We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Good Union

€€ - €€€, , Vegetarian Friendly
98 Victoria Street, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand
+64 7-834 4040
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“cornbread” (4 reviews)
“meat platter” (4 reviews)
“jerk chicken” (5 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
98 Victoria Street, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 190 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Stopped in for the first time at the Good Union. Very busy, even for 11.55 on a Sunday. A good choice of Good George beers on tap, plus a decent menu. Very quick service, too, even though it was busy.

Thank markdawsonsmith
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff were friendly, food came out fast and was tasty - only downside is the proportions are a little stingy in comparison to most other restaurant/cafés in NZ

Thank Kirstie291
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Come to Cambridge every other week, much nicer to stay in Cambridge then Hamilton, cleaner, quaint, pretty, easy to get around, boutique stores. Stopped in in after finishing work, amazing service, looked after so well, very attentive. Lots of seating but fills very quickly. They...More

Thank chantellemarieh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are new to Cambridge, and came here with our 5 year old for an early dinner. The waitress was attentive and asked if we wanted our daughters food to come out first - much appreciated. She also offered to give us a hand with...More

Thank Rob H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited on a Sunday evening with our extended family, including three children ranging from 3 to 11 years. They enjoyed their meals served in bento boxes which was a great idea. I had the pulled lamb burger which was lovely but a bit dry....More

Thank Fiddly
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife ordered the sirloin steak very well done. The waitress joked "charcoal?" and my wife said that would be perfect. It came out pink to red and I would guess medium rare at best. She sent it back to be cooked to the requested...More

Thank JohnFLUB
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was ordinary, stuff untrained, no value for money, very disappointed. Used to be much, much better.More

1  Thank m0nikanz
Rachel B, General Manager at Good Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback - we really appreciate it. I am terribly sorry we did not live up to our usual standard on this occasion. I would like to offer you a voucher in the hope you...More

Reviewed 11 July 2018

Starting with the positives, the food was really nice and bathrooms were very clean. Unfortunately the service did let this place down. We were a large group that had a booking and most of us had pre ordered, but my daughter and I ended up...More

1  Thank coxonfamily2014
Rachel B, General Manager at Good Union, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to pass this on. We are disappointed we let you down on this occasion. Your pre-ordered meals were ordered by family so with such a large group we sent them out by family as...More

Reviewed 28 June 2018

Not nice and does not approve of rough looking people. Wouldn't go in if your not in nice dresses or have $100+ in your pocket. The foods not even that great. Don't like the waiter Judge.

Thank mesmedavis
Reviewed 24 June 2018

HUbby and I ducked out for lunch. was lovely a bit pricey, but the atmosphere was quite nice. would be nice if they were a bit more generous with the wine. Paid for the larger glass of wine but it was like a normal glass......More

Thank rahhamwot
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Cambridge
No. 1 Motels
54 reviews
.08 km away
Cambrian Lodge Motel
52 reviews
.31 km away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
65 reviews
.33 km away
Cambridge Mews
72 reviews
.75 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Alpha Street Kitchen & Bar
200 reviews
.34 km away
Alpino cucina e vino
331 reviews
.60 km away
Onyx
518 reviews
.39 km away
Paddock
228 reviews
.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
CAMJET Boat Tours Cambridge
85 reviews
1.08 km away
Tivoli Cinema
83 reviews
.13 km away
Cambridge i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
47 reviews
.19 km away
Cambridge Farmers' Market
66 reviews
.49 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Good Union staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 98 Victoria Street, Cambridge 3434, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Cambridge
  • Phone Number: +64 7-834 4040
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing