We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honu's on the Beach

€€ - €€€American, Seafood,
75-5660 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612
+1 808-331-6388
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good32%
  • Average19%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“crab legs” (17 reviews)
“prime rib” (23 reviews)
“sushi” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
75-5660 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I expect Breakfast Buffets are much the same the world over, though having one at the beach in Hawai'i is a nice way to start your Sunday. Honu's is the restaurant attached to Marriott's King Kamehameha Hotel and sits right over looking the bay. The...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Michael Denis M
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Aloha Michael Denis M, Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant. We greatly appreciate your feedback and kind compliments for our server Lani. Our team takes great pride in our service and providing a great...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had breakfast with a nice view of the marina outside on the patio which was nice. Inside the waffle / omlet station is smelled to high heven (like burnt oil) so I suggest eating outisde or taking a shower after your meal. The banana...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank AnnieMF
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha AnnieMF, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your dining experience. It is through honest feedback that we are able to improve upon the Food and Beverage experience provided to our valued guests. It was brought to my attention, that...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My, wife, two young daughters and I were staying in Kailua-Kona on our last night on the Island of Hawaii and happened upon Honu's after a walk along the water. We were immediately drawn to its amazing open atmosphere right on the beach and decided...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jim7288
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Jim7288, Thank you for your awesome feedback and great review of Honu’s on the Beach Restaurant. We appreciate your recommendation! We are happy to hear you enjoyed dining at our restaurant and great to hear that our Associate Cisco provided you with great service....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointing. Sushi selection non existent, listed ceasar salad with mixed greens and no ceasar dressing and no other salad option, very little seafood selection. Cheesecake an odd texture and not great. Service also not great, seated in corner. We have come for 5 years and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Dream434472
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Aloha Dream434472, Thank you for posting your feedback from your most recent visit at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant. I apologize for the lack of service that you received at our Christmas Buffet. It appears that we were nowhere near our normal level of service...More

Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

Well: the food is good BUT the atmosphere is totally impersonal! Crowded! Looking for a romantic dinner = Forget it! There are so many nicer restaurants in Kailua Kona. Very disappointing!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Margairaz
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aloha Margairaz, Thank you for taking the time to review our Prime Rib and Seafood Buffet. We are so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize...More

Reviewed 13 December 2018

Had the buffet every morning for 6 mornings...NICE, with great selection. Don't go near the bread pudding....no...don't do it.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank robertgrawet
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

We had a great date night here for dinner. Everything was delicious! Very nice view and the luau was amazing there also!More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Trip215677
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Aloha Trip215677, We appreciate your feedback and great review of Honu’s on the Beach Restaurant. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Prime Rib and Seafood Buffet. Our team takes great pride in our service and providing a great Aloha experience. We look forward...More

Reviewed 15 October 2018

My family and I ate at Honu's for their breakfast buffet and it was really good. They had a nice selection including miso soup. There was a chef making made to order omelettes and Belgium waffles- so yummy! The view is nice of the grounds...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank BBDoll619
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We enjoyed the Honu Restaurant several times for dinner and was pleased with the courteous, attentive staff, the choices available, the presentation and taste of the food. Their soups are great, their entries were substantial without being too much food, and I recommend their sushi...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Theo H
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Aloha Theo H, We appreciate your feedback and great review of Honu’s on the Beach Restaurant. We are delighted to see you enjoyed our sushi nights as well as the other dinner entries and found the food to be delicious. Thank you for taking the...More

Reviewed 26 September 2018

great food,we had the breakfast buffet with omelets made while you watch that were so good.we had a lot of fruit and waffels too.great placeMore

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank svoss2040
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Aloha svoss2040, We appreciate your feedback and great review of Honu’s on the Beach Restaurant. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food at our Breakfast Buffet. It was truly a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you again when...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 49 hotels in Island of Hawaii
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3,393 reviews
.10 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
1,382 reviews
.23 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
561 reviews
.58 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
580 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
One Aloha Shave Ice Co
175 reviews
.23 km away
Splasher's Grill
3,291 reviews
.14 km away
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
3,479 reviews
.22 km away
Menehune Coffee Company
203 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kailua Pier
301 reviews
.13 km away
Kamakahonu
115 reviews
.13 km away
Ahuena Heiau
106 reviews
.07 km away
Epic! Tours
217 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
peaceseeker007
3 November 2018|
Answer
Response from Theo H | Reviewed this property |
We did not partake of salad, but don't recall there being a salad bar..... They did have salads you could order.
1
Vote
JolyneCarvalho
15 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from GlobeTrotting740448 | Reviewed this property |
Don’t think so
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$40
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Buffet
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, View
Open Hours
Sunday
06:00 - 10:30
17:30 - 22:00
Monday
06:00 - 10:30
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
06:00 - 10:30
17:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
06:00 - 10:30
17:30 - 22:00
Thursday
06:00 - 10:30
17:30 - 22:00
Friday
06:00 - 10:30
17:30 - 22:00
Saturday
06:00 - 10:30
17:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75-5660 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612
  • Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Island of Hawaii  >  Kailua-Kona
  • Phone Number: +1 808-331-6388
  • E-mail
Description
Located at the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, Honu's on the Beach is an award-winning restaurant that offers delicious regional Hawaiian cuisine for breakfast and dinner, with lavish buffets available in the morning and on weekends and holidays. Enjoy a spacious lanai - complete with inviting fire pits and amazing views of the beach.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing