We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Millstone at Mellor

) #9 of 197 Restaurants in Blackburn €€ - €€€ , British,
Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
+44 1254 813333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

A group of 9 met for a reunion. The service was exceptional, the meal delicious. All were catered for and at reasonable prices.

Thank janertc
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback regarding your meal with us.I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kind Regards, Tim Parker General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked for 5pm on a Sunday and requested a highchair. You would assume that this would indicate to the staff that we were bringing a small person with us. We were quickly shown to our table, but after that the service deteriorated. We waited...More

Thank HazelJ610
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your feedback. After investigating your comments, I must apologise for the issues you had regarding your service. It was a very busy afternoon, but this shouldn’t have affected you experience. I do hope that you will visit us again, and experience the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Pub has been recently refurbished and they have done a really good job. Very nice decor and lovely atmosphere. Waitress seemed a little ill informed about the difference between beer and lager and when I requested a glass of red wine she just said 'merlot...More

Thank Paynterman
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Our roast beef is such a popular dish so I am so pleased you enjoyed it. I will pass your comments regarding the presentation of the dish onto the kitchen team! I will also use...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

After asking for the name the booking was made under the girl proceeded to refer to us by surname only. We both had leek and potato soup, the soup was a tasteless dark green sludge accompanied by sliced bread which also has no taste and...More

2  Thank Patricia C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel. Great food and specialist bears. Wonderfull atmosphere and very local for all towns and cities in Lancashire. Flagship of Thwaites brewery. A must if in the area. Hotel fabulous too.

Thank Vivien S
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for leaving your Excellent review! I am so pleased to hear you enjoy the Millstone so much. I hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future! Kind Regards, Tim Parker. General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife went here on a works trip some 6 years ago and was always raving about it. So when we were passing through the area today she suggested we pop in for a meal. It was about 4.30 so not mega busy but there...More

Thank Barry M
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving such fantastic comments! I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your food with us. Miggi has been the Head Chef at the Millstone for many years, so I am sure he will of been the one who wowed your wife...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first visit since the refurbishment. We ordered drinks and a bottle of wine at the table, no problem with the drinks but the wine was opened and then put on the table for us to pour, not even asked if we wanted to try...More

1  Thank Gill17244
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your visit to the Millstone, I must first apologies for our standards slipping with the wine service. I will be sure to use this as a training tool with the front of house staff....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a very good meal at the Millstone with my partner last night. Neither of us had been here for a long time and we were impressed by how good the food was. We couldn't fault any of the food. We were surprised at...More

1  Thank Bitzerdog
Reviewed 17 June 2017

Having visited the Millstone on several occasions previously, we visited with friends last night on a busy Friday evening. New decor is nice, welcome warm and friendly, food superb (as previously) all in all a very enjoyable visit. Just slight minor error on billing which...More

Thank magicmagic1
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback regarding the food, and new decor. I will be sure to pass all your comment on to the team. I hope to welcome you back to the Millstone in the near future. Kind Regards,...More

Reviewed 8 June 2017

We should have known that they would struggle with a party of nine when we were asked to pre-order from the on-line menu before our arrival. As a result we could not indulge in the specials nor, unfortunately, could we change our mind for one...More

1  Thank Brian C
Millstone_Manager, General Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thank you for your comments. I am really glad you enjoyed your food! However it seems as though we have slip up on our usual high standards of service. I will be sure to use your comments as a training tool to use with my...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
KFC
6 reviews
.79 km away
Traders Arms
154 reviews
.92 km away
The Bay Horse
266 reviews
1.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stanley House Spa
58 reviews
.69 km away
Mrs Dowsons Farm
229 reviews
1.52 km away
Feilden's Arms
9 reviews
1.04 km away
Scare Kingdom Scream Park
12 reviews
1.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
James C
13 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from sandywalls | Reviewed this property |
booking is recommended.
0
Votes
Franjacko
8 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Malcolm H | Reviewed this property |
As my children are now adults I don't know if they have a children's menu sorry
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$78
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:30
Thursday
07:00 - 21:30
Friday
07:00 - 21:30
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackburn
  • Phone Number: +44 1254 813333
  • E-mail
Description
Situated in the picturesque Ribble Valley, Lancashire, the Millstone is an award winning restaurant and bar. Chef patron Anson Bolton has worked hard to create a menu inspired by the local produce around the inn. Anson's hard work has earned him 2 AA Rosettes which he has held for 10 years.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing