We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Winding Wheel

) #59 of 79 Restaurants in Castleford €€ - €€€ , British,
Sterling Industrial Park Carr Wood Road, Castleford WF10 4PS, England
+44 1977 603535
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good19%
  • Average17%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible28%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (4 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sterling Industrial Park Carr Wood Road, Castleford WF10 4PS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had booked, but for 5 pm on a Friday, I needn't have bothered as it was not as busy as Google had said it would be. Service was fine, the food was fine and the price was fine. nothing outstanding but nothing to complain...More

Thank Michael B
General Manager A, Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Michael thank you for the positive review I will pass on your comments to the team. please do choose to dine with us again in the near future regards Danny khan Duty Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here at 12 on a Saturday, quickly seated and drink order taken whilst we looked at menus. Server came over and introduced herself as jean, she was so cheerful and seemed to love her job, she took out order and explained where the salad...More

Thank Alison H
General Manager A, Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Alison, Thank you for your in-depth and fantastic review! I will pass on your comments to Jean and the team who will be pleased with a job well done! I hope you choose to dine with us again in the future Many regards Mark...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly the renovation looks great but we called for a meal on Sunday we had a 20 min wait but that was fine so we ordered drinks my friends had larger and a coke and shandy I ordered a vodka diet coke to be told...More

Thank Veronica K
General Manager A, Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Veronica, I am sorry to hear of your poor visit. Please find email correspondence as response to your direct feedback. Many regards Mark Redshaw Assistant Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Can't believe there is no gluten free bread or rolls even in the free salad buffet. Then we get ripped off by being asked if we want skinny or large fries. This is very ambiguous. To me, it means skinny or 'normal' (or large fries)....More

Thank Bluexandee
General Manager A, Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Bluexandee, Thank you for your review. Please find a reply to your feedback on your email account. Many regards Mark Redshaw Assistant Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let's look at the positive points. Good service at the bar, and drinks were okay. A nice salad. Good service at our table. Decent chips and mushy peas to accompany our fish. The negative point. The fish (cod) was disgusting. Whilst the batter was fine,...More

Thank MartynWCreswell
General Manager A, Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Martynwcreswell, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I have passed on your information about the poor quality Fish to our suppliers and...More

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

...and a pleasant lunch experience, marred by two small details. The change over from breakfast to lunch is suposed to be at 11.30am so if I arrive, as I did, at 11.45am, I expect the transition to have taken place. By 11.50 am there were...More

Thank Barratty14
General Manager A, Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi Barratty14, Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise that your visit to us was not completely to your satisfaction. I will pass on your comments to the team in order for us to improve in the future. We do aim to...More

Reviewed 29 June 2017

It's a while since we've eaten here and there have been a welcome change of decor in the meantime. We went for the early-bird lunch menu and found it, as usual, good value for money. Service was slightly slower than I would have liked but...More

Thank imacbeth
General Manager A, Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Imacbeth, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Here at The Winding Wheel, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like to have you contact...More

Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

The place would have got a 4 out of 5 but for 2 things: 1) No kicking garlic - please start doing this again! 2) Toilets were a disgrace Refurbished place. Good service nice food. Great salad bar - well stocked also plenty of white...More

Thank Peter Y
General Manager A, Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Hi Peter Y, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to make this up to you. Please contact our...More

Reviewed 16 June 2017

Welcomed at the door and shown to a table with a wobbly top,asked to be moved to a stable table, put onto a new table and waited 15 minutes with no contact from any one so walked out. Will never return this is not the...More

Thank Alan R
General Manager A, Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Alan R, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to find out how we can better assist you in the future. If you are willing, please contact us 01977603535. regards Chris Hanson...More

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We visited last night. With my granddaughter. Food was outstanding. Great value for money. Salad bar was the best i have had. Food arrived quickly and portions large and so tasty. The service was fantastic. From the lovely Eva. I think it may have changed...More

Thank glammax2
General Manager A, Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Glammax2, thank you for the high star rating! Glammax2, thank you for the high star rating! I have passed on your comments to the team who were all happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, especially Eva. Should you need us to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Burgers and Cocktails by Giraffe
299 reviews
.33 km away
Ask Italian - Castleford
266 reviews
.33 km away
TGI Fridays
466 reviews
.33 km away
The Singing Chocker
438 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Snozone
855 reviews
.38 km away
Pontefract Races
217 reviews
1.55 km away
Junction 32 Outlet Shopping Village
387 reviews
.38 km away
Gala Bingo Castleford
8 reviews
.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brian M
20 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Ruth T | Reviewed this property |
I dont work there so have no clue why this has come to me!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sterling Industrial Park Carr Wood Road, Castleford WF10 4PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Castleford
  • Phone Number: +44 1977 603535
Description
At The Winding Wheel Harvester in Castleford food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Castleford, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Glasshoughton, Ferry Fryston and Whitwood, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing