We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Moby Dick

€€ - €€€, British,
Moby Dick Whalebone Lane North | Chadwell Heath, Romford RM6 6QU, England
+44 844 243 5385
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good26%
  • Average19%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Moby Dick Whalebone Lane North | Chadwell Heath, Romford RM6 6QU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 440 reviews

Reviewed today

There isn’t much you can say. Waited at the reception for 10 mins to be seated. Table not ready. Booked for 6 online (as they don’t ring you back when you leave a message to make a booking) they thought it was for 4. Service...More

Thank 449debbie
Reviewed 5 days ago

Not a very good welcome by one member of staff. Please do not be put off . Sue took us to our table and was our waitress she was very happy and helpful food was delicious turkey and pork cooked very well . The sweet...More

Thank pam w
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I had my Christmas meal there today and we had such a good time. The team was lovely always smiling and nothing was too much! Food was also delicious. Definitely a must :)

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for a quick family meal with my husband and little boy. Waited for starter -chicken wings over 45 min , vegetables was really cold and meat was very dry . We ordered drinks and they arrived late as well. The staff was friendly...More

Thank Steph S
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Steph, I am sorry to see that you haven't enjoyed your visit with us. Starters should definitely take less time to be prepared and for that I do apologise. The veg is freshly steamed through out the day and it should not be cold,...More

A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the restaurant today had amazing service from Kelly she was wonderful with our little boy he has ADHD she was so good with him and getting my food for me so that we could all eat at the same time food was lovely very...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello there! Thank you for this awesome feedback. I am pleased to see Kelly made you feel welcomed and you enjoyed your visit with us. I will definitely pass your feedback to your server :) we hope to see you soon again! Magda

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked in advance to avoid the rush and avoid waiting, they had a pretty good deal on their tasters so we got 3 portions of wings for a fiver! Server was friendly as always without jimmy I doubt we would go back! The main meal...More

1  Thank Jkrowling88
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the amazing review, you are without a doubt our fave Muggle! Carl

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on Sunday afternoon, having made a booking for 4.30. We have visited The Moby Dick several times previously and the food and service have always been good. On this occasion we had to queue for 40 minutes to be served. The queue was...More

Thank Nzmartin21
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Nzmartin, I am sorry to see you didn't enjoy your visit with us. Sunday is one of our busiest days and it is always full. Our booking system is set up correctly however we also accommodate guests that don't have a booking. Again I...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Seriously do not bother going to this place on a Sunday. Me and my partner have just been together with our 2 year old. Obviously only 1 of us can go up at a time to get food. My partner was queuing for 45 minutes...More

Thank Gemma19892016
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Gemma, I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit with us. We are a very popular restaurant on a Sunday and the queuing time might be longer than on any other day of the week. As you can go to the deck...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was cold by the time we walked to table....had to ASK for clean cutlery as ours still had dried food on......not worth it Def won't be going back....staff could do with a bit more customer service trainingMore

1  Thank Kim R
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Kim, I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your visit with us. Have you spoken to any of the staff about your food being cold? It is much easier for us to solve the problem if you inform one of our staff...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017

Arrived on a Sunday at 4.50pm as had a table booked for 5pm, queue was nearly out of the door. To be fair, we were seated promptly after finally reaching the desk but then had to squeeze into our seats as tables extremely close. Had...More

Thank Lyn H
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Hey there, Really sorry to hear this, please feel free to give us a call to discuss Carl

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Casa Italiana
49 reviews
1.27 km away
Panna's Restaurant
214 reviews
1.34 km away
Bhangra Beat
63 reviews
1.07 km away
The Tollgate - Sizzling Pubs
65 reviews
.93 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Eva Hart
14 reviews
1.38 km away
Moby Adventure Golf
229 reviews
.12 km away
The City Pavilion
70 reviews
1.34 km away
Piccadilly Theater
21 reviews
.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hayley W
16 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from jenniferghx | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is a vegan option why don't you look at the online menu I'm sure it's on there
1
Vote
ViviB206
23 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Carl M | Property representative |
Hello, We do have an enclosed garden which is safe for children to play but we do not have a play area or climbing frame. Hope this helps. Amy
1
Vote
Beryl G
23 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Carl M | Property representative |
Go through collier row staying on the B174, join the a12 turning right towards London and we are about mile up on the left. Proberly 3 mile in total.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Moby Dick Whalebone Lane North | Chadwell Heath, Romford RM6 6QU, England (Formerly Moby Dick)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Romford
  • Phone Number: +44 844 243 5385
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing