We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Victoria Restaurant

4 High Street, Dingwall IV15 9HL, Scotland
+44 1349 863999
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“venison” (11 reviews)
“bread” (11 reviews)
“cheesecake” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
4 High Street, Dingwall IV15 9HL, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here again a couple of weeks ago for Saturday Dinner - (best book in advance as it can be busy at weekends). The four of us had an excellent meal and the costs of both food and drinks is very fair, The restaurant was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Highland2
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'd like to write a review of this places food but we showed up at 8:45Pm on a Sunday evening and they wouldn't seat us even though they are at least open until 9:30pm and from what I had seen on their website and google...More

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank DonC3735
TheVictoria4, Manager at The Victoria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I’m afraid your review has left me a little puzzled...... we serve food till 9pm every night including Sunday, unless it’s very quiet over the winter months when we close at 8.30pm. It states this on our website and we definitely do not serve till...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by the Victoria. The menu was interesting and it didn’t break the bank for five people. However, what I was most surprised by was that it was actually a nice atmosphere. I’ve just visited on a dark and miserable November night...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 1SRM
TheVictoria4, Manager at The Victoria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much for your kind review, and we hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 25 October 2018

Popped in and was pleasantly surprised how spacious it is, much bigger than it looks from outside. Quick service from friendly staff. Good menu with good prices - what more could you want? I will be back to try some more of their menu.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Una M
TheVictoria4, Manager at The Victoria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Thanks very much for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 15 October 2018

Felt we were a bit rushed, albeit we had not booked a table but we were shown to table, then seemed to be forgotten about, then they took our meal choices and more or less stood over us until we had finished.

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Giselle47
TheVictoria4, Manager at The Victoria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I’m sorry that you felt rushed but as I stated on your review on Facebook I find it very hard to believe, this is simply not how we work.

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

I previously reviewed the Restaurant in July and suggested a few small details required ironing out. I have since visited several times, both as a couple and family and the service has been excellent, with friendly, happy, attentive very helpful staff. They also catered for...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank ksph12
TheVictoria4, Manager at The Victoria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thanks very much for your kind review, and we Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 29 September 2018

This restaurant has been pretty hit or miss over the past couple of years, however it has totally redeemed itself. I have been around 4 times since the start of the Summer and it has not disappointing. Everything seems homemade and well made. I also...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Joanna M
TheVictoria4, Manager at The Victoria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thanks very much for your kind review. We hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 28 September 2018

Had a very nice evening meal here. Staff were friendly and efficient. I had a good melon starter then fish and chips. This was a large, well cooked portion. The price was very reasonable. The wine list was a little limited but what I had...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jeff B
TheVictoria4, Manager at The Victoria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thanks very much for your kind review. We reduced our wine list about a year ago as it was very large and overpriced, however it will be reviewed again in the new year and I will note your comments. We hope to see you again...More

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

In a not crowded place like Dingwall, we found this place where we had a great evening, with very nice food and drinks. Quiet place, clean. The food was excellent. Average prices.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Enrico F
TheVictoria4, Manager at The Victoria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thanks very much for your kind review. We hope to see you again if you are back in the area.

Reviewed 22 September 2018

Called in for dinner without a booking and was lucky they managed to fit us in. The food was superb and staff were very friendly and helpful would highly recommend

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank SandrS10
TheVictoria4, Manager at The Victoria Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thanks very much for your kind review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
National Hotel Dingwall
186 reviews
.07 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
879 reviews
1.62 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
164 reviews
4.06 km away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
684 reviews
6.51 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Miss Ying Thai Food & Shop
232 reviews
.14 km away
Tina's Tearoom at the Station
90 reviews
.24 km away
The Courtyard Coffee & Gift Shop
81 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dingwall Museum, Scotland
28 reviews
.15 km away
Picaresque Books
10 reviews
.03 km away
Global Energy Stadium
8 reviews
.36 km away
Mitchell Hill Cemetery
6 reviews
.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Peteandmaggs
8 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PAnn57 | Reviewed this property |
I don't think so as there is really only the two main rooms and I for one wouldn't be happy having a dog in the restaurant
1
Vote
Hamish S
15 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Aoife01 | Property representative |
Good morning We serve an early bird menu from 5 till 7 and costs £13.95pp Kind regards Garry
1
Vote
Nia D
22 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from LIRoss55 | Reviewed this property |
Depends if you take the full menu or the early evening one. It is about £30 for 3 more expensive courses but could be much less - but ut us really worth it and a great treat!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:30
Thursday
11:00 - 21:30
Friday
11:00 - 21:30
Saturday
11:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 High Street, Dingwall IV15 9HL, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Ross and Cromarty  >  Dingwall
  • Phone Number: +44 1349 863999
  • E-mail
Description
Restaurant serving mainly Scottish/British dishes. Serves same menu from open to close each day, with the exception of Monday when the restaurant is closed. Children's menu also available.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing