We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vals Coffee House

Black Bull Lane, Haltwhistle NE49 0BL, England
+44 1434 321370
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good23%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“bacon butty” (3 reviews)
“sandwiches” (6 reviews)
“corned beef” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Black Bull Lane, Haltwhistle NE49 0BL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 78 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Walked in with the children for a coffee and juice, and was told the fridge is locked after telling the boys to have a look and see what they want. Was them told in a quiet aggressive manner to “take a seat if I was...More

Thank Alan C
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I didn’t think places like this still existed. Think of sams coffee shop in last of the summer wine and you have Val’s to a T. Wonderful place for local food and colour. Tiny and really awesome atmosphere. Locals use the place regularly and prices...More

Thank 869dougw
nicolad1971, Public Relations Manager at Vals Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review , hope to see you again sometime x

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Several of our party were pretty much refused service and made to feel totally unwelcome.. can I have a coffee please? No I'm busy. Can I use the toilet? Toilets are for customers. Can I be a customer? No. ... bizarre customer service skills, basically...More

3  Thank whippetbean
nicolad1971, Public Relations Manager at Vals Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Your party came in after standing outside eating and drinking from the takeaway next door and tried to use the toilet to which we said toilets are for customers only , can't actually believe how arrogant and ignorant you were standing shouting and making a...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just a few tables but cosy atmosphere. We only had a coffee and soft drink. My wife had a flat white and although she thought it was ‘alright ‘ it was the strangest flat white she’d ever had. Service was friendly if a bit slow

Thank redscarfox
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

This place was busy when we arrived, but due to lack of other options we asked if we could wait. Woman serving told us she wasn't prepared to ask anyone to leave! Of course this was ridiculous and we would never have expected this. We...More

1  Thank angieb299
nicolad1971, Public Relations Manager at Vals Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

We are disappointed with your review , when you came in you stood in the doorway and I came over to tell you that there were no tables empty and there was at least a 20 minute wait . You decided to stand and wait...More

Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

I had a previously good experience and advised by a local friend to book for my next trip as we were a bigger group and it can be busier. So I had booked like advised to get a seat inside. However I didn’t get to...More

Thank Mince n Cocktai... R
nicolad1971, Public Relations Manager at Vals Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

We can understand why you weren't happy when there were no tables available at 1pm when you had previously booked online. Unfortunately at 12.30 all the tables were occupied with people eating and we can't just ask them to leave or hurry up . At...More

Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Went here because of the reviews, The Coffee was ok but we had cooked food which wasn't so good, the scampi was not cooked properly and had an after taste like the chips which I think was down to using old oil to fry them...More

Thank Pete R
nicolad1971, Public Relations Manager at Vals Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your food but you should have told us when you were here what the problem was and we could have tried to put it right . This is the first time we have had a complaint about...More

Reviewed 6 August 2018

We had brekkie at Vals whilst staying in Haltwhistle. Breakfast was great but the owner needs to improve on their people skills. We felt we were intruding and service seemed to be reserved only for locals.More

Thank Jayne C
nicolad1971, Public Relations Manager at Vals Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast here , we welcome everyone wether they are local or tourists but think you may have not understood when you were told there were people to serve before you that came in front of you . As we...More

Reviewed 23 July 2018

We stopped at Haltwhistle for lunch and both decided to have an omelette. The cafe was very busy and we were told there would be a wait for the food. We were quite happy with this and sat outside watching the world go by. The...More

Thank salsadancer2018
nicolad1971, Public Relations Manager at Vals Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review , we hope to see you again soon x

Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Popped by for a coffee whilst cycling (outdoor seating if weather ok!) and also ordered a takeaway sandwich. It all came wrapped in foil and I Iater discovered it was a complete meal with with salad and tortilla chips, and strawberries. Great value.

Thank Dyane602
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Station Hotel
1 review
7.98 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
1,307 reviews
12.84 km away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
108 reviews
14.23 km away
Cumberland Inn
134 reviews
17.66 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Black Bull
645 reviews
.02 km away
The Black Bull, Etal
18 reviews
.04 km away
Jethro's
44 reviews
.04 km away
Fort Restaurant
134 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cawfields Roman Wall
90 reviews
1.88 km away
Peter Carney: Hadrian's Wall Guide
51 reviews
2.76 km away
Mr George's Museum of Time
24 reviews
.16 km away
The Sill: National Landscape Discovery Centre
246 reviews
5.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Vals Coffee House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Takeout
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Black Bull Lane, Haltwhistle NE49 0BL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Haltwhistle
  • Phone Number: +44 1434 321370
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing