We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Leyburn Bolton Arms

) #26 of 26 Restaurants in Leyburn €€ - €€€ , British,
Market Place, Leyburn DL8 5BW, England
+44 1969 623327
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good22%
  • Average18%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible21%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (2 reviews)
“old carpet” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place, Leyburn DL8 5BW, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

This is a traditional Dales Pub in a great location on the Market Place in Leyburn centre. This Pub nosed dived under the last management, the place was dirty, the food awful and the customer service none existent and it was worth avoiding. Now they...More

1  Thank Andrew W
Kris O, Owner at The Leyburn Bolton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Andrew, thank you for your lovely review. It is nice to read that someone understands where the business was.....and how it is moving forward. It is true to say Rome was not built in a day, and The Leyburn Bolton Arms is my little...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

My friend (who is local) and I (from London) went to the Bolton Arms for a quick meal before going to a film at the local Arts Centre. I had chosen the place because they served meals all day and this included a number of...More

1  Thank Jane673605
Kris O, Owner at The Leyburn Bolton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Jane, Thank you ever so much for your wonderful review. We have spent a considerable amount of time with our menu and it is a pleasure to read when a guest enjoys their meal with. Once again, thank you ever so much.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What with the Golden Lion being desperately in need of a good clean and refurb we decided to pop in here for a drink. Big mistake, this place is not much better. Visitors from around the world go to dales and Leyburn is popular, what...More

Thank Carol52 C
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hi Carol, thank you for your disappointing review. I totally agree that it is a shame that the pub has been allowed to in such a state. It is now my job, ambition and passion to bring it back to life! The project I am...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying in leyburn overnight and decided to try the bolton arms for a meal The pub itself could do with a little bit of TLC. the carpets looked a bit grubby and also the paint work which is a shame because the pub...More

1  Thank vitotheborder
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hi, Thank you for your honest review. I totally agree on your comments with regards the condition of the pub, and believe me when I say that all this is in hand, and over the next few months changes and improvements will be happening.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for Sunday lunch and it was okay but nothing startling. Waited for 30 minutes. When I eventually got my meal, the mash was 'smash' and tasted of nothing. I then had to wait 5 minutes for my veg to come. I asked for...More

1  Thank aliceknights199
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hi Alice........thank you ever so much for your constructive review. I am ever so shocked of your comments (as you are a previous employee), and used to peel my potatoes for mash. Yes there was a delay on food, but sometimes being a victim of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called in on Sunday of the 1940s weekend. Ordered a pint of Lime and lemonade and half of Coke cost of which .....£6.00. Very sad that a public house sees people who order a soft drink as an opportunity to rip them off. Profit margin...More

2  Thank Richard S
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hi Richard. Thank you for your review. Can I also thank you for bringing to my attention that you were vastly overcharged. You should of been charged no more than £4.50 for your drinks! We only serve 16oz glasses of the products that you mentioned....More

Reviewed 8 June 2017

Oh dear---impressive from the exterior,but oh so in need of updating inside.Popped in for a pint---friendly barmaid,but it's in a time warp.Make it contemporary or make it retro----not a vehicle to lack of investement-----plenty of other places to spend your money---unfortunately--not here.More

3  Thank northernroamer
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Hi, thank you for your review. Totally agree with the pub needing TLC. I have taken over the pub in the last few months.......and a planned investment of over £200,000 is in place to bring the pub back to its former glory. Please bare in...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017

Stopped for the carvery Sunday lunch but wish we hadn't. It was 3.15 when we called and my first impressions of the place were not good as there was no-one eating in there and no smell of food cooking. However, we asked the barmaid if...More

3  Thank Karen L
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Friendly welcome as always. Unfortunately no guest ales on a bank holiday. The place could do with a bit of a revamp inside with old carpet and seats smelling a bit of smoke and looking a bit dated

1  Thank taj s
Reviewed 11 May 2017

This building stands at the top of the Market Place and dominates the Town. We called in for a lunchtime drink, sadly the interior doesn't impress as much. However, I had a pint of a local brew beer for £2 and a wine was only...More

1  Thank jandlUk
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Crown Inn Askrigg
302 reviews
.04 km away
The Kings Arms
471 reviews
.05 km away
Humble Pie Fawcett & Guy
21 reviews
.02 km away
Restaurant at White Rose Hotel
156 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Ostwalds Church
13 reviews
.05 km away
Aysgarth Falls
1,353 reviews
6.70 km away
The Old School Muker
29 reviews
7.53 km away
Gayle Mill
91 reviews
7.87 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
June C
2 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Luke N |
Yes
0
Votes
britton1965
14 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Peter S | Reviewed this property |
Yes limited free parking is available. On street parking is also available
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place, Leyburn DL8 5BW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Leyburn
  • Phone Number: +44 1969 623327
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing