board some of your comments there is however some pointers given that we would have no intention of changing as whilst obviously hasn't met your expectations re vinegar most are pleased...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017

We had the fish and chips with mushy peas! All freshly cooked with a thin batter on the fish. The portion of fish was very thin but fresh. The mushy peas were excellent and the chips were ok. Good opening hours and a handy place...More

Thank Resource_inspector
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Good morning, Thank you for your review. I have noted your comment regarding the fish being thin I will advise staff to keep an eye however difficult to perhaps get it to suit everybody's taste as for me personally I don't like fish too thick...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

I love a good fish supper. Was delighted to find I was staying only a few doors away from the Aberlour Takeaway. Popped in tonight for a couple of fish suppers for myself and my teenage boy and were very impressed. Fish cooked fresh but...More

1  Thank Bonnyrigger
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to put in a review. I hope you have a safe journey home.

Reviewed 18 March 2017

We visited twice recently, the first time was on Thursday 9 March, we pre ordered and four excellent fish suppers were ready for us promptly. We returned the following Wednesday (15 March) and noticed there were different staff, a man cooking, not the woman from...More

2  Thank Auntyjanet2014
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Good morning, I thank you for your review and am disappointed to see your comments I was working myself that night but as regards to the order it is the girls that take it. to answer your question there has been no change in staff...More

Reviewed 15 March 2017

Have had fish and chips several times and each time have been disappointed. Chips were not freshly cooked. Staff were very friendly and attentive and kept the shop spotless.More

1  Thank eileen592
Lorimer G, Owner at Aberlour Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Good evening, Whilst I thank you for taking the time to put in a review, I am however disappointed that we haven't met the standards/ expectations that you would like to achieve. I have however spoken to the staff concerned with regard to this. hopefully...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Mash Tun
366 reviews
.19 km away
The Dowans Hotel
133 reviews
.72 km away
Le Petit Gourmand
141 reviews
.10 km away
The Byre Grazing
73 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aberlour Distillery
335 reviews
.54 km away
Speyside Cooperage
322 reviews
2.89 km away
Speyside Tours
198 reviews
6.60 km away
Glen Grant Whisky Distillery and Garden
209 reviews
6.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bUbBlEgUm91919
17 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Lorimer G | Property representative |
Good Morning, On Looking at your previous review I did in fact review this with staff at the time and I am confident that the vinegar now suits the majority of taste buds. but please feel free to ask for extra as others of... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Fast food, British, Scottish
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
16:30 - 20:00
Monday
12:00 - 13:30
16:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 13:30
16:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 13:30
16:30 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 13:30
16:30 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 13:30
16:30 - 21:00
Saturday
16:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 92 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9QA, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Moray  >  Aberlour
  • Phone Number: +44 1340 871871
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing