We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oblo

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
18-20 Harbour Road, Eyemouth TD14 5HU, Scotland
+44 1890 752527
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 411: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

5 of us went in as a family for lunch on Easter Monday and the bistro is pleasantly decorated and has a nice atmosphere. We sat down and a number of waiting staff passed us by and I started to get up and go to the bar for menus before a member of staff came to us and asked if... More 

Helpful?
Thank bigfela27
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Im a local come to oblo alot came the other day with my friends had nachos and chips like always chips was lovely and the nachos was horrible ate 2 everytime was horrible taste i started smelling tomatoes and they were stinking my friend had the same said hers didnt taste nice normally they are beautiful i told 2 members... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tekisha K
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

I'm not sure what has gone so wrong on this occasion given your review below, received a couple of days earlier: "When we went in was very busy needed a highchair there was none left so Aidan the lad that works there went and got one from downstairs food was really quick and we also moved onto porch/outside area they... More 

Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Eyemouth is principally a working, fishing town. Tourists certainly come and stay but the tone of the town is unchanged. Situated above a Fish and Chip shop Oblo's is a pleasant surprise. It has a thoughtful decorative appeal, is pleasantly lit and has an air of character in the way that the walls break up the bar and restaurant areas.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for an extremely descriptive and helpful review of our business. We really appreciate you visiting and taking the time to report your findings here. We are thoroughly delighted you enjoyed and look forward to your return. More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Warm bread, mussels, steak what more can I say, well staff were very good too. Just popped in as we were pass pleased we did very good

Helpful?
Thank Pointer12
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

Excellent feedback, thank you so much! More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

£4.90 for 2 half pints of Tennents! More expensive than George st in Edinburgh. Really? Less than £3 in other places in Eyemouth.

Helpful?
Thank KenKaz123
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

I'm sorry you found us too expensive for your taste, but we stand by our pricing and premises, which was never meant to be comparable with the other licensed premises in the town. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch a couple of days ago with my wife and yet again everything was excellent. All of the staff were very friendly, the atmosphere was nice and relaxing but the best thing was the food. I went for the cajun chicken burger and my wife a gluten free chicken & parma ham pizza. We both thoroughly enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

It means so much to hear that you always enjoy your visit, especially on this occasion. Our team work so hard to ensure our customers receive the best food and service possible, so to hear how pleased you were make it all worthwhile, thank you. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Oblo is great. The food is great, can't fault your staff. However today emphasized a major issue that may deter me going back. For some reason you can still smoke on the balcony. I find this really very disgusting. I was there with family and my young baby having a nice meal that was quiet frankly spoilt by a group... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lianne D
Kerry W, Manager at Oblo, responded to this review

It with great sadness that we received your review, especially when you are clearly a very regular and valuable customer of ours. We have always striven to try to meet all our customer needs, as varied as they can be, wherever possible - something that is not always easy to achieve. When the smoking ban came in, we tried to... More 

Alva, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

After a hectic weekend, we decided to eat out for lunch. Oblo has to be my first choice in getting excellent value for money. Staff are very attentive and polite. The newly refurbished surroundings are beautiful and very relaxing. Cant wait til the lift is installed so I can take mum...so looking forward to that..

Helpful?
Thank N H
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

So very pleased and proud of your review and comments - such an excellent reflection on our management team and staff as a whole. Lovely feedback on our refurb too - thank you so much and fingers crossed our plans come to fruition! More 

Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Came in for a drink and look at the menu to potentially eat. My pint had a large head on it and it tasted flat ,my partners glass of prosecco came out an opened bottle. It wasn't chilled enough nor fizzy enough. £8.70. We wont be staying to eat. Very disappointing and grossly overpriced.

Helpful?
Thank Denis L
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

Disappointed in your review and that you didn't stay to dine with us and I wonder if you made comment to staff at the time as I know they would have been quick to rectify. I really am very sorry you felt put off so much as to not to stay on to eat. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Our visit to Oblo Our visit to Oblo was ok they had a separate bit of the menu for senior citizens but they did not have a lot of choice for the older people

Helpful?
Thank kennyam4909
Kerry W, Owner at Oblo, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't feel we had a lot of choice for you - a high percentage of our customers are older and we try to do our best with our menu to accommodate smaller appetites, offering smaller portions of many menu items in addition to our Pensioner's Menu, but I wonder if you asked about this? More 

Travellers who viewed Oblo also viewed

 
Eyemouth, Borders
 
Eyemouth, Borders
 

Been to Oblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$39
Cuisine
Italian, Bar, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18-20 Harbour Road, Eyemouth TD14 5HU, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Borders  >  Eyemouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1890 752527

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Oblo and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Lancashire, UK
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oblo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?