We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Welsh, Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (939)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveller rating
503
240
90
55
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
503
240
90
55
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice cream sundae scones overlooking the sea great coffee well worth a visit views cadwalladers vanilla castle cornet bay holiday queue dogs seaside
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great ice cream on a beautiful late summers day ,banana flavour in a waffle cone ! Amazing .slightly steep climb to the shop from the beach front but worth the walk !

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Delicious ice cream so far we have tried the banana ripple and rum &rasin. Both very tasty. There are several flavours to choose from.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lots of choice of ice cream and cones but quite expensive. Very handy for the beach in Criccieth. Very popular.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A visit to Cadwaladers has always been a must when in Criccieth. However we won't be visiting again. I was so disappointed at the quality of the ice cream now being served. The vanilla ice cream had very little taste and was full of lumps...of ice. A far cry from the rich creamy flavour I have always enjoyed in the past. I can only assume that the recipe has been changed to reduce costs. We paid £13.90 for 2 sundaes so any cost savings have certainly not been passed on! We had a table with a nice sea view and the staff were friendly as always hence my 2 star rating!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello :) Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate feedback, good or bad, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our Ice Cream, our famous vanilla recipe has not changed and would like to look into this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were recommended to go to Cadwaladers for an ice cream while in Criccieth. We did so after visiting the castle. Good call! The ice cream was delicious and we also bought salad boxes, crisps and drinks for a lovely picnic later in the day.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice staff - they are always helpful and very friendly. The view across the bay is lovely - especially in the morning.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were recommended to eat ice cream while in Criccieth, we went to Cadwaladers. Honestly, we split the ice cream was not as good as advertised, the wife is a gourmand for ice cream and since she said that it was not good, I have...no reason not to believe her, I didn't like it either. But it's a matter of taste.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello :) Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate feedback, good or bad, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our ice cream on this visit, we do hope to see you again in the future, even...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great choice of ice cream, in sundaes, waffles and just normal cones to take away. Coffee was really good and a regular was a very generous. Crunchie waffles were great , cherry amaretto sundae was delicious. We really liked it.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sundaes and coffee on your visit. we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

Was really disappointed the pictures looked amazing ,but tasted rubbish with the spray whipped cream and pre bought cheap waffles , I thought a place like this would have made there own fresh waffles to order especially at £7.50.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello :) Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate feedback, good or bad, we are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't to the high standards we expect as a company. Please, could you email feedback@cadwaladers.com with more details including...More

Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

Gorgeous ice-creams worth queuing for. We had the Salted Caramel and Bubblegum. Different Cones, etc available including tubs.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Catherine T, Owner at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello :) Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Cath Cadwaladers Online Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Moelwyn
134 reviews
.15 km away
Caerwylan Hotel
736 reviews
.25 km away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
412 reviews
.33 km away
SeaBanks B&B
52 reviews
.45 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
No. 46 Coffee Shop
314 reviews
.30 km away
Tonnau Restaurant
195 reviews
.26 km away
Poachers Restaurant
689 reviews
.28 km away
Tir a Mor
467 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Criccieth Beach
366 reviews
.25 km away
Criccieth Castle
793 reviews
.04 km away
Criccieth Lifeboat Station
74 reviews
.09 km away
Castle Gallery
36 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
dan4159
27 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Y7449ZUtimb | Reviewed this property |
Lovely ice cream I assure you and more well worth a try you won't regret it
1
Vote
dan4159
27 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from malcolmcrosshills | Reviewed this property |
lovely ice cream you will not be disapointed
2
Votes
wilfStaffordshire
29 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Cadwaladers | Property representative |
We are very sorry to hear this. We would have liked to have looked into the issue for you to see if there was a problem with the batch that you purchased. Please let me know if you would like to follow this up with us any... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cadwaladers

Yes, Cadwaladers offers takeaway services.

Cadwaladers is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5