We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Village Larder

) #5 of 18 Restaurants in Woodend €€ - €€€ Cafe, , Vegetarian Friendly
81 High St, Woodend, Victoria, Australia
+61 3 5427 3399
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good29%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“ciabatta” (12 reviews)
“pork” (11 reviews)
“falafel” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
81 High St, Woodend, Victoria, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Homemade food. Great coffee. We love heading here for breakfast after dropping the kids at school. Often grab a takeaway snack as well. It's all such good food.

1  Thank JoyBelle1999
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

We have been to the Village Larder on several occasions. I actually had coffee there the day before. It was a lovely sunny day, so chose to sit outside. Sadly, this resulted in very second rate service. The table was not cleared and in the...More

Thank suel949
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Good food and service was a last minuite idea to come a different style of menu with interesting tastes

1  Thank Steve R
Helen M, Owner at The Village Larder, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank You kindly Steve, glad to be of service.

Reviewed 29 April 2017

My day trip here ended with a delicious coffee, scone, jam & cream. I experienced friendly service. I was sitting outside & although the table has a sign that requires you to order & pay inside, the waitress helpfully took my order for an additional...More

3  Thank do0967
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Nothing special about this place, but on Easter Monday we did not have much choice. Disorganised and untidy, with average staff. I ordered soup which was OK but overpriced at $18. Their sign says "Licensed" but little choice

Thank croftonMelbourne
Reviewed 17 March 2017

I couldn't believe how bad this experience was. From cramped seating to terrible service and boring, stingy food. Our first waitress appeared to be off with the fairies, this was later confirmed when she forgot one of our orders and one of our party was...More

Thank Mithril_Mayhem
Helen M, Owner at The Village Larder, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

I sincerely regret that your experience was such. We often receive fantastic verbal feedback regarding the quality of our meals. We use high quality, local produce and we prefer to go for quality rather than quantity. As for the service, I can only say sincere...More

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Seated outside to enjoy the autumn sunshine I had an hour to kill before a business meeting. I ordered lunch and a beverage and was asked to pay immediately as "the staff had trouble keeping an eye on outside." (Why have tables outside if the...More

Thank Parp2013
Helen M, Owner at The Village Larder, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Interesting post. Our outdoor tables are signed to pay and order inside as is also our front counter. The reason being people can easily forget whether they have paid or not when enjoying the Autumn sunshine. We were equally stunned when you came inside and...More

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

A group of friends and I met here for a cup of coffee to discuss a potential community group we wanted to form. The staff were really great at letting us loiter even though we didn't spend big bucks. I thought that was incredibly kind...More

Thank DrBronsterMonster
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Went with friends for brunch. Children had been before and recommended the french toast. Went with their recommendation, sorry I did as 1 small slice of bread with a skinny bit of banana for $17 is crazy! (I didn't have the bacon $20) I left...More

1  Thank muinchkin
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Waited for 40 minutes for the worst over cooked bacon and eggs coupled with a terrible coffee. Avoid the poor service and the long waitsMore

Thank MoorooducVic
Helen M, Owner at The Village Larder, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

We hear you. Our 40 seat cafe was swamped with a couple of hundred people due to a concert so yes there was a long wait and most customers understood this. We were running with two brand new baristas due to unforseen illness and accidents...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Schatzi's
103 reviews
.05 km away
Paysanne
27 reviews
.06 km away
il Caffe
54 reviews
.28 km away
Colenso
70 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Woodend Children's Park
38 reviews
.27 km away
Holgate Brewhouse
93 reviews
.05 km away
Woodend Clock Tower
15 reviews
.21 km away
Australian Natural Treasures Touring
7 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Village Larder staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 81 High St, Woodend, Victoria, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Macedon Ranges  >  Woodend
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5427 3399
Description
Telephone + 61 3 5427 3399
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing