We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bar Boulud

€€€€
Neighbourhood:
Upper West Side
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
1900 Broadway, New York City, NY 10023-7004 (64th Street)
+1 212-595-0303
Website
Today
11:30 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 10:00
Mon - Thu 11:30 - 23:00
Fri 11:30 - 00:00
Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

687 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 598: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were somewhat underwhelmed, but in fairness we got what was advertised - classic French. Great service, good wine list. Everything was as expected, but lacked any originality or flair. If you are looking for tried and true classics, you will enjoy... if you are hoping for a more modern and fresh take on French cuisine, perhaps this is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jencam333
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I am done with the Boulud restaurants after two weak experiences. This time I was expecting a delicious French experience and it just wasn't that. First, we had the "famous' charcuterie plate and it was terrible, mostly a plate full of gelatinous meats that all tasted like the same bland thing and not very flavorful or special at all. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leobaby1
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

I am very sorry to learn of your disappointment in your expectations for your meal here and hope I can persuade you to give us another chance to impress you with the fresh, complex flavors of our traditional cuisine. If you would kindly send your email or phone number to karmstrong@danielnyc.com, I will contact you directly to discuss the details,... More 

New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Convenient location near Lincoln center. Has a European flair but can often feel very crowded at dinner.

Helpful?
Thank llbloom
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

I am glad you chose to dine with us, and enjoyed our ambiance and authentic French bistro cuisine. Thank you for your gracious review, and yes, you are right, we do have a lively dinner atmosphere! Gratefully, Kelly Armstrong, Bar Boulud More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great experience. Usually celebrity chefs restaurants are overrated but this one has nothing to worry about! Fresh food, nice setting amazing wine list. The service was amazing!!!! Try the escargot!

Helpful?
Thank Alejandro R
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

Dear Alejandro, Thank you for sharing your terrific compliments and recommendations for your time here at Bar Boulud. I am delighted you enjoyed our traditional French Bistro cuisine, unique wine selections, and excellent service, and hope you will join us again soon. Gratefully, Kelly Armstrong, Bar Boulud More 

Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
888 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,314 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had reservations here for lunch and were looking forward to a delicious experience. We were disappointed ! We were early for our reservation, but seated by a friendly hostess in a booth. We ordered mineral water while we were still waiting for my niece to join us. When she arrived she quickly decided she wanted to go with the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Wenovo
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

While I thank you for your gracious compliments for your Pavlova dessert, I am very sorry to learn of your, mostly, disappointing dining experience here at Bar Boulud. The mishaps in service, as well as food preparation, that you describe are not acceptable, and I want to assure you, are not at all the norm. We intend for you to... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,260 reviews
599 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 614 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in NYC for a conference and met a friend for dinner here. The space was cool--sleek and modern. We were seated in a booth that provided a great venue for conversation while not feeling too isolated from the rest of the restaurant. I appreciated that the restaurant's lighting was stylish but still allowed you to see the menu,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank brmusicman
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us about the food and service you experienced here at Bar Boulud. I am very happy you enjoyed the breads, tarte flambee, and coq au vin, as well as your cocktail, but am sorry you were disappointed in the service you received, and wish we would have impressed you more. I’d like the... More 

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate at Bar Boulud before the opera and found it to be the perfect choice. The food is gorgeous (try the beet salad) and exquisitely cooked. I didn't know chicken could retain that much moisture. The server was very attentive and understanding of our being pressed for time. The unusual traffic made us a tad late. If lovely french... More 

Helpful?
Thank TamsAdventures
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

I am delighted you took such pleasure in the preparation and presentation of Chef Alexander’s traditional French bistro cuisine, and thank you for sharing your fabulous compliments for our cuisine and wine. We know that traffic delays are inevitable sometimes, so we were very glad to do our best to serve you a wonderful meal in time for you to... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pre-theater dinner with no reservation. Good ambience, good food except Frenchie Burger was a little too salty. Our waiter was trying to ignore us for whatever reason. We were waiting for a long time for him to come to take our order, finally we had to ask the host to speed up our order. He sent a very nice hostess... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

I am glad you chose to dine with us for your pre-theater dinner, and enjoyed your meal here. Your patience, and your kind words for the hostess that took your order, are greatly appreciated. However, I am sorry to learn of what must have been a very frustrating experience with your waiter, and apologize that you did not receive the... More 

Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
547 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We couldn't rate the place anything less than 5 stars due to the perfect food Bar Boulud serves. However, the service and the highly uncomfortable seating (unless you get a booth) were a disappointment. First is the seating. We were aware of its uncomfortable layout and specified the booth on our OpenTable reservation request. The request was duly noted and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RGSOUNDF
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

I am delighted you took such pleasure in your entire meal, and thank you for your marvelous compliments for Chef Alexander Burger’s cuisine, as well as for your high recommendation. However, I am sorry to learn of your disappointment in the service you received, and do appreciate your comments and suggestion. I look forward to welcoming you again, and please... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We were very disappointed in the quality and freshness of the food. The apitizers were OK, but the soup and salads were bland. The salmon was smelly and did not taste fresh. The chicken was tough and not flavorful. The beef was OK. Overall we were not very happy with the attention to the quality and taste of the food.

Helpful?
Thank worldtreker10
TheDinexGroup, General Manager at Bar Boulud, responded to this review

I am very concerned to read your comments, as what you describe does not at all reflect the norm here at Bar Boulud. Our focus is to serve the very highest quality, fresh, excellently prepared cuisine for your enjoyment, and I am very sorry it seems we let you down. Would you kindly offer me the opportunity to speak with... More 

Travellers who viewed Bar Boulud also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bar Boulud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$25 - US$100
Cuisine
French, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 10:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1900 Broadway, New York City, NY 10023-7004
    (64th Street)
  • Public Transportation: Columbus Circle and Lincoln Center subway stops are within blocks of the restaurant. Local Broadway bus lines stop directly in front of the restaurant.
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  New York City>  > Upper West Side
  • Neighbourhood: Upper West Side
  • Phone Number: +1 212-595-0303
Description
Bar Boulud is Chef Daniel Boulud’s casual wine bar and bistro located across from Manhattan’s Lincoln Center. A sumptuous array of house made charcuterie complements classic bistro cooking at both lunch and dinner. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner seven days and offers pre- and after-theater dining as well as a four-course weekend brunch for $32.00. Outdoor dining is available on the Broadway sidewalk terrace seasonally. We offer a 3-course prix-fixe at lunch for $29.00 and a $45.00 price fixe menu for dinner, as well as a la carte options. Three private wine themed dining rooms adjacent to the walk-through wine cellar are available for private events.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bar Boulud and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bar Boulud staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Upper West Side

Neighbourhood Profile
Upper West Side
Nestled between Central Park and the Hudson River, the Upper West Side offers iconic architecture and a quiet, residential respite from the buzzing energy of downtown. Along Central Park West are many of the city’s most iconic apartment buildings, as well as the American Museum of Natural History, which has been welcoming visitors to its historic exhibit halls for over 140 years. Culture fans will love Lincoln Center, home to some of the world’s best opera, dance, film, and theatre performances, all centrally located around a beautiful fountain. Spanning the entire length of the Upper West Side, Riverside Park is ideal for a long, leisurely stroll in a quiet green space.
Explore this neighbourhood