We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Monarch Public House

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
19 N Main St, Entrance on Hwy. 35 As Well, Fountain City, WI 54629-8703
+1 608-687-4231
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 21:00
Mon 17:00 - 22:00
Wed - Thu 17:00 - 22:00
Fri 12:00 - 22:00
Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 135: English reviews
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a small irish pub in a small town. Irish fare. we had fish and chips, which were very good. On Saturdays and sometimes on Thursdays they have an Irish band. Excellent! They also brew their own beer, which is above average. Just of W 35, and worth the stop if you are in the area!

Helpful?
Thank hugh s
Jefferson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were out just driving around for the weekend and stopped at this place because it had an outdoor seating area and it was a beautiful November day. We asked for our traditional beers and to our surprise were told they don't sell traditional beer...only their house brews. We told the gal what we drank and she gave us a... More 

Helpful?
Thank KWTW6
Sunman, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Jack was fantastic and gave us a tour of the grandness of the Monarch even before opening! We stopped back a few hours later and were further razzle-dazzled by "Netty" (Jeanette) who made sure that we were accommodated with the best of food (try the Irish Nachos) and the very best of brew (Fountain City). Thank you so much for... More 

Helpful?
Thank fullflaps2010
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Excellent big Irish pub in a small Town the Bangor's are to die for as is the champ the music was conducive to thoughts of home and leaving me with a very settled disposition maybe it was the dragon that did it great place and I will be back

Helpful?
Thank Annie C
LookinAllOver, General Manager at The Monarch Public House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind remarks. Leaving you with thoughts of home is our goal and we will look forward to seeing you again. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

I ordered the Fish and Chips, thinking it would be a safe choice in was was clearly a mediocre restaurant. Poor choice. Fish was so under cooked it was a soggy mess.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
LookinAllOver, General Manager at The Monarch Public House, responded to this review

Why didn't you say something during your visit so we could address this issue? It's certainly easier, for us at least, to make things right if you are unhappy at the time you are in the building. More 

Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2016

We were looking forward to dining here, however were VERY disappointed by the surly waitstaff. And the food was just OK. Won't be going back here-- that's for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
LookinAllOver, General Manager at The Monarch Public House, responded to this review

I don't know where to start here as your points are so far beyond our and other diner's experience. We'll just wish you well. More 

Mauston, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

We were staying in the Fountain City area and the Monarch Tavern was recommended to us has a good place to eat at. The owners are great people and make sure you are taken care of. The staff is excellent and very professional. I loved the beer choices and they have a great menu. I had the bangers and beef.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dayton H
LookinAllOver, General Manager at The Monarch Public House, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review and kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and very glad you enjoyed The Monarch! More 

SE Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016

We decided to drive out our way to try this place after reading about it on Tripadvisor. According to their website and their recorded phone message, they would open at 5:00 PM. We arrived at 5:10 to find them closed. Sat around until 5:30 when we asking a passing local about it. He said he had eaten there in years,... More 

Helpful?
Thank 427435
LookinAllOver, General Manager at The Monarch Public House, responded to this review

I apologize. We had a very unexpected family emergency and just could not schedule a replacement staff quickly enough to open at our regular time. Of course, you could have contacted us to express your disappointment and we would have been happy to find a way to make it up to you. Glad the Wing Dam met your needs, we... More 

Ellsworth, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2016

If you are traveling within this location,say ten or twenty miles,do yourself a favor and stop in. Food and atmosphere are great. The owner was our bartender, waiter and server. Great guy with all the history of this Irish themed establishment which is the longest continuosly operated tavern in Wisconsin. Most of the Irish menu featured rescipes from his own... More 

Helpful?
Thank Milkman097
LookinAllOver, General Manager at The Monarch Public House, responded to this review

And we are equally glad you stopped in! Thank you for these kind words and we hope you will stop and say Hello next time you are in the area. More 

Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016

I ride past this Pub almost every time I ride the alphabet roads in SW Wisconsin and always thought, because of its inviting garden patio, that I should stop in one of these days. Well...one of those day finally came and I stopped in with my wife. First thing you'll notice is the pleasant pub-like decor and great atmosphere. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe P
LookinAllOver, General Manager at The Monarch Public House, responded to this review

Glad you finally made it in and thank you for the kind words and nice review. Our grease-free approach to cooking isn't for everyone and I'm sorry you were disappointed in that area, we do or best. I did follow up with our cook staff about this and as always, we will do what we can to get better. More 

Travellers who viewed The Monarch Public House also viewed

 

Been to The Monarch Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$14
Cuisine
American, Irish, Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Full Bar, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Takeout, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 19 N Main St, Entrance on Hwy. 35 As Well, Fountain City, WI 54629-8703
  • Location: United States  >  Wisconsin (WI)  >  Fountain City
  • Phone Number: +1 608-687-4231
Description
Overlooking the Mississippi River, at the foot of Eagle Bluff, the tallest point on the river. Wisconsin's oldest operating tavern and original to 1894, also features The Absolute Rock Bottom Pub and is home to the 1860's recipes of The Fountain City Brewing Co.
15 Foot pressed tin ceilings, hardwood floors and hand carved back bar, tables, etc.
Soon to be listed on the National Historic Register.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Monarch Public House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?