We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunkeld Old Bakery

97 Martin St | Corner Sterling Street, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
+61 3 5577 2663
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good42%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (27 reviews)
“bread” (24 reviews)
“pie” (15 reviews)
Open Now
09:00 - 15:00All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
97 Martin St | Corner Sterling Street, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

When we arrived today the Bakery was full to the brim. The staff were lovely and extremely apologetic for the delay in both ordering and receiving our food. We ended up being seated in a courtyard out the back which wasn't usually used but was...More

Thank KyleeB36
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great bread and amazing pies and good coffee Breakfast is very good and tasty The bakery is a old building that was used years ago as a bakery and is still being used as a wood fired oven for the bread which makes the bread...More

Thank larree2000
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the bakery because of an A frame sign in the main street, and so walked a couple of blocks into the back streets of Dunkeld to find it. It was a very quiet and cosy place to eat, and the staff were very...More

Thank Peter W
Belinda W, Owner at Dunkeld Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We’re so glad you found us! Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It really is lovely to hear about positive experiences.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Heard good things about the bakery but found the whole experience very disappointing not a very big selection and my tea was like dishwater the coffee my daughter had not as requested and the the girl serving was miserable. Maybe it was a off day...More

Thank Fiona-marie2013
Belinda W, Owner at Dunkeld Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Fiona-Marie So terribly sorry to hear this was your experience! We’d love to make it up to you - if you’re passing through again ask to speak to Geoff or Belinda 😊

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped by for a quick breakfast and the food and service is great. Love the Orange and Poppy seed Cake so much we regretted not buying more for the road

1  Thank Marichelle Liva... L
Belinda W, Owner at Dunkeld Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

That’s so nice to hear! Thanks for taking the time to provide a review.

Reviewed 9 October 2017

We had one night here during our recent trip, but could easily have stayed for longer. Room was large and accommodating, and the blackout blinds were appreciated. We had a lovely breakfast in the adjoining cafe the next day and even stocked up on pies...More

Thank DavidJC86
Belinda W, Owner at Dunkeld Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

What a lovely thing to say. Thanks so much for staying with us David.

Reviewed 6 September 2017

I came here for a cake and a chai latte. The carrot cake was served nicely on a plate and was lush. They were also happy to put one half of the cake in a bag to take away. The portions are big! If you...More

Thank Claire B
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

This fabulous historical accomodation provides you with character, comfort, and history, something most accomodations don't. A lovely sitting room with coffee, tea is provided to guests. Their historical bakery next door have the best homemade bread, pies, cakes, and delicious breakfasts. Who wouldn't want freshly...More

Thank Linda F
Belinda W, Owner at Dunkeld Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you so much! So kind - we're really glad to have met you. Your group brought warmth and liveliness to the cafe on Sunday morning!

Reviewed 9 August 2017

My Wife and I stayed two nights at this Quaint Old Bakery House, under new owners now Belinda and her Husband went out of their way to make our stay a really enjoyable experience. It was warm, very comfortable, and Quite.We felt it was good...More

Thank Annette C
Belinda W, Owner at Dunkeld Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

So lovely to have me you both and we're really glad you enjoyed your stay 😊

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We were recommended to come here when driving through. We had lamb pie for breakfast and then lamb pie for lunch, oh and one of the best vanilla slices I've ever had. The coffee fresh and strong. A must when driving through do yourself a...More

1  Thank Chillimudcrab
Belinda W, Owner at Dunkeld Old Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Many thanks for the feedback! We have only taken over as new owners of the Dunkeld Old Bakery at the start of July. The first thing we did was introduce our Lamb pie, it seemed a little remiss to live in some of the best...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dunkeld Delights
84 reviews
.62 km away
Royal Mail Dining Room
442 reviews
.32 km away
Cafe 109
106 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Picaninny (Bainggug)
24 reviews
3.54 km away
Mt Sturgeon
21 reviews
2.83 km away
Dunkeld Arboretum
27 reviews
1.04 km away
Mount Abrupt
12 reviews
6.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Dunkeld Old Bakery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$11
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 15:00
Thursday
09:00 - 15:00
Friday
09:00 - 15:00
Saturday
09:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 97 Martin St | Corner Sterling Street, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Grampians  >  Dunkeld
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5577 2663
  • E-mail
Description
We invite you to visit Dunkeld Old Bakery and Cafe to experience our breakfast and lunch menu prepared for you from fresh local produce. Our specialities: Artisan, handmade sourdough bread baked daily. Gluten free bread available on menu and in the shop. House made pies, quiches and sausage rolls. Good selection of freshly baked cakes including few varieties of gluten free cakes. Locally roasted ROX coffee and selection of Simply Teatime tea blends. Our tearoom has an exhibition of paintings by a local artist, James Montgomery to admire (or purchase) over lunch.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing