We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Speights Ale House Wanaka

) #14 of 59 Restaurants in Wanaka €€ - €€€ Bar, Pub, New Zealand
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
+64 3-443 5459
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good45%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (41 reviews)
“caesar salad” (9 reviews)
“garlic loaf” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
DETAILS
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 720 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We were greeted by a very friendly waitress that looked after us until a table was available on a busy night. Service was slick, but in the end it seemed expensive for what was not a particularly memorable meal.

Thank Rocky_and_Biglegs
Reviewed 5 days ago

My wife and I called in for a quick ale (or two) on our way to have a walk through Wanaka. The place was packed and very busy, and the staff run off their feet. Leonie and I decided to have our drinks outside in...More

Thank Rushie08
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thanks very much for that review. Our staff are certainly an absolute asset to our business and to be able to have an enjoyable chat with some of them is great to read. Thanks for popping on your way through Wanaka. Enjoy the rest of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

After a 15 minute wait we were shown to our tables, service was was swift and efficent. Our food was typical large serve pub food.

Thank 04MJC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although not a Craft Brewery, Speight's has some good brews. This location is in central Wanaka, within walking distance of pretty much anything of interest in the downtown. Their is a bar, a restaurant and patio. Items from the same menu can be ordered in...More

Thank davejohnbiking
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is certainly great having a central location - especially being so close to Lake Wanaka.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a good no-nonsense pub with 10% off voucher for drinks from Wanaka Heights Motel. There is a nice lively outdoor area and the food is good with plenty of it.

Thank patricia t
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our outdoor area is certainly a popular spot especially on a beautiful sunny Autumn Day.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our experience at Speights Ale House was great. Friendly staff, great food and great atmosphere. If in Wanaka give it a go you will not be disappointed. Meals are generous You will not leave hungry. The cheesy garlic bread a must. We found this good...More

Thank jennifero326
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us at the Wanaka Speight's Ale House. It's always good to know people do not leave us still hungry.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good meal, quick service, large portions and good beer, well priced for the size of meals. Was busy the night we were there but wasn't noisy or didn't feel crowded.

Thank raelene m
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It was great to read that although we were busy you didn't find it too noisy or crowded. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This restaurant does not take bookings and is very popular, so to get a table it pays to go early - before 6pm - if possible. The food is nicely prepared and very tasty and reasonably priced. Family friendly but can get a bit noisy...More

Thank Murray A
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thanks for that feedback. We are definitely a family friendly restaurant with a grassy area outside for kids to play on and the Bullock Creek for kids to explore. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the ale house around 18:30, walked inside and the place was a buzz. ( very busy ) Because of the open space of the restaurant it was quite noisy. We were told that there were no tables available but if we could...More

Thank DJJ252
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Feedback like yours DJJ is certainly very much appreciated. I will make sure that this is passed through to the staff. Thanks again.

Reviewed 21 April 2017

We went back for a second dinner as we enjoyed our meal here so much. We all enjoyed our meals and the atmosphere

Thank vannsandra
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

That's fantastic feedback. Thanks for commenting. We hope the rest of your travels are fantastic.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Wanaka Gourmet Kitchen
384 reviews
.13 km away
Big Fig Wanaka
253 reviews
.08 km away
The Spice Room
821 reviews
.18 km away
Kika
155 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wanaka
970 reviews
.26 km away
Deep Canyon
173 reviews
.09 km away
Lake Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
172 reviews
.06 km away
The Picture Lounge
6 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
kates1960
How about quality control rather than berating someone for posting an honest review of a less than satisfactory meal? I did tell staff and I wasn't happy with the solution offered.
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Cechová M | Reviewed this property |
Dear Kates 1960, Sorry about this, But I was in NZ Speights Ale House with my french husband 1 Month ago and the food was truly delicious. Believe me, that french peoplae do have very hight level about the food. And me, as a... More
0
Votes
milnefamily71
Are you open for Christmas lunch?
16 December 2016|
Answer
Response from charlotte k | Property representative |
Hi there. No we are not open for Christmas Lunch. There are a definite 2 places open though - Francescas - which is directly behind us. It is an Italian restaurant - you will need to book this though. Edgewater resort... More
0
Votes
poiuyt2
Do you have a Sunday roast meal tonight?
13 November 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from charlotte k | Property representative |
Hi there. We do not have roast meals. If you go to our website you can view our menu. Hopefully there is something that would be to your liking.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$24
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Parking Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 02:00
Monday
11:00 - 02:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 02:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 02:00
Thursday
11:00 - 02:00
Friday
11:00 - 02:00
Saturday
11:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Wanaka
  • Phone Number: +64 3-443 5459
  • E-mail
Description
The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.