We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bective

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

About
We run a full restaurant service and all of the items on our A La Carte menu are also available to take away - simply phone in your order and collect it (this service is not available during very busy nights). We also have a lovely dining room/bar available upstairs to hire for private functions of any kind (seats 50 people). It has a private terrace, its own bar and bathroom facilities. Contact us for details of our party platters and finger food menus. We take bookings, but walk-ins are also welcome. We cater for groups and private parties and we are family-friendly, with a children's menu and outdoor play area available. General manager Joan Donegan (Head Chef) & Yvonne Flanagan Johnson (Restaurant
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Irish, European, Contemporary
FEATURES
Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
262
59
14
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
262
59
14
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak seafood chicken wings hake chocolate brownie prawns pizza sea bass potatoes the early bird waiting staff cocktail menu specials board food was fantastic from start to finish great night cooked to perfection
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We had dinner to celebrate a friends birthday and were delighted with the really great food and service. Laura & Yvonne are so efficient and friendly. The restaurant is warm & inviting. We look forward to returning very soon.

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank katie052
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It’s really lovel for vegetarians as well. Everyone was kind with us we probably go back soon. Easy to get there

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank anikofficial
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came over from Athboy for dinner not really knowing what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised by our evening. Many thanks to Laura who provided great service - her explanations & descriptions of the menu were really appreciated. All told we had eleven starters,...More

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank ChooseyTravellor
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely meal out with the children over Christmas. Nothing was any bother for one of our fussy eaters. From start to finish it was first class service, food and atmosphere. Well done all keep up the good work

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: December 2018
3  Thank Adventure63472508287
Reviewed 19 December 2018 via mobile

Recently visited the Bective with a group of friends for a Christmas get together. Right from the start we were made feel so welcome - nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The food was very tasty and very well presented. The menu catered...More

Date of visit: December 2018
6  Thank Tom O
Reviewed 15 December 2018

Staff very good with our children. Food was great for kids and us plenty to choose from and good specials. Espresso martini was fab.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: December 2018
7  Thank marieclare40
Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

Decided to treat ourselves to dinner out on a miserable Friday night. Had no booking but chanced our luck. Were told they needed the table back by a certain time but no problem accommodating us. Never felt rushed. Food was fantastic. Will certainly book to...More

Date of visit: November 2018
7  Thank Fridays_girl81
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

We went to this restaurant on a Sunday evening for family dinner with two kids. Staff are lovely and very attentive.But the food is just ok kids & adult menu way overpriced .More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Elaine452
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thanks Elaine452 for your comments and feedback. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with our food and we take your comments on board. Perhaps you might email me a bit more detail....yvonne@thebective.ie. as it is very difficult to discuss on a public forum like this....More

Reviewed 6 November 2018

I have eaten at the Bective many times over the past 5 years and I had my best ever meal last weekend

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: November 2018
4  Thank 843jonnyh
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thanks Jonny H I will pass on your comments. Yvonne

Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Guys have eating here several times before and the food has always been good ... however on this occasion although the food was fabulous the quantity was not I ordered the steak which was lovely however served with almost no veg !!! And the chips...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank gerryniamh
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thank you for your feedback gerryniamh, We are sorry you were disappointed on this occasion. We are all for a bit of fun and banter here but we also have to be aware of other diners experience in the restaurant, given the confined space. Yvonne

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
AliensAreReal69
8 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from YvonneFlanagan | Property representative |
Hi AliensAreReal69.... Are blind guide dogs real too...?
0
Votes
simosez
23 July 2017|
Answer
Response from KJ1910 | Reviewed this property |
Simon, We're a friendly, fun bunch and we don't hold grudges, and you are entitled to your opinion. It's just we were all a little hurt by the poor review as we always go the extra mile as we did on your brothers 18th, to... More
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing