We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bel and The Dragon - Godalming

Old Church Bridge Street | Old Church, Godalming GU7 1HY, England
+44 1483 527333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good23%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“suckling pig” (29 reviews)
“tarte tatin” (19 reviews)
“whitebait” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Old Church Bridge Street | Old Church, Godalming GU7 1HY, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch hadn't been to the Bel and the Dragon for several years as we thought the food was not great the last time we visited. Thought we would try again as we had a discount voucher to use. Inside the restaurant was...More

Thank leeherb18
Reviewed 6 days ago

We have enjoyed several dinners and our son's christening lunch at Bel & the Dragon previously, where we had loved the care, individuality and buzz about the place, but we were very disappointed with our recent visit. Firstly, they managed to cancel our booking, so...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Q9213KXlucyb
James H, Marketing at Bel and The Dragon - Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Q9213KXlucyb, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit. I was pleased to read you despite your disappointment with the menu you found the food well cooked & presented. We take great care to update our menus monthly, although...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We went to Bel & the Dragon for my son's birthday. Luck was on our side as on this evening they held their first comedy night. On this special night they offered a set menu of either suckling pig, fish or risotto with sorbet or...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank silvia h
James H, marketing at Bel and The Dragon - Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear silvia h, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the food & the following comedy. I hope your son enjoyed the rest of his birthday celebrations & we hope to welcome...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Been several times before and were pleased. Visited April and staff & service very poor although food excellent. Altogether a disappointing, pretty expensive, evening and I feel we let down our guests by taking them there. Sadly we won't be rushing back.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Paul S
James H, Marketing at Bel and The Dragon - Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Paul S, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent feedback, I was pleased to see the food was excellent. It was however disappointing to read you felt let down by the service on the evening. Having visited before you...More

Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

Honestly the best Sunday lunch I've ever had! Such a beautiful restaurant in an old church we were shocked how beautiful it really was. The staff were friendly and attentive and we were very impressed with the food. I definitely recommend and we will be...More

Thank KirstieBrooke
James H, Marketing at Bel and The Dragon - Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Dear KirstieBrooke, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit. I was pleased to read you enjoyed our Sunday lunch so much & the team looked after you so well. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017

Had a lovely brunch today - My husband had eggs, bacon on top of golden bubble and squeak and i had the same but with smoked salmon. Service was very cheerful, friendly and engaging. food came quickly and was delicious. Have been to Bel and...More

Thank Tvrcat
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Always friendly, always great food. Service is excellent and the location is first class. Just go, I promise you it will be a great experience

1  Thank x y
James H, Marketing at Bel and The Dragon - Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear x y, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I was pleased to read you have always found our team excellent & the food great. We look forwards to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards James

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Sunday Roast ( Suckling pig & crackling) most agreeable but one modest bowl of vegetables between 7 was far from satisfactory and didn't justify the £19 outlay. Staff, however were prompt, friendly and efficient.More

Thank Mark0189136
James H, Marketing at Bel and The Dragon - Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Mark0189136, Thank you for providing feedback following your recent visit, I was pleased to read you enjoyed the Suckling pig & your comments regarding the vegetables has been passed onto the kitchen team. I hope you will dine with our Godalming team again soon,...More

Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Staff brilliant decor atmosphere spot on...food (grilled chicken ) really tasty...lack of vegetables and at £16 for grilled chicken you expect some greens... Tasted great though craft lager lovely...friendly staff though really made visit...felt so chilled. ..

Thank Bruce S
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Just arrived back from an early evening dinner with my wife. Our first visit and most certainly won't be our last. Lovely friendly welcome and that set the tone for an excellent meal. The food is piping hot, quality ingredients, cooked well and in good...More

Thank JPD1862
James H, Marketing at Bel and The Dragon - Godalming, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear JPD1862, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent visit. I was pleased to see you enjoyed the food & our team were welcoming and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards James

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Piazza Firenze
345 reviews
.25 km away
Barbaracca
136 reviews
.21 km away
The Star
83 reviews
.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Godalming Museum
36 reviews
.51 km away
Farncombe Boat House
32 reviews
.91 km away
The Three Lions
39 reviews
.74 km away
Godalming Food Company
14 reviews
.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
janeyjungle1
22 July 2016|
Answer
Response from RobertReed1234 | Property representative |
You can find the full list of our menus on our website. Or if you call the restaurant we can send you an email containing the most recent seasonal menu.
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 18:30
Tuesday
10:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:30 - 23:00
Thursday
10:30 - 23:00
Friday
10:30 - 23:00
Saturday
10:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Church Bridge Street | Old Church, Godalming GU7 1HY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Godalming
  • Phone Number: +44 1483 527333
  • E-mail
Description
Bel & The Dragon Godalming is nestled in Surrey’s picturesque market town of Godalming and is just a short stroll from the river Wey. Formerly a congregational church built in the 1800s, the building’s striking architecture has been beautifully & sensitively restored to reflect its grand nature. The restaurant with its spectacular interior offers a range of flexible spaces for both eating and drinking. Our terrace is the ideal place to relax on warmer days.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing