We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Y Sgwar

€€ - €€€European, British,
12-16 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
+44 1766 515451
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good14%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (32 reviews)
“lamb” (31 reviews)
“pudding” (24 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
European, British, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
€€ - €€€
12-16 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Recommended by nearby hotel. Enjoyed one of the best meals l have ever eaten.The starters and main courses (lamb shank) were cooked to perfection. The whole experience, food, ambience and service were second to none. Highly recommended.

1  Thank denise977
Reviewed 1 week ago

Got the advice to go there by the owner of our hotel. We didn't expect such a fine dining cuisine in this little village. Everything was perfect: service, atmosphere, food and drink menu, quality / taste / look of the dishes,... We had a great...More

Thank Isabelja
Reviewed 1 week ago

Highly recommend this lovely restaurant, super friendly and efficient service.We chose from a 3 course set menu which was delicious and plentyful. Thank you to the chef and all the team.

Thank Nancy L
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for placing this great review. We are delighted that you rate us so highly and you are very welcome! We hope to see you again soon, with regards Lorraine

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my family of three boys visited for the early evening menu, we were so pleasantly surprised by this lovely little cosy restaurant. We had climbed Cadir Idris with my three boys so we were very hungry. I eat out a great deal and...More

Thank FoodHK
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are thrilled that you all enjoyed your evening with us. A high accolade for us when written by someone that understands and appreciates the industry that we are in. Keep on dreaming about our delicious food...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in again for lunch but this time had the Express Menu lunch deal which consists of a main course and a drink for £10 per head. We had the Lasagne and the Garlic Mushroom Pancake as the two mains and a Glass of wine...More

Thank Niggybig
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Our Express menu has been a great hit ever since we launched it last year! So glad that you enjoyed it again. Thank you for placing this great review with kind regards Lorraine

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am from London and I didn't know the timing for dinner in Wales. I came for a dinner a bit late after checking so many other places around this lady(the owner) accepted us for a dinner. First of all, I just wanted a nice...More

Thank Živilė B
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much indeed for such high praise. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations. We do hope that you are able to visit us again with kind regards Lorraine

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Welcoming, delicious food, sumptuous wine and great service ! Book ahead though as it's really popular.

Thank RIncutti67
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your short and sweet review! We love it! with kind regards Lorraine

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place came recommended and I wasn't disappointed. The décor was excellent, lovely and clean, the staff were wonderful, the atmosphere very nice. Most importantly the food was from Heaven, all beautifully cooked and presented. I can't recommend this place highly enough, and would certainly...More

Thank KevinSadler2364
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow! A six! How very kind of you. I cant tell you how much your kind words mean to us after such a busy season. It gives the whole team a boost. Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back soon....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Y Sgwar today for lunch, as soon as we're arrived we felt welcome and we were seated in our regular seat in the window, even though we only visit the restaurant when we come down from Manchester we were made to feel like regulars....More

Thank Lindsey H
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It was lovely to see you again and thank you for always coming back! So glad that you enjoyed your lunch and we look forward to seeing you again over the festive period. With best regards Lorraine

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Fiancee had the the spinach and mushroom pancakes on the early birds menu followed by a lemon tart and I had the vegetable wellington followed by a raspberry and chocolate cheesecake. The food was full of flavour and the portion sizes were just right...More

Thank tomki7
friendly0ne, Owner at Y Sgwar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and for highlighting our vegetarian dishes. We offer plenty of chooses for vegetarian diners and also for vegans, in fact these dishes are enjoyed by all! We hope that you can visit again...More

Nearby Restaurants
Breaktimes Cafe
479 reviews
1.14 km away
Chippy Dre
175 reviews
.02 km away
The Golden Fleece
303 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Madog Quads
325 reviews
.56 km away
Welsh Highland Heritage Railway
196 reviews
1.13 km away
Purple Moose Brewery
90 reviews
1.46 km away
Kerfoots of Porthmadog
36 reviews
1.38 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
7 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from friendly0ne | Property representative |
We have a small step up on entrance. Wheelchairs can move easily inside the restaurant and we have space to store them out the way if need be. Wheelchairs do not fit into the toilets despite toilets being fairly spacious. I... More
27 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from friendly0ne | Property representative |
We don't I'm afraid. Both our neighbours have covered outside areas if that's any help. The Golden Fleece and The Union Inn.
Optional F
I was wondering why you didn't treat your cousin to their anniversary dinner if they were having financial difficulties? Also, I would be very embarrassed if you 'outed' me as having financial problems, just to get sympathy for your dining experience. Their financial status is nothing to do with your review. It was a bit unfair to criticize the restaurant for things you didn't give them a chance to fix.When a restaurant is busy - like on Easter weekend, it's chaotic in the kitchen and things will go wrong even though the restaurant normally has higher standards - that's just the nature of any business. You said that the host told you they don't open till 6pm, but you didn't say you had to wait - so this comment is just a report on a conversation - it seems that you're looking for any negative ammunition you can find. I wonder if you're having a difficult time yourself at this point of your life or if you're always so unforgiving. I would think that your attitude would have ruined my anniversary dinner if i was your cousin - instead you could have been a little less rigid and a bit more fun. I am planning to visit this restaurant, so I am taking your review with a grain of salt - with over 350 excellent reviews, your experience isn't indicative of what this restaurant usually delivers.
7 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from DebbieRose0404 | Reviewed this property |
I repeat, please delete your comments. They do not relate to any review that I have put in and are offensive
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12-16 Market Square, Tremadog, Porthmadog LL49 9RB, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Gwynedd  >  Porthmadog  >  Tremadog
  • Phone Number: +44 1766 515451
  • E-mail
Open seven nights a weeks offering Early Bird menu, excellent value at £20 for three courses. Children are welcome and children's menu is available Fantastic Traditional Sunday Roast every Sunday with a choice of Roast Beef and Roast Lamb. Fish and vegetarian options also. 1 Course £12.50 2 Courses x £16.50 And 3 courses £21.00 Lunches served on Wednesday through to Sunday, snacks and meals offered. Dietary request are no problem to us!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing