We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kingfisher

) #5 of 87 Restaurants in Unawatuna €€ - €€€ Seafood, European, Asian
Welle Dewala Road, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
+94 91 2 250312
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“prawns” (83 reviews)
“thai curry” (14 reviews)
“tuna” (52 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Asian, Sri Lankan, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Welle Dewala Road, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The service at this place is great and obviously by the title the mojitos are amazing. The food was nice, but not amazing for the prices that you are paying locally. Still a very nice dinner, and experience.

Thank patersonberry
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you are up to the beach of unawatuna, think again. The idilic place has been transformed to a touristic place. The Kingfisher restaurant is not more or less than any other beach restaurant in this area. Price of sunbeds is extremely high (800rps), food...More

Thank Gunther D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great 2 course meal right on the beach, freindly staff and propmt service, good foood good cocktails, nice evening

Thank ivan n
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant has top notch service, good food, in fact very fresh seafood grilled to perfection and a very nice view of Unawatuna Beach. It's breezy, sandy and a perfect place to unwind from the hustle and bustle of the city life. It is highly...More

Thank Concierge3725
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

good food and service. visiting from Toronto, Canada with family. fresh seafood , very well prepared and tasty. Had a tuna steak grilled medium to perfection. wife had prawns in a arrack lime sauce. son had a burgher. all very good quality and attentive service....More

Thank Ravi R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful meal here. It's located right on the beach and had some delightful seafood. The shark was particularly good!

Thank Tim B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had an evening meal on this beach restaurant and found it very good value. Well appointed service, has food with a twist out oh the ordinary and nice location. Can't ask for more for a good dinner

Thank jmb20002015
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the 2nd time we’ve been to Kingfisher and the meal we enjoyed was every bit as good as the first. Beautiful fresh seafood & curries, lovely ambiance and fantastic service. A special mention needs to go to Kasun our waiter – he was...More

Thank Wingas99
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We got dropped here by the tuctuc drivers and it did not disappoint. Really lovely food, and great service! Would highly reccomend

Thank K M
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

We kept coming back to this restaurant again and again. The food was amazing and it was nice to sit out on the beach. Great service and it was a reasonable price.

Thank Oscar A
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sunil Garden Guesthouse
185 reviews
.10 km away
Thaproban
396 reviews
.17 km away
Lemongrass cafe
229 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Japanese Peace Pagoda
643 reviews
1.10 km away
Unawatuna Beach
1,745 reviews
.38 km away
Jungle Beach
1,963 reviews
1.26 km away
The Sanctuary Spa
340 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Danusha D
8 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Roshif2015 | Reviewed this property |
The hotel has a restaurant so there is most probably and outside toilet you can get changed in. However I am not sure if there are showering facilities.
0
Votes
Lesley452
12 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from | Reviewed this property |
Yes it will be
0
Votes
shanelemphers
25 March 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from kingfisherunawatuna | Property representative |
Hello Dear shanelemphers, I inform you that we charge 2000rs after 11pm because it's the high season of tourists people. Sorry for this misunderstanding, you should ask the manager to talk about it. We're here to help and... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Welle Dewala Road, Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Southern Province  >  Galle District  >  Unawatuna
  • Phone Number: +94 91 2 250312
Description
Kingfisher is a hotel and restaurant beautifully located on the crescent-shaped beach of Unawatuna in the Southern Coast of Sri Lanka. It’s origins run back to late 90’s.

We have a designed lounge bar where you can relax and sip a cocktail and we offer a western and eastern menu at the restaurent.
All our products are fresh and from the market everyday.

We also have daily and weekly events:
Every saturday night, we organise a party with dj's, music in live.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing