We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stratford Mountain House

€€ - €€€European, ,
Pembroke Road, Stratford 4352, New Zealand
+64 6-765 6100
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good22%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“garlic bread” (2 reviews)
“cake” (2 reviews)
“sandwich” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, Contemporary, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pembroke Road, Stratford 4352, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We arrived here with family for lunch, what a fantastic place the service brilliant the food just beautiful the views superb, we where lucky enough to get a window table to enjoy the snow top mountain

Thank Leanne H
RodP44, Manager at The Stratford Mountain House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you Leanne. We are glad you had an amazing time and got to see our beautiful mountain.

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Popped in for a quick coffee and a cake. Nice lunches available too. The sitting room area is really cosy, in fact, we felt like we were at home in our own siting room!! The staff are really friendly and accommodating.

Thank JillW21
RodP44, Manager at The Stratford Mountain House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for your kind words that is the atmosphere we try to create here pleased you enjoyed it

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Fantastic meal, couldn't fault anything. Great service as well. Well worth a visit and a great place to stay.

Thank Morris W
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We were fortunate to have two meals at this excellent restaurant, an evening meal and breakfast. The hosts and serving staff were experienced, respectful and were keen to meet our needs. The evening meal was amazing. The restaurant was busy but at no point were...More

Thank Shall1
RodP44, Manager at The Stratford Mountain House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words. Having lovely customers makes our jobs much easier and very enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Me and my friend dine this restaurant after visiting the Mt.Taranaki they are in the best place .We had some wedges,sandwich and drinks.wedges was excellent with bacon and sour cream and we are not happy with sandwich it was too dry. coffee was excellent but...More

Thank BibinAntony
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely dump of snow over the weekend and lots of locals went up Mt Taranaki via Pembroke Road, Stratford. Via this road you will see Stratford Mountain House before getting on the ski slopes. After a little snow fun we headed there...More

Thank kaepieter
RodP44, Manager at The Stratford Mountain House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback, yes it was a busy day, the snow and school holidays, hope to see you back to try a new dish on the menu Lynne

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Very friendly great welcome. Room was spotless , very comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good with excellent service.

Thank Jane H
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The service was great and friendly, very nice people. Dinner was awesome we would go again. thumbs up

Thank Raewyn C
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Awesome meal last night good friendly services. Kids friendly menu. We all enjoy your meals good size servings.

Thank lilly671211
RodP44, Manager at The Stratford Mountain House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thanks for your feedback it is important to us , pleased you enjoyed it. Lynne

Reviewed 8 June 2017

Fabulous meal and service. If you are visiting Stratford and don’t mind a 15 minute scenic drive and want a top quality meal or just a really nice coffee and a snack you must visit this restaurant. Very highly recommended.

Thank Food_Lover_Naki_NZ
RodP44, Manager at The Stratford Mountain House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review we are pleased you enjoyed it at the Mountain House. Lynne

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kauri Cottage Cafe & Restaurant
20 reviews
18.00 km away
Caffe Windsor
60 reviews
18.08 km away
Inflame Cafe
37 reviews
20.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mount Taranaki
489 reviews
4.60 km away
Dawson Falls
77 reviews
2.49 km away
Hollard Gardens
53 reviews
10.73 km away
Dawson Falls Visitor Center
48 reviews
3.63 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Stratford Mountain House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
European, Contemporary, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pembroke Road, Stratford 4352, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  Stratford
  • Phone Number: +64 6-765 6100
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing