We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Publyk House

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
782 Harwood Hill Rd, Bennington, VT 05201-8810
+1 802-442-7500
Website
Today
17:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 16:00 - 20:00
Mon - Sat 17:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 383: English reviews
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My wife and I really enjoy the Publyk House. We discovered the restaurant during our trip to Manchester Center two years ago and stop by each time we are here. We have always been able to get a table on the porch overlooking the mountains. The food is wonderful, she enjoys the Shrimp Scampi and I usually have the steak... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rich M
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

A group of four somewhat picky eaters. We all found something to eat and each really liked it. Salad bar was great. Maple butter? YUM! Pets are allowed on the outside deck. Staff is great!

Helpful?
Thank weitzmansf
Monrovia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

The salad bar was absolutely amazing!! The maple butter with fresh bread was to die for!! live music, great service. no complaints!

Helpful?
1 Thank jennifersL1185TK
ThePublykHouse, Manager at The Publyk House, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful dinner with us! All of our guests love our salad bar, honey wheat bread and maple butter and all of the amazing food that we have to offer. Thanks for the terrific review and we hope you come join us again! More 

Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start by saying that I have eaten here on other occasions and I enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. But was very underwhelmed by the brunch. I had emailed them directly with questions regarding the brunch to determine if it was menu or buffet style. They responded telling me all the items that would be available on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank f1cathy
ThePublykHouse, Manager at The Publyk House, responded to this review

We are happy to know that you have dined with us before and have had great experiences with us. It's disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy our brunch as it is one of our most popular special offerings. We apologize that our communication was incomplete. We have found much success with removing breakfast items at 2:00 and replacing... More 

Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
134 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good food (and we loved the salad bar), courteous and pleasant server, generous drinks, "night out" atmosphere in the main dining rooms. But: our party of four arrived at 7:15 on a chilly Saturday night. There were numerous tables empty in the main dining areas but the hostess showed us to a table in the bar. One of our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
ThePublykHouse, Manager at The Publyk House, responded to this review

We are so very happy to know that you enjoyed your delicious food and drinks and had terrific service. However, it is disappointing to hear that your seating request was not accommodated. Our host staff is always courteous and will go out of their way to seat customers where they prefer to dine. We apologize for this oversight and assure... More 

Cambridge, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2017

It's been many years since my last visit to the beautiful barn overlooking Bennington. When we arrived, we were seated straight way as we had reservations. Ambience was pleasant with the exception of the setting sun (a bit like going to your eye doctor and starring into the bright light for 2 hours). We started with the bread (honey wheat)... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry M
ThePublykHouse, Manager at The Publyk House, responded to this review

We thank you for providing this important feedback. Our amazing views are one of the many reasons our customers enjoy our restaurant, both for the sweeping vistas and gorgeous sunsets. It's disappointing to hear that your experience was not fully satisfying. We invite you to come and dine with us again as our guests. We always go out of our... More 

North Adams, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2017

I went into this restaurant with some of my companions. We enjoyed the food very much, and I enjoyed a burger. The service was very good, and we overall thought it was a great restaurant. The music was also very good, and involved instruments like fiddle, and guitar, and bodhran.

Helpful?
Thank Alan D
ThePublykHouse, Manager at The Publyk House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a terrific review! Our customers love our food, excellent service, amazing views and overall fun vibe. We are thrilled to hear that your experience was wonderful and look forward to having you here again! More 

Glenville, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2017

On a whim - and because it was my birthday - we went to Vermont for the afternoon and stopped at the Publyk House at 5:15 for dinner. (They open at 5:00.) We had never been there before and did not make a reservation because we weren't sure when we'd get there. We told the hostess, "Two for dinner" and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Blueberrylovertoo
ThePublykHouse, Manager at The Publyk House, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear that you had a delicious meal and friendly service! However it is disappointing to hear that you felt our hostess was not welcoming. Our staff is always warm, accommodating and genuinely want all of our guests to have an amazing experience. Unfortunately this time we fell short and we apologize for that. We sincerely... More 

Bennington, VT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Consistently very good food, great menu and atmosphere with wonderful views to match. The new room has great views and has warm, inviting atmosphere for catered events. Servers are congenial and caring.

Helpful?
Thank VTBuddy
ThePublykHouse, Manager at The Publyk House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such an excellent review! We are so glad that you have joined the ranks of many who know we offer amazing food, terrific service and fantastic views! We do hope you can join us again for another terrific experience! More 

Level Contributor
150 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

My husband enjoyed his steak medallions, but I found my turkey dinner to be a huge let down. The turkey tasted.....strange. The service was good, however.

Helpful?
Thank Jessalayne
ThePublykHouse, Manager at The Publyk House, responded to this review

While we are very happy to hear that your husband's dinner and the service you received was terrific, we are disappointed that you felt let down with your turkey dinner. That is one of our most popular dinners and we are sincerely sorry that we felt short of our standards of perfection. We hope you decide to give us another... More 

Travellers who viewed The Publyk House also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to The Publyk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
16:00 - 20:00
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 782 Harwood Hill Rd, Bennington, VT 05201-8810
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Green Mountains  >  Bennington
  • Phone Number: +1 802-442-7500

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Publyk House and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Publyk House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?