We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Koko's Beach Bar &Grill

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
+94 77 582 6739
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

654 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 457: English reviews
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We have eaten at this restaurant twice now in the last week and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit. Burgers, fish and chips and tacos. The first time, we arrived about 7pm and ordered burgers and pizza. Both arrived very quickly, fresh and hot. Pizza crust was thin and crisp, burgers were incredibly good, very meaty and fresh. The second time,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alicehalice
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We ordered 2 prawn dishes, nearly an hour later the staff served fish-n-chip and chicken taco that we didn't order. Only then the staff told us only 1 serving of prawn available. Wasted our dinner time waiting mediocre food with poor service and long wait times.

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Bar &Grill, responded to this review

hi, we Regret that you felt the need to write such a bad review. at the time of your arrival we were extremely busy and due to the off season(quite period)understaffed. we explained this at the time but i think you need to check your watch is working correctly as there is no way you waited over an hour! we... More 

Bahrain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016

Good burgers and fish and chips. Lady who owns it is a really gorgeous gentle person. Perfect for those nights you want a quick bite

Helpful?
Thank Louise M
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2016

We enjoyed some of the best burgers ever at this relaxed little place. The restaurant is right on the beach with an amazing view of the sea. The service was great and prices very reasonable. We will be back!!

Helpful?
1 Thank lindyoli
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Nice view, the tacos and potato were OK, service acceptable. For visitors enjoying to sit on plastic chairs with a stunning view onto the sea a good place to have a quick lunch, but certainly not a #musthaveeatenhere place

Helpful?
1 Thank Hegoats
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Great spot for a beach lunch, homemade chips were fab and lovely, friendly staff. Kids shared the chicken in a basket, perfectly battered real chicken pieces.

Helpful?
1 Thank Slg80
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2016

This had great reviews, the kids got a pizza, I a fish burger battered so basically your british chippie, okay however for bang for buck I feel it wasn't great value.

Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer N
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Yes just like the other reviews say. The burgers here are huge and delicious!! Right on the beach. Very friendly and fast service. Impressed!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton N
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

A nice place by the beach with great, simple food. The beef kebab was really nice combined with the sauces

Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2016

We went there for lunch. I was dying to have some different from curry and I was not disappointed! The sauces were tasty, the service is good the burger and fish tacos are to die for. We went back twice!

Helpful?
Thank Fernanda P

Travellers who viewed Koko's Beach Bar &Grill also viewed

 
Unawatuna, Galle
Unawatuna, Galle
 

Been to Koko's Beach Bar &Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10
Cuisine
Mexican, American, British, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Street Parking
Good for
View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Southern Province  >  Galle  >  Unawatuna
  • Phone Number: +94 77 582 6739
Description
a small family run restaurant on the beach, offering the best in western cuisine for those who need a bit of familiarity in there diet whilst in Asia. all created by Chef Gary(UK) and his team ensuring 100% satisfaction by using only hand picked local ingredients and preparing all food cooked to order.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Koko's Beach Bar &Grill and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Koko's Beach Bar &Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?