We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Deer

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
+44 1363 774248
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 248: English reviews
Exeter
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed today NEW

My daughter booked a table at the red deer Crediton for mothers day for 6 adults and 5 children from the time we arrived it was like they wanted to get rid of us firstly we ordered the drinks they came the waitress just dumped them on the end of the table and we had to sort them out, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank martyn95
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

If you like value for money in pleasant surroundings then the Red Deer is for you. We use it after our weekly shop in the nearby Tesco's. The menu is varied and quite extensive catering for all tastes, the food is good value for money and is well prepared and presented and the staff are always friendly and polite.

Helpful?
Thank Br1zzol
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Br1zzol, Thank you for your positive and honest review, we look forward to welcoming you here again soon. We have loads of new exciting offers and give away's each week on face book, follow us to keep informed. https://facebook.com/creditonmarstons Regards Liam Wright-(General Manager) More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant was brilliant when it first opened, excellent management was very much at the forefront this is not the case now the management and quality of the food is poor, such a shame, it's 2 for 1 which is great providing you can eat it!

Helpful?
Thank woolly2017
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Wooly2017, Thank you for your review, you have not given any detail about your experience just that you liked the old managers from a few years ago and that the quality of food is poor, we still use the same Marstons suppliers and some more information would be great. Being the new manager here in the last few weeks... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not been for a few months as not local to us but decided to pop in while on the way to visit friends,Always seems like the place was built on a budget and the décor kept cheap and cheerful.Place was fairly empty but still played hunt the staff member.Got no greeting just do you want drinks before you order.Most of... More 

Helpful?
Thank ken v
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Ken V, Thank you for your review, you are right and as part of Marston's pub company we provides casual dining with table service at good value with an extensive menu. A lot of our produce is bought in as with all our pubs to maintain consistency through out our brand to ensure our customers receive the same standard... More 

Copplestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a meal the waitress was kind took are order 10min later Waiter came with it doesn't know about his job puts down in front of us asking put it at the side or the middle Puts down at the middle it wasn't hot Or warm it was cold I think the waiter Needs little more training!!!!!!.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus H
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Marcus H, Thank you for your review, however its hard to understand what the issue was you experienced from the description you have given. We do have one new waiter who has joined the team recently, however we all do have to learn and start somewhere and im sure with which ever issue you feel you had he was... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We waited nearly 35 minutes for our food and other patrons who had come in later than us were being served. I had to give the waiter such a look of my frustration that he went back to collect our order. We ordered fish and chips and chicken and ham bake with 'crispy salad' and garlic bread. What a disappointment!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank geoff3027
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Geoff3027, I pass over my apologies again that you feel the food quality was not up to standard, I did feel after we spoke, replacement meals were declined but a large discount was taken that the issue was resolved. After reading this review I can see it has not been the case. If however if you would like to... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

The Red Deer is such a good place to eat on a Friday night with friends and family because we just couldn't be bothered to cook. Great food, great value on 2 for 1 deals. I have two boys aged 13 and 11 and they eat masses. I have posted a photo of the specials board.

Helpful?
Thank Tim S
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi Tim S, Thank you for such a positive review. We hope to welcome you and your family here again soon. Regards-Liam Wright (Manager) More 

Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Have just had lunch at The Red Deer and was very disappointed by the standard of food. I had the fish and chips, the fish was over cooked and dry whereas the chips were not cooked - some tasting almost raw. What a shame - I used to sing your praises and loved stopping on our journey from Cornwall to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MaryD_10
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi MaryD_10, Its such a shame to hear the quality of food you received was not up to our usual standards, we always want our customers to leave happy. If mentioned on your visit we wold of been more than happy to replace the meal for you or certainly ensure you were looked after. Regards-Liam Wright (Manger) More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2017

Had a pleasurable lunch at the Red Deer last week. Greeted my Jill who remembered us from a previous visit welcomed us. As it was a cold day she found us a warm table out of the draft. We had a very good meal well cooked and nicely presented. The price very good value two mains for the price on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank littleallen2017
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi littleallen2017, Thank you for leaving such a positive review, I certainly have made sure she and the team is aware of your praise to her and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards-Liam Wright (Manager) More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2017

On arrival a sign to say find a seat to get served, waiting 20 minutes before waitress arrives for drinks order only! Took 15 minutes to get drinks, still no food order taken 10 minutes later food order taken (45 minutes in total). Waited 29 minutes before receiving food no apologies throughout! I was still eating when I was asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank clarabell2017
reddeer_crediton, General Manager at Red Deer, responded to this review

Hi, Clarabell2017, Thank you for giving us your feedback, I would like to investigate the issues you feel you had with wait times. If you would like to contact us direct I'm more than happy to look into this for you. Regards Liam Wright-Manager More 

Travellers who viewed Red Deer also viewed

 

Been to Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Joseph Locke Way, Crediton EX17 3FD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Crediton
  • Phone Number: +44 1363 774248
Description
Telephone: 01363 774248

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Deer staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?