We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Veranda

Certificate of Excellence
€€€€
Waikiki
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Moana Surfrider A Westin Resort & Spa, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
+1 808-921-4600
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon 09:00 - 00:00
Tue 06:00 - 19:00
Wed 10:00 - 00:00
Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 05:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

464 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 241: English reviews
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had the 6 course New Year's Eve prix fixe dinner on New Year's Eve. Food was good but not great, and of course very expensive, but it was New Year's Eve so we expected that. Just wished we felt like we got what we paid for. Ambiance was very nice as the Moana Surfrider decorated the courtyard under the banyan... More 

Helpful?
Thank ME M
Wellington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to The Veranda several times for afternoon tea and/or lunch. All but once we had great service and the food was always excellent.

Helpful?
Thank thompsons406
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We weren't very hungry, so we ordered just the crab cakes and a bit of wine. The service was wonderful and the crab cakes were to die for. The view of the 115 year old canyon tree, lit up with blue light, is incredible.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
Brett C, Manager at The Veranda, responded to this review

Aloha Ruth. Thank you for joining us at the Veranda at the Moana Surfrider. We appreciate your kind comments and are glad to be of service. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Manila
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here is my review about the Dessert Buffet Experience: - We came to have the dessert buffet at 2pm, the hostess sat us at the wrong location and and different hostess sat us at the correct location. - Pastries is good. All of them. - Coffee and tea selection is widely available. - The place was about 25% occupies, still... More 

Helpful?
Thank DwTokidoki
Brett C, Manager at The Veranda, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear of your disappointing experience. We are glad that the desserts were good. Thank you for your specific feedback regarding the confusion over the billing process. We will take this under advisement and communicate with our staff so that they are all informed and that we are all on the same page.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful location and if you are lucky enough to have Douglas as your server you day will be perfect

Helpful?
Thank Beth M
Brett C, Manager at The Veranda, responded to this review

Mahalo for your visit to the Veranda. Thank you for your kind comments and specifically mentioning Douglas. We hope to see you again soon. Feel free to join us for dinner at the Beachhouse as well. More 

Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

having stayed at the hotel we had a birthday meal at the Veranda. We requested a table down by the sea but were put half way along the veranda. A bit disappointing but the food was good if very expensive. Overall a good night

Helpful?
Thank steve482016
Brett C, Manager at The Veranda, responded to this review

Thanks for joining us at for your birthday at the Veranda. We’re sorry that we weren’t able to accommodate your table request, yet are glad that your overall experience was positive. Come back and see us soon. More 

Twin Cities
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of my favorite places in the world for high tea. A proper high tea with flavors of the island, and the spectacular ocean view make for a guilty pleasure everyone should experience. My husband and I did the tea 13 years ago when we first came to Oahu. It has not lost its charm and we enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank tcpilotswife
Brett C, Manager at The Veranda, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that high tea at the Veranda has not lost it’s charm. Thank you for your gracious comments. We hope to see you back soon. We also have a wonderful breakfast buffet and elegant dinner service. More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
361 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

Booked Christmas Brunch on the Veranda. $80US per person. (exchange rate was 72cents) Water, juices, sodas, tea, coffee included. Alcohol pay extra. Thought it was excellent value. Am paying $115 in Australia for similar. But nothing can compare to the view. Prime seating. Seated on right hand side (banyan tree side), first table from the front. Initially the 2 front... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nathalie E
Brett C, Manager at The Veranda, responded to this review

Mahalo for joining us here for Christmas Brunch and your very detailed descriptions of the offerings. It is one of our more elaborate meals of the year. Thanks you for your compliments on the service as well. We look forward to seeing you again in 2017. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

I love the verandah, having been here many times before on previous visits. I wanted to take my daughter there on a recent visit, so we headed there as soon as we checked in the PK hotel across the road. We had the traditional high tea and I had a champagne to celebrate being in paradise again. Service was great,... More 

Helpful?
Thank TasBriswegian
Brett C, Manager at The Veranda, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and joining us for Tea on the Veranda. We apologize for the mix up regarding your vegetarian selections. Thank you for your feedback on the service. I will personally monitor that. Please come back and see us again soon. We also have a terrific breakfast buffet and a wonderful dinner menu at the Beachhouse. More 

Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

Lovely and amazing breakfasts, fun lunches and even a fantastic afternoon tea. All great but got sick of it after a while. The food under the tree outside was only fair. You need to eat up on the veranda. Totally different.

Helpful?
Thank Meema21
Brett C, Manager at The Veranda, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty to all of our venues at the Moana Surfrider. After you take a break, feel free to come back and see us again. We appreciate your feedback and your business. More 

Travellers who viewed The Veranda also viewed

 

Been to The Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
American, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Monday
09:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
06:00 - 19:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
05:00 - 22:00
Saturday
05:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Moana Surfrider A Westin Resort & Spa, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
  • Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Oahu  >  Honolulu>  > Waikiki
  • Neighbourhood: Waikiki
  • Phone Number: +1 808-921-4600

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Veranda and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Veranda staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?