We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Grande Bouffe - CLOSED

758 Darling St, Rozelle, Sydney, New South Wales 2039, Australia
+61 2 9818 4333
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good39%
  • Average12%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
31 Oct 2016
“Great food ”
30 Oct 2016
“French (actual, rather than imitation), have visited before, will do so again.”
Restaurant Hours Closed
758 Darling St, Rozelle, Sydney, New South Wales 2039, Australia
All Details
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

This place is quite good if you love French Food. The place looked great, the waiters were very friendly( they are French by the way). Food was really nice, the dish I got( the fish of the day) was cooked really well tasted delicious and...More

Thank Charbel L
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This is a report for two meals - one lunch (2 people) and the following morning's breakfast (8 people). First, the coffee - it is worth a visit by itself, but why not partake of the simple food while there? The menu is adequate but...More

Thank John B
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

This place was one of our favourites for a while. Not sure what happened but, food was very average, baguette was defrosted, wine list had most of it crossed out, then the wine we wanted was still not available. And on top of that, both...More

Thank Cr C
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Live locally been there a few time this was just so bad. Dirty menu ask for wine list told on other side of dirty menu half the selections were blanked out ( not many to start with) the one I chose was not available should...More

1  Thank Hamish34
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Used to be my favourite place to dine for special events. Last time I ate here it was a nightmare. Calves Liver and vegetables etc. over cooked three times. Service - very slow and uninterested.

Thank Lorraine M
vvincent33, Manager at La Grande Bouffe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Bonjour, Unfortunately we don't have claves liver on the menu.... That must be a mistake from you Have a nice day

Reviewed 22 August 2016

Was told about this Little Gem by an industry friend. Booked 7 days out, arrived on time and well the service, wine list and above all the food rated so highly with us we were gob smacked. This Hole in the Wall produces some of...More

Thank bretthiltonjones
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We came here for brunch on Bastille Day when you'd think they would be well-stocked up for customers. Apparently not - no croissants and they were out of other menu items. The service was very slow and unfriendly. We asked for a share dish to...More

Thank Claremont77
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Where to start... Tuesday waiter who was on two separate occasions over 3 weeks: rude, dismissive, critical, lacked attention, aggrogant, insulting .. maybe go another night when he is not there. Any other waiter would have to be better. Food used to be lovely, now...More

Thank RuthHunt
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This is an old favorite &I love the food &ambience.I have always done the degustation & matching wines & was very disappointed that this was no longer an option. However 3 courses for $60 was such a good deal. 2people had the cassoulet .We went...More

1  Thank Taveaholic
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

La Grande Bouffe had been a local favourite but suffered in recent years with changes in chef and inconsistency of standards. The current chef has been there about 4 months and has revamped the menu with a touch of imagination and a traditional French selection....More

Thank Mal H
Nearby HotelsSee all Rozelle Hotels
Balmain Lodge
7 reviews
1.30 km away
Lodge Annandale
5 reviews
1.90 km away
Best Western Haven Glebe
92 reviews
2.09 km away
Rooftop Travellers Lodge
46 reviews
2.36 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Nithik's Kitchen
160 reviews
.25 km away
Bellingen Gelato
47 reviews
.24 km away
3 Weeds Restaurant
144 reviews
.28 km away
24 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Callan Park
29 reviews
.48 km away
Elkington Park
35 reviews
1.28 km away
Belle Fleur Fine Chocolates
20 reviews
.38 km away
Birkenhead Point Brand Outlet
326 reviews
1.20 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$45 - US$45
Open Hours
07:30 - 15:30
07:30 - 15:30
07:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
07:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
07:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
07:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
07:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 758 Darling St, Rozelle, Sydney, New South Wales 2039, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Sydney  >  Rozelle
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9818 4333
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing