We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zimzala

7 The Esplanade, Cronulla, New South Wales 2230, Australia
+61 2 9527 2011
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“seafood rice” (13 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (8 reviews)
“oysters” (10 reviews)
Closes in 4 min
Hours
CUISINES
Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 The Esplanade, Cronulla, New South Wales 2230, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for breakfast at Zimzala last Friday morning. It was a beautiful winters day and we got seated in prime position right opposite the water. I can’t think of a time in recent memory that I have enjoyed breakfast more... the water was sparkling...More

Thank kathmac72
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Situated beautifully right near the beach, eating here means you will be surrounded with blue skies and water, unless it’s storming. We had no booking for 2 but they were able to squeeze us in on a lazy Sunday afternoon. The place was pretty full....More

Thank DirtyDewang
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I visited on a Friday morning for breakfast. We had booked and as we had a dog each we were seated outside. It was lovely and warm and the view was stunning. Our dogs were very spoilt as the waitress brought them...More

Thank jaynic
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cronulla Zimzala shock me with their bad service, very rude! The full story is like this. I took my whole family come to Sydney for school summer vacation from Chicago. I used TripAdvisor find Zimzala with a nice sea-front view, since I have a just...More

3  Thank danx585
ZimzalaCronulla, Owner at Zimzala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You were seated and served immediately, your sparkling water was served promptly, our waitress explained the $42 special 2 courses was per person, you cannot share this special. It clearly states this on...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely restaurant overlooking Cronulla beach Beautiful food friendly staff and BYO Have specials all the time very good value

Thank Lesley L
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Wonderful food, excellent service and an amazing location. Happily go back again for a special occasion.

Thank M D
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

A good location for a relaxed catch up lunch. We were greeted promptly by staff and shown our table. Great views of the beach. We opted for three courses and were not disappointed each course was delicious and timed perfectly. Staff were attentive without being...More

Thank Travelned
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Attended a private function at this place last night for a mates function. Two of the staff members were the rudest i have come across. A male waiter refused to serve me a another drink whilst i had a mouth full of beer in the...More

1  Thank Steve C
ZimzalaCronulla, Owner at Zimzala, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Steve, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have spoken to the organiser of last weekends event and they were very happy with our services, this is the second time the family has hired Zimzala for a private function. Please...More

Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic lunch here today, we got the lunch special 2 courses for $42 and the food was delicious and we were both so full. All washed down with a few glasses of Prosecco and a coffee. Fantastic service from our waitress Vanessa, thank...More

Thank NewYorkCityaddict
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Wow! Wow! Wow! What a view. Sitting on the edge of the beach at Cronulla and people watching as a parade of humanity (and plenty of dogs) walk past is a wonderful way to spend your afternoon. Unfortunately, the dining experience fails to live up...More

Thank GeckoTravel
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Cronulla Hotels
Rydges Cronulla Beachside
111 reviews
.53 km away
Cronulla Motor Inn
84 reviews
1.03 km away
Metro Hotel Miranda
453 reviews
5.28 km away
CTA Business Club
5 reviews
8.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
South East Asian Tapas
85 reviews
.20 km away
Yalla Sawa
70 reviews
.28 km away
Pilgrims Cronulla
95 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cronulla Beach Walk
386 reviews
.48 km away
North Cronulla Beach
37 reviews
.59 km away
Cronulla & National Park Ferry Cruises
202 reviews
.39 km away
The Oriental Thai Massage
5 reviews
.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
danx585
Answer the owner's response: Either you are the such liar or your staffs are! Ask your waitress and manager, how many times did I explained the 1st order was only for the 3 yrs old to start to eat quickly. And, very 1st time, right after I order, I told the waitress, need more time for my wife and mom to make their mind for what to order. But the waitress immediately took away all other people's knives and forks. I wait she back, explained to her again, and clearly told her we will order at least two more full meals. And, we get manager, I explained again, but she said, "You order more, they will bring the knives and forks back to you". That's the true things, right? 2nd, After I stand up the part of the dish is on the table, I explained I do not need that, since you guys ruined everything. But your manager told me I need to pay for it. I did not argue, and paid the amount. IS that the truth? 3rd, On your menu, that only say $42 per person. Not say anything, "not sharing". I saved that file, but if you need to double ck, go to ur own web, you may see it CLEARLY!! 4th, That's not a buffet, $42 for a size of food. I pay for it, I should able to decide how to eat and sharing. Even you write CLEARLY no to share, that's not right!! And, you did not write that way for any words NOT to share. And, Yes, I was willing to order two more full meals, and explained to ur staffs at least 4times, but you should not have the rights to decided how do I eat or share my food. 5th, I read some other people's review about ZIMZALA, as long as someone talk something "BAD", you sounds not likely to solve or improve your place, you start a ugly "Fighting Face". I do not know where have you learned this way to deal difference! Rude place, rude staffs, rude owner now!! +++ Liars!
21 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Alan F | Reviewed this property |
Not sure what the question is!! I did NOT send this review. However, the review is somewhat representative of my experience at the same restaurant
0
Votes
helenekearney
23 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Nada C | Reviewed this property |
Yes, it is.
0
Votes
Dianne L
26 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from ArkBright | Reviewed this property |
I dont think so. Have been many times. Usually ok to good. I have seen same chef several times
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$26
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
06:00 - 22:30
Monday
06:00 - 16:30
Tuesday
06:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
06:00 - 22:30
Thursday
06:00 - 22:30
Friday
06:00 - 22:30
Saturday
06:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 The Esplanade, Cronulla, New South Wales 2230, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Sydney  >  Sutherland Shire  >  Cronulla
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9527 2011
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing