We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rabbits Pub

) #31 of 210 Restaurants in Romford €€ - €€€ , British,
Stapleford Road | Stapleford Tawney, Romford RM4 1RP, England
+44 1708 688203
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“rabbit” (5 reviews)
“sunday roast” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stapleford Road | Stapleford Tawney, Romford RM4 1RP, England
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my wife popped in for a weekday afternoon lunch. Lady behind the counter was very helpful with me being coeliac there was a few options to choose. And it was a very nice and tasty meal. It was a sunny day so sat...More

Thank Martin B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A-tentative staff Superb beer Food was top notch Mussels were delightful. House white is a bargain. Lovely location.

Thank Austringer1967
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this pub restaurant for an early meal on Saturday evening. It was busy in the bar. Our table was fine, the food very good. The service was patchy but friendly. Will visit again.

Thank fearthemac
Reviewed 1 week ago

We've dined here before and found food reasonably priced and very nice but yesterday I had the Sunday lunch for £14.95, the beef was horrible, joined together with fat and gristle, honestly I couldn't cut a piece off to eat, I don't know how any...More

Thank essexgirl18
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived as group of four having book on a recco from a mutual friend. Parking was easy, Location was very rural with a nice view, good start. Long wait at the bar for drinks did notr dampen our spirits as the pub was very...More

Thank Tony C
Reviewed 10 May 2017

A great traditional English pub with a good choice of beers and a good menu too We have been here a few times and not been disappointed The food has been of good standard and the service fairly quick too Nice lunches , freshly made...More

Thank Mark W
Reviewed 2 May 2017

This was a most disappointing experience having booked for a 70th Birthday celebration and it was me who recommended it following previous visits over the past year or so. We had a late sitting - 2.00pm on Sunday - 3 of us had the Sunday...More

Thank Jonathan V
Mark K, General Manager at The Rabbits Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hi Johnathan, Thank you for taking the time in writing this review. As you have stated you did call me on Sunday evening letting me know that your visit earlier in the day was a pleasent one apart from you had the beef roast and...More

Reviewed 1 May 2017

We have visited this pub a number of times both with larger groups and as a couple. It is important to book in advance at peak times and the car park can get quite congested. The food is of a good basic standard with a...More

Thank 2xCS
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner visited the rabbits last Friday with some friends for a catch up and something to eat, we have been meaning to try this place for a while I just wish we had sooner as we had such a lovely time. The...More

Thank jcookie77
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Friendly girl serving us. Wanted a country pub which it looks like when you walk in. I wanted a ploughmans. First it is served up on on a chopping board, I understand that they are trying to be a bit hipster...but its a country pub!!...More

Thank WendysLondon
Mark K, General Manager at The Rabbits Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time in giving us feedback, we take all feedback on board. I apologise that you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us. The Ploughmans you had is one of our most popular dishes with customers enjoying the fact they can...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Miller and Carter
320 reviews
3.23 km away
Alma Arms
199 reviews
3.79 km away
The Blue Rooms Cafe
161 reviews
1.92 km away
The Woodman
202 reviews
4.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Topgolf Chigwell
514 reviews
5.10 km away
Quality and Excellence
8 reviews
5.33 km away
Kelvedon Hatch Secret Nuclear Bunker
542 reviews
6.59 km away
Raphael Park
147 reviews
6.75 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Helen R
Who was landlord in 1986
19 February 2016|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from candyrio27 | Reviewed this property |
I don't know their names. They were an older couple who had a German Shepherd Dog. They were lovely people.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stapleford Road | Stapleford Tawney, Romford RM4 1RP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Romford
  • Phone Number: +44 1708 688203
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional Country Destination Pub with a Contemporary Feel. We re opened after an extensive refurbishment at the end of June 2014, and now offer a superb choice of Traditional Pub food with a Modern Twist. We are becoming famous for the quality of our Fish and Sunday Lunch is always busy so book early.
We can cater for private parties in our light and airy conservatory and our excellent Xmas Menu is now available however there are very few spaces left for Xmas Day. Please contact us to discuss your requirements.

We also pride ourselves on our superb choice of Cask Ales and our Great Choice of Quality Wines.

Please be advised that any Customer Feedback prior to June 2014 does not relate in any way to the way Rabbits now runs under entirely New Management.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing