We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room

8 Fort St, Springfield, MA 01103-1208
+1 413-734-7475
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“spaetzle” (44 reviews)
“fried cheese” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, German, European, Central European
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 Fort St, Springfield, MA 01103-1208
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Can’t complain about a thing enjoyed dinner and service left full great sausage great schnitzel:) call ahead to be safe or be prepared to wait. Nice cold beer.More

Thank Betty A
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review, Betty. Sausage or Schnitzel washed down with a beer is a good thing. I am glad that you mentioned calling ahead. It is always a good idea to do so. Aome times we might have plenty of room, other nights we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had not been to the Student Prince since new owners bought it. Just prior to the holidays we decided to try it. It was excellent! Our server, Nathalie, was friendly and attentive. We never had to call her over to ask for anything. She...More

Thank Jim G
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jim, we appreciate your taking the time to post the nice review. The new ownership has made a few minor changes, but the place is still the classic establishment. Natalie is fairly new, but has been doin a great job....I enjoy carrot cake that has...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My parents took me to the Student Prince during the Christmas season as a child - it was a family tradition. I am now 44. This year I had the opportunity to take my parents, wife and 6 year old daughter. Showing the new generation....More

Thank Twennberg
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

One of the great pleasures of working at the Student Prince is seeing families passing through many generations. It is gratifying to do a dinner for a baptism, then a graduation, then a wedding rehearsal and then seeing another generation on Fort Street. Christmas is...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We took our daughter here for her 24th birthday and had such a wonderful time! Authentic German food and beer made for a great cultural experience. We started with the German pretzel, crispy Brussels sprouts and fried Camembert. All equally delicious but the pretzel is...More

Thank Sondra L
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sondra, Thanks for the nice review. We are glad that your daughter enjoyed her birthday and spent it with us. Our germanic soul foods taste great in cold weather. The pretzels are a wonderful way to start a meal. Our tradition of dimming the lights...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The last time I went here years ago was when you could park (and pay) at the nearby parking lot. Or, if you were lucky, find a free spot on the same street then. But within the last couple of years there were changes and...More

Thank SUN_and_H2O
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the nice review. I should point out that one can still park (and pay) at the lot down the street from the restaurant or the City Parking garage a block away. We validate parking at the lot at noontime. We have had the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dropped in for lunch 3 days before Christmas. Did not realize we should have probably made reservations, but they accommodated cheerfully, The holiday decor is delightfully dated. It is very tasteful. Our waiter was Jeff was very cheerful and served us well. The giant pretzel...More

Thank Edward W
Rudirup, Owner at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are glad that you enjoyed. Maybe we can work on a potato pancake that is a bit thinner and crisper. Veal shank is a great meal ad one of our more popular specials. Thanks for the nice words and have a great 2018!!!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is no restaurant in Springfield that has so much history, memories and stories intertwined in its bones and soul. Despite its near death experience a few years ago, the new Fort has sufficient DNA, preserved customs and gemutlichkeit to continue serving the community and...More

Thank ulysses4
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the nice review. Many of the eliminated menu items were no economically justified. The Eisbein (corned boiled pork shank) was delicious, but not appealing to those born in the last forty years. Prior to the sale , items such as veal kidneys and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food here is excellent. The restaurant decor is beautiful. Some friends and I went during Caroling Season for a celebration. We had a 6:30 reservation and waited 45 minutes for our table. The table we were seated at was all they had at the...More

1  Thank Ham64
Bill P, General Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ham64, Apologies for your experinece, it's a very busy season here at the Fort, we try not to turn anyone away who enjoy a Student Prince Holiday tradition. I think most folks are used to how busy we are during this time, after all some...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three friends and I enjoyed dinner tonight at The Student Prince, a Springfield legend. But even its reputation did not prepare me for how well the menu captured the essence of traditional German cuisine, nor how much each choice for each course pleased. The four...More

Thank dragonlady36
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the nice review and taking the time to write it. It amazes me that Brussel Sprouts once the unloved stepchild of the vegetable community have become so popular. The carolers have been enjoyed for seventy years. Christmas is a special time on Fort...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our family decided this year that we wanted to begin a Holiday dinner gathering tradition, and The Student Prince, a restaurant I’d never been to but have wanted to try, was suggested by our Springfield family members. Our time there was an absolute disaster, literally...More

1  Thank Mark E
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Springfield
Tower Square Hotel Springfield
378 reviews
.25 km away
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
581 reviews
.28 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
624 reviews
.60 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
328 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Theodore's
325 reviews
.10 km away
Panjabi Tadka
66 reviews
.13 km away
Adolfo's Italian Restaurant
81 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Springfield Museums
373 reviews
.62 km away
Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden
370 reviews
.66 km away
Basketball Hall of Fame
520 reviews
1.31 km away
Springfield Armory National Historic Site
222 reviews
1.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Christopher R
7 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bill P | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay, Saturdays andSunday's you can park anywhere, street meters are free. We do validate for the Hampden Street lot at the end of Fort st., Monday thru Saturday for our lunch hours. We also have Monday thru... More
0
Votes
BuddyDogbostonterrier
1 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from StudentPrinceMgmt | Property representative |
Yes. Mikey and Al are still here.
0
Votes
BuddyDogbostonterrier
14 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Rudirup | Property representative |
I am still around. "I tried to get out, and they pulled me back in." I work a few shifts at the door and I am helping out with menus, etc. I will be working tomorrow evening, April 16. Thanks for asking., Come in and take... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$28
Cuisine
American, German, European, Central European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 20:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Fort St, Springfield, MA 01103-1208
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Springfield
  • Phone Number: +1 413-734-7475
Description
The landmark restaurant of Downtown Springfield with dedicated service and a German accent since 1935.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing