We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dead Fish Grill

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2207 Lake Rd, Belton, TX 76513-5198
+1 254-939-5771
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 21:00
Tue 16:00 - 21:00
Wed 16:00 - 23:30
Thu 16:00 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 277: English reviews
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant is located in a beautiful place right by the dam at Belton lake. Over the years they have been improving their accommodations and I think they have found the perfect balance of allowing customers to enjoy the view while still keeping a comfortable air conditioning area for many of the tables. You also have the choice to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vivian H
DeadFishGrill, Manager at Dead Fish Grill, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback! We're glad you have enjoyed our improvements! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dead Fish is located on Belton Lake overlooking the water and dam. The view is stunning and the extensive patio seating helps everyone be close to a water view. The food is average with a couple exceptions, and the service ranges from great to poor. The management is helpful in organizing special events but the food to go is extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
DeadFishGrill, Manager at Dead Fish Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and suggestions on where we can improve. We will forward your comments to the appropriate managers. We appreciate your business! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would give it a 3.5. The view is nice and the live music is great, but the food is just average and a little pricey for the quality and serving size..

Helpful?
1 Thank sherryp249
DeadFishGrill, Manager at Dead Fish Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you enjoyed the music and the view! We will work on our food. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Highly suggested by friends to visit here. Loved it! We got seafood gumbo and fried catfish platter w/ hushpuppies, ff, slaw, veggies. Amazingly good and very cheap!! Three of us ate and had sweet tea for only $25 with tip!!! Beautiful view of Lake Belton and nice outside sitting.

Helpful?
Thank Joy B
DeadFishGrill, Manager at Dead Fish Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad to hear you had such a great experience! More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I visited Dead Fish Grill in Belton, Tx for the first time this evening. I ordered blackened shrimp tacos. They were tender and tasty! The slaw inside the tacos was crunchy and the lime dressing adds a real zing! We received good service. The food arrived in a timely manner. My only complaint is the music was... More 

Helpful?
Thank BDCornell
DeadFishGrill, Manager at Dead Fish Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your tacos! We'll working finding an appropriate level for the music. More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The website and online menu were inviting, and I really expected a much better dining experience. However, I should have known that fine dining was not on the menu, when I saw the generous parking spaces adjacent to the front door, all reserved for motorcycles. The very loud whangy-dangy music was another giveaway that, despite the high prices, this place... More 

Helpful?
Thank PopeyeSailorman
DeadFishGrill, Manager at Dead Fish Grill, responded to this review

We're sorry you didn't like our live music. We do not have live music every night, so a quieter evening could be on the menu. Thank you for your feedback, and you are welcome to give us another chance regardless of your attire. More 

Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The view from the outside deck is wonderful ...Went expecting to have the canon shot off with the bell ring at sunset --bummer they did it 7ish.and didn't repeat it at sundown ..food was tasty but pricey. The chairs are very uncomfortable.. The wait staff did a poor job of keeping tea and water glasses filled even when asked ...Plan... More 

Helpful?
Thank nursejudy2016
DeadFishGrill, Manager at Dead Fish Grill, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We're sorry your experience wasn't as great as the view. We'll work on getting our wait staff to keep a better eye on drinks. You should of seen the cannon go off at sundown. We're very sorry it wasn't set off again. We do appreciate your visit. More 

Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017

My son took us here while visiting, along with his wife and two young children. I was worried about not finding something I liked (I don't like fish) and that we were taking a four and eight year old to a nice restaurant. I shouldn't have worried at all. My filet was so tender I could almost cut it with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peggy T
DeadFishGrill, General Manager at Dead Fish Grill, responded to this review

Thanks so much for reviewing us! We're glad to hear you had a wonderful dinner at our restaurant. We really appreciate your granddaughter's help shooting the cannon to announce sunset! More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

We met friends for a drink and supper. The one redeeming quality of DFG is the view of Lake Belton. The food is way overpriced for the quality and the service on numerous visits has been subpar. It took forever to get our order and it came out cold. On top of that, we ordered catfish tacos and got shrimp... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
DeadFishGrill, General Manager at Dead Fish Grill, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed the view. We are sorry your visit was lacking in other areas. We will work on getting our service up to the same level as our view. More 

Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
261 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2017

I came here for lunch one day and liked it so much that I came back for dinner! Great service and really good food. The prices are reasonable for the food and drinks. The restaurant sits on the edge of the lake and there are large windows and outdoor seating with great views. Great place!!!

Helpful?
Thank ttot11
DeadFishGrill, General Manager at Dead Fish Grill, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your return business! We also really appreciate the review. It's great to hear from satisfied customers. More 

Travellers who viewed Dead Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Dead Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$19
Cuisine
American, Bar, Cajun & Creole, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 23:30
Thursday
16:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2207 Lake Rd, Belton, TX 76513-5198
  • Location: United States  >  Texas (TX)  >  Belton
  • Phone Number: +1 254-939-5771
Description
The only lake front restaurant in Central Texas. Come enjoy a margarita or cool iced tea while taking in the views of Belton Lake. Live Music and friendly staff with great food. Who could ask for more?

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dead Fish Grill and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Keller, Texas

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dead Fish Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?