We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marton Arms

) #13 of 16 Restaurants in Ingleton €€ - €€€ , British,
thornton in lonsdale | Thornton In Lonsdale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park la6 3pb, England
+44 15242 42204
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“ale pie” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
thornton in lonsdale | Thornton In Lonsdale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park la6 3pb, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Very poor meal of fish and chips. Unlikely to be haddock as flesh had a pinkish colour. Would think this was frozen fish judging by the rigid shape. Mushy peas were mashed garden peas. Beer was flat and cloudy. No response from any manager as...More

1  Thank dmthedecorator
Management response:Responded 4 days ago

I can assure you that all our fish is fresh, we do not buy in ready made. No mention of this until the bill was being paid, and by the time the waitress had found me you had already left. We pride ourselves on quality...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We adjourned to the Martin Arms after a family wedding three days ago. There was a lovely warm ambience. It has been totally recently redorated with a new bar to a very high standard very much "in keeping" with its surroundings. Lovely staff. Highly recommend

Thank Joan S
Reviewed 6 days ago

Externally, the Marton Arms is a lovely old building but once inside you could be in any modern pub anywhere in Britain. Unfortunately the renovations have removed all character, history, and unique-ness, and the bar looks extremely 'bling'. We came for a meal and were...More

Thank Broms2
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly welcome from new staff and good quality traditional pub food is now being served again. We visited shortly after the reopening and it was quite busy resulting in rather slow service, but this will surely improve. The refurbishment is in keeping with the character...More

Thank worldtraveller635920
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here twice whilst staying at the nearby Meadow Falls campsite. It's great - really friendly staff and great food. Lovely friendly pub. They fitted us in and were brilliant with my 3 year old.

Thank Budhaig
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called in on Tuesday after reading that the pub had a new look and new people. We have not been for a couple of years and were pleasantly surprised. They are still dog friendly which is great and the food was superb. My husband...More

2  Thank Lyn E
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed over their reopening weekend following the refurbishment of the pub. The welcome from the minute we arrived was superb, warm and very friendly. We were shown to our rooms and it was explained that they were dated, which they were but the bed lined...More

1  Thank 234Darren
Reviewed 28 April 2017

We prebooked lunch at the marton Arms but there was no need to as besides another couple we were the only ones in the pub. Food very nice, The lady who served us was very pleasant. Hassle paying by credit card as the lady had...More

Thank Michael B
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We went there last night (Friday) and had two very tasty and nicely presented burgers accompanied by couple of pints. The staff were pleasant and it was only a 5 minute walk from our accommodation. On that basis we decided to change our plans and...More

1  Thank stuart a
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We visited the Martin Arms during our stay at Thornbrook Barn caravan site as we were looking for somewhere to eat the following day with visitors. Regrettably we were informed that they were only doing food on Friday, Saturday and Sunday (presumably too early in...More

Thank Sue G
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Post Office
155 reviews
1.12 km away
La Cascada
85 reviews
1.20 km away
Inglenook Fish And Chip Shop
185 reviews
1.10 km away
Country Harvest
368 reviews
.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Ingleton Waterfalls Trail
1,686 reviews
1.96 km away
Burton Village Shop
13 reviews
3.58 km away
The Black Bull hotel
23 reviews
4.71 km away
Ingleborough Caves
295 reviews
7.33 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Glynn2399
8 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Kate L | Reviewed this property |
One of the staff told me I could have brought my dog into the bar area when I mentioned she was in the car.
1
Vote
Beth B
17 January 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from Dek186402 | Reviewed this property |
Yes it does.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: thornton in lonsdale | Thornton In Lonsdale, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park la6 3pb, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Yorkshire Dales National Park  >  Ingleton
  • Phone Number: +44 15242 42204
  • E-mail
Description
We are a traditional Country Inn located 3/4 of a mile from Ingleton and just 6 miles away from Kirkby Lonsdale. We have 10 guest bedrooms, two of which have four poster beds, one twin bedroom and one family bedroom, the rest are double bedrooms. We are ideally located for the those doing the Yorkshire Three Peaks or visiting the White Scar Caves and Ingleton Waterfalls.All of our food is prepared freshly on site to order and we use locally sourced suppliers. For those Ale drinkers we have 8 Cask Ale hand pulls, which during the busy season we try and have all 8 on. During the quieter months this is not always possible. For those winter months we have two roaring log burning stoves in the bar and for the Summer months we have two lovely beer gardens, one out the front of the hotel looking over St Oswalds Church and one out the back looking over open fields. For the best available rates please look at the hotel website.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing