We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Overflow

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Triq il-Maskli, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
+35699354574
Website
Tuesday
Closed
Hours:
Wed - Mon 18:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were heading for another restaurant but it was full. Never been to the Overflow in all the time we have spent here. The food was beautifully delicious and more than ample. Good value. You have to be patient but it was worth waiting for. Will visit again before we go home.

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a lovely Italian style restaurant. The staff are lovely and its all non hurried. The place is busy and has a great atmosphere. You would need to come hungry because the portion size is big. Huge steaks and mega burgers. Very good quality at affordable prices. It was my favourite restaurant in the area

Helpful?
Thank Benchdublin
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Malta for a week recently and visited this restaurant on three evenings, we just loved it, the food is exceptional, can't honestly think of anything negative to say. Can't remember what we had, I just know it was sublime!

Helpful?
Thank Justkarens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friedly staff, great food (I had excellent vegetable soup and maltese pork and my girlfriend had excellent cozze and maltese fish soup), but waintg time for food was verry long. More then one hour.

Helpful?
Thank Martin S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was our last night in Malta and we asked the hotel staff for a place that was close and good value for money. The receptionist recommended the overflow as they had the best chocolate fondant on the island. No booking required, we arrived and were seated immediately. Fantastic. We ordered drinks. A bottle of prosecco waited a short while... More 

Helpful?
Thank S J
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I visited this restaurant and were absolutely bowled over by the quality of the food and the friendliness of the staff. The chef himself came out to greet us and explained everything we asked of the menu. We were certainly not disappointed. The food was amazing, like nothing we had ever had before. It was simple dishes,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alimclachlan
Bedford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here on several nights and enjoyed every meal we had. The pizzas were very good along with the prawns and pasta dishes we sampled. Staff were friendly and professional. Good to see a modern restaurant with consumer friendly pricing.

Helpful?
Thank PaulaBedford
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service, food, value and overall experience was very good, the staff could hold a good conversation and were knowledgeable of their menu. We actually paid two visits to this restaurant on our recent visit to Qawra, get in early to avoid the rush.

Helpful?
Thank Fenian007
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We intended to go to The Plum Tree Restaurant and Bar. It was closed on the Sunday night, so we went next door to the Overflow instead. It was quite busy but the waitress sat us down and took our order for drinks. No problem. We then ordered the food. The platter for two to start, a Salmon dish and... More 

Helpful?
Thank MDDB10
Claudio B, Direttore at The Overflow, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are sorry you didn't spend a nice night at us, we were very busy that night,. We will try to fasten our service next time. Regarding your change, the waiter was refilling the cash register coming in the kitchen, she doesn't forgot you, but you decide so and gone away. Maybe 30 seconds more and... More 

Level Contributor
437 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Overall: 4, as it was really great on arrival (5), early during the opening hours, but got really really slow, like overflow, when the joint was full (3). One additional staff would probably make it. Comments: nice and cozy, attentive and friendly, and really great food coming in generous portions. Reservation: - Location: 4 Menu: 4-5 Knowledge: 4-5 Originality: 4-5... More 

Helpful?
Thank Haarud

Travellers who viewed The Overflow also viewed

 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 

Been to The Overflow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$17 - US$45
Cuisine
Seafood, Mediterranean, Grill, Pizza, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
18:00 - 22:30
Monday
18:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
18:00 - 22:30
Thursday
18:00 - 22:30
Friday
18:00 - 22:30
Saturday
18:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Triq il-Maskli, Qawra, Island of Malta, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Qawra
  • Phone Number: +35699354574
Description
The New Overflow Restaurant, under new management, is located at Triq il-Maskli, Qawra, just a street parallel to Triq it-Turisti. Bright and airy, the restaurant is ideal to grab a bite at lunch time or to order a one to three course in the evening. One will fall in love with the restaurant with its genuine Mediterranean cuisine accompanied by an excellent service.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Overflow staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?