We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Monsoon Bar & Restaurant

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
46 Cron St. | Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
+64 3-752 0101
Website
Today
16:00 - 01:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 16:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 287: English reviews
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Most restaurant service in New Zealand is, well, glacial by American standards. The Monsoon Bar & Restaurant had the kind of service Americans are used to. The waitstaff were all very friendly as well. The food was good.

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth Z
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Had so much fun at the Pizza Fest run by Ollie Clark and Mase Spencer. Great food and great hosts. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Ruby W
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The pizza night run by Ollie Clark and Mason Spencer was a great evening, would definitely recommend to anyone !

Helpful?
Thank BecMo96
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The atmosphere here was great. A well set up place for quiet diners or a rowdy crowd. The service was fantastic...we have food allergies so eating out is often a nightmare...not here! The wait staff were great and the kitchen did a fantastic job of our pulled pork burgers! Cheers to a great night!

Helpful?
Thank Caz G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Good quality and quantity dishes at a good price. Welcoming atmosphere with open fires. Craft beer available

Helpful?
Thank helen g
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Well, you don't come to eat here for a quiet meal out - it is part of Rainforest Retreat and attracts students, backpackers, boutique tour groups and couples alike. The place is mostly very busy and be prepared to wait (at the bar) for a seat - could be on a bench at a long table. Menu is very good... More 

Helpful?
Thank GOMS2013
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you love the food drink party night, it is the place. Fun atmosphere, lots of people, good food, cocktails, music!!!

Helpful?
Thank olivier b
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I think my mistake here was going to the all you can eat pizza evening as a solo traveller. this evening is catered towards large bus tour style trips. i was therefore moved around as i wasn't part of a tour, the food was ok but kind of shambolic. i would avoid the all you can eat pizza night unless... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
Management response:

Hi Victoria thank you for your feedback on our pizza fest. We run pizza fest every other day and it is extremely popular as is our A la carte menu. Pizza fest is only $18.50 for huge quantities of home made pizza, plus fries, garlic bread and a drink it is a big hit, especially with the backpacker crowd. This... More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and husband shared fish bites, potato wedges and a Pizza. We didn't realise how big they would be! The Pizza wasn't totally authentic - the cheese was a bit strange , but it was well edible. Ok for a quick bite to eat. The staff were attentive and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank moxxy-girl
Management response:

Hi Moxxy-girl Thank you for the review. Glad to hear you were well satisfied after you visit. I'm not sure what to think of your strange cheese reference as we use a popular mozzarella cheese but i think i need to try another pizza just to ensure the cheese is good. (any excuse! ;-)) Cheers Oscar More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This restaurant is on the edge of a holiday park, so lots of backpackers and tourists made for a lively atmosphere. Had a student pub vibe when we were there, but plenty of seating, service was great and food delicious. Burgers and chips were great value, and decent portions too. Not sure my mum enjoyed it quite as much, maybe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gbritbris

Travellers who viewed Monsoon Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Monsoon Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, Pizza, International, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
16:00 - 01:00
Monday
16:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 01:00
Thursday
16:00 - 01:00
Friday
16:00 - 01:00
Saturday
16:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 46 Cron St. | Franz Josef Glacier, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  West Coast Region  >  Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)  >  Franz Josef
  • Phone Number: +64 3-752 0101
Description
Monsoon bar and restaurant will quite possibly be your favourite bar in NZ, with roaring fires & regular DJ's. We carry a large range of New Zealands finest beers and wines. The Monsoon restaurant will satisfy your hunger whatever your budget with all you can eat pizza nights, backpacker meal deals and a specially created ala carte menu specially designed by our head chef Ronald Lacanilao who has created a menu of mouth watering local delicacies to treat you after a hard day glacier exploring. Monsoon: it rains... we pour...

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Monsoon Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?