We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The View

) #154 of 203 Restaurants in Hove €€ - €€€ British, Persian,
Western Esplanade Kingsway | Brighton, Hove BN3 4FA, England
+44 1273 207100
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good18%
  • Average15%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“hummus” (4 reviews)
“rice” (5 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
British, Persian, Grill
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Western Esplanade Kingsway | Brighton, Hove BN3 4FA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

It seems as though this place has no identity and doesn't know what do to with itself. The menu is extremely overpriced and all over the place, a mixture of Persian and British dishes. The staff are friendly enough but the owners/management are not so....More

Thank 530Hannah_B
Reviewed 5 days ago

At £1.90 for a pint of lime and soda this is EXORBITANT. For the same price I could have bought a 4 x 1 litre bottles of soda AND a bottle of lime cordial at Asda! Lassitude abounds and there needs to be at least...More

Thank Clive C
Reviewed 6 days ago

I recently had a drink and snacks at The View in Hove. The best thing about it is the location, as it is right on the beach. The snacks were OK, nothing special. The staff overall were quite nice. A family bar, not romantic lol

Thank cygnetboy69
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great and helpful staff and Management Team especially Ritchie, The Events Manager who helped me and a friend plan and enjoy an amazing birthday party last weekend. Perfect venue on the seafront and we were able to decorate the morning of our event (although there...More

Thank Tanya_Brighton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

View: excellent. Food: mediocre at best. (fake cheese). Service: very unfriendly, always new staff, they've got no clue. Prices: what you expect at this location and then some. You would say that ordering a pizza at Morocco's (only a short walk) and have it on...More

Thank Martijn R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The bar is inadequate for venue lovely location next to sea. Not enough staff also prices of drinks kept going up as evening progressed not all people buying drinks are blind drunk not to notice. This was mostly by male bar tender with beard an...More

1  Thank with2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In one of the best locations on the beach, but with a level of service, attention to detail & pricing structure I found difficult to comprehend in the 21st century... RIP of Britain?...no even worse, let's charge £5 each per 2 scoops of ice cream...More

4  Thank Steve T
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So this is a combination of reviews. I've lived on the kingsway opposite the view for about 2.5 years. How can this place get it so wrong?! They have such a beautiful location but are so far off the mark of being a decent drinking...More

2  Thank emmab1987186273
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

From the server who was too busy to stop chatting up a pretty girl, and the other servers who couldn't be bothered to even recognise I was standing at the counter, to the revolting meals we were served, this was a disaster from start to...More

2  Thank David S
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Sat outside on a sunny afternoon with friends. Had a light bite each and we're all disappointed with value. A plate of average humous with pitta just under £6. Won't be back for the food but great location for a glass of wine on a...More

Thank benjyk
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Ginger Pig
824 reviews
.50 km away
Marrocco's
624 reviews
.81 km away
Sini Restaurant
255 reviews
.56 km away
Franco's Osteria
299 reviews
.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hove Lagoon
87 reviews
.80 km away
Cameron Contemporary Art Gallery
15 reviews
1.43 km away
Three Angels by Vintage Charm
6 reviews
.49 km away
Xpress Beauty
11 reviews
1.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
angela057
24 September 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Rob i | Reviewed this property |
Sorry Angela I also haven't a clue what dry hire is either , but I enjoyed the food and would eat here again Regards Rob
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Cuisine
British, Persian, Grill
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Western Esplanade Kingsway | Brighton, Hove BN3 4FA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Hove
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 207100
Description
We offer a variety of atmospheres to suit all guests. You can dine in our restaurant area where you dedicated waiters will offer you friendly table service or sit in our indoor or outdoor casual seating area where we offer our full menu from the fully equipped bar area. In the summer months you can take a seat on the beach or our terrace area over looking the sea while experiencing unbeatable 180 degree views of the coastline.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing