We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
No. 1 Conical Hill Road | The Heritage Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
+64 3-315 0060
Website
Today
07:30 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:30 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Christchurch
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A large, mostly unserviced buffet full of well picked over plates. The selection was poor and the hot food was all quite cold. While it is not the restaurants job, someone should have been asking parents to control their kids. Three families had children sunning around picking up food and touching things on the buffet/ One little girl was seen... More 

Helpful?
Thank realnamenotused
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear realnamenotused Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast dining experience with us. This is definitely not the standard of service that we strive to achieve and we are taking your comments very seriously. I have discussed your comments with the Food and Beverage team... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I went to Isobels expecting great things, however it was very disappointing. The dining room is large but had no air conditioning which meant it was uncomfortably hot even with the windows open and seemed more like a holiday camp what with boxes of glasses on the floor and staff pushing sofas around. We completed our meal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark E
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mark E Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. While we are glad that you enjoyed dining on the Terrace, we are sorry for any... More 

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate at this restaurant for Dinner and Breakfast the following morning. Limited dinner menu, choose Steak, my wife's was excellent whilst mine had plenty of gristle. It was well cooked to my request and was filling. We shared a dessert of Churros which had my wife in fits of ecstasy. Breakfast however was a different matter. They serve both continental... More 

Helpful?
Thank 585Rodney585
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 585Rodney585 Thanks for posting a review of your dining experiences with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your dinner but are disappointed that you did not enjoy breakfast. This is definitely not the standard of service that we strive to achieve and we are truly sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. I have spoken to the Food... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

loved our expereince here, the waiters were so polite and treated even out youngest memeber of the family like royality, the food was beautiful,

Helpful?
Thank my4angels2017
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear my4angels2017 Thanks for posting a review of Isobel's Restaurant on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The staff are exceedingly polite and the service makes you feel special. The food was good too! I had a steak, perfectly cooked. To start we had a basket of bread, I had gluten free and it was the best I have tasted. The scallops were on the menu as a starter, but they were happy to do it as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Driveress
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Driveress Thanks for taking the time to post a review of Isobel's Restaurant on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Love this place. We've been here 3 times this week because of the devine food and outstanding and friendly service. Price comparable with pubs in the town but far better food, presentation and staff. We will be back !!!

Helpful?
Thank Lippynz
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Lippynz Thank you so much for posting a review on Tripadvisor. It was a delight to have you in the restaurant 3 times! I know from speaking to the staff - and meeting you in person - how much fun it was to have you dine with us. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Well, despite what others say, we had a nice meal. The lamb was succulent, the vela tender and the cheeseboard comprehensive. Ok so it wasn't fine dining, but the staff were pleasant and chatty, the ambiance good and I much preferred it to many a place I've eaten at in New Zealand . I kind of like the 1930s vibe.... More 

Helpful?
Thank weekl-traveler
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear weekl-traveler Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience with us! Excellent food and customer service - the overall dining experience - is a focus of Heritage Hotel Group and... More 

Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

Went here for our Mum's 80th lunch. Was very quiet with nearly the whole restaurant to ourselves, which was actually quite nice. Table presentation was very nice with beautiful roses as centre piece. Food was fantastic and the chocolate surprise birthday cake divine! We had a lovely Hungarian waitress who looked after is very well. Very professional, yet friendly. Made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suzywongy64
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Suzywongy64 Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and that we were able to make your mother's special occasion such a memorable experience! Thanks again for your... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

Two of us decided to have lunch at the Heritage, one to see the great old building, which was well kept. Also it was really quiet out on the terrace, out the back of the Hotel. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. Really nice meal and no complaints. Good value for money. An extra $2 a meal compared to cafe's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Peter W Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. The Terrace is an oasis of calm and is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Came for lunch with the family a table of 10 all were disappointed in their meals. Extremely over priceed for very bad for food, Could get a better lunch across the road at a busy cafe instead of a nice hotel that serves less than average meals. Pizza had no topping on it except for cheese and tomato sauce when... More 

Helpful?
Thank 137laggg
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 137larissag Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. This is definitely not the standard of service that we strive to achieve and we are taking your comments very seriously. We have discussed your comments with the Food and Beverage team to... More 

Travellers who viewed Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$27
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
07:30 - 21:00
Monday
07:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 21:00
Thursday
07:30 - 21:00
Friday
07:30 - 21:00
Saturday
07:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: No. 1 Conical Hill Road | The Heritage Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Hanmer Springs
  • Phone Number: +64 3-315 0060
  • This restaurant is at Heritage Hanmer Springs
Description
Isobel's Restaurant is located in the Heritage Hanmer Springs hotel and is open every day of the year for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We also have a fantastic outdoor Terrace overlooking our gardens for amazing al fresco dining. We offer a variety of meals to suit most tastes and we are proud to offer vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?