We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$11 - US$20
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
146
49
13
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
146
49
13
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pie patties fish cakes baked potato soup toasties scones scottish breakfast easy parking served quickly light lunch cooked breakfast home made long drive en route alistair highlands
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 14 October 2021

We had a good family lunch together. The lady serving was so welcoming and the same with our 3 year old son. His little face lit up at the idea of a colouring book to keep him occupied when it was suggested by our server....Thank you all for a nice meal out and for making us feel valued:).More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Alistair_and_Alida, Owner at The Golden Larches, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2021

You are very welcome. Thank you for the kind review. Hope to see you again. Alistair and the Team (Barb and Nancy)

Reviewed 10 October 2021

We were out for the day and decided we would have lunch here. It wasn’t the best atmosphere, despite having Sonos speakers on the wall, there was no music, so the room we were in, everyone could hear each other’s conversations. I got the steak...pie and chips, not good, huge pastry with 6 small bits of meat and the gravy was bland. Chips were just frozen chips. My salt pepper and vinegar were in satchels which were placed under my chips. My girlfriend got soup and a sandwich, which was ok. But for steak pie, soup and a sandwich and two small diet cokes it was £28.00. Would never go back, I don’t really write reviews, but it kind of ruined our day, we both agreed we should have just had a piece on crisps. Douglas Smith 07746698137More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Alistair_and_Alida, Owner at The Golden Larches, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2021

Hello Douglas, Thank you for your feedback. Obviously, we are concerned that you did not enjoy your visit or your food. It would have been better to get your feedback in person either during or after your meal or even when you came to pay...More

Reviewed 11 September 2021 via mobile

There are many positives to mention! Alistair was so helpful, friendly and accommodating. The meals were delicious, especially the venison patties w/cranberry relish for dinner. We enjoyed our mini-Scottish breakfast the next morning also. We particularly appreciated the larger room with a king sized bed...(and the mattress and pillows were excellent for comfort….the best so far on our hike). The bathroom was larger and the shower was closer to what we are used to in the U.S. The only distractor was some road noise. It was a nice touch to have access to fully programmed TV, complete w/ Netflix and Amazon Prime while we wound down for the night.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Alistair_and_Alida, Owner at The Golden Larches, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2021

Hello GENJHL, We are so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the rest of your hike goes as well as the first few days. We appreciate your feedback and wish you all the best on the...More

Reviewed 10 August 2021

Had a couple of nights here with a plan to climb Ben Lawers ., Alasdair , the host was very friendly and helpful and went above and beyond to help make a special birthday ‘special ’ ! Breakfast was lovely too . Great recommendations on...local places to eat .. room very clean and although situated on a road was very comfortable and quiet . Highly recommend this place .More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Alistair_and_Alida, Owner at The Golden Larches, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2021

Thank you for your excellent review. I am glad that you and John enjoyed your couple of night with us and managed to tick of 3 Munro's on his special birthday. We look forward to celebrating your next special birthday at The Golden Larches. Many...More

Reviewed 31 July 2021

Stopped after a long drive from Oban, en route to Edinburgh. Friendly welcome, amusing sign for the loo and great tasty food. Hubby had the mini cooked breakfast and I had the veggie cooked breakfast. Both delicious and quickly served. No crowds, easy to park,...everyone welcome.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 31 July 2021

Stopped en route from Isle of Skye today. Got a great seat outdoors under the tented area. It was all so quick easy and straightforward. Lovely person serving us. Food was just perfect. Nice to see a selection of gf. The fish cakes homemade with...chilli sauce and fresh tasty salad were the best I’ve ever had. Followed by the lightest coconut jam sponge served with a wee Kilmer jar of hot custard. Could not have asked for better so thank you.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 July 2021 via mobile

Rather disappointing stop for coffee and cake. The carrot cake was more of a dried spiced cake that had seen better days, the caramel shortbread wasn't as good as you get in a cheap supermarket, and not sure you could describe the latte as a...coffee! Really left a nasty taste in my mouth. Thank goodness for mints! As for the woman I think she needs to work on her customer service skills. Came across quite bolshy. Wish we'd just passed by and stopped in Callender.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Alistair_and_Alida, Owner at The Golden Larches, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2021

When you were ask at the till, "Was everything ok for you today?", you did not mention any issues and happily paid for your "sub standard food and drinks". Rather than writing a damaging and anonymous review, why not speak up whilst you are here...More

Reviewed 16 June 2021

Paid a visit to this restaurant this week. We had a s one, cream and jam with a coffee. The restaurant was very clean and COVID regulations well in evidence. Our waitress was very friendly and we had a good chat with her. The scones...were substantial and tasty. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. 10 out of 10 to our waitress for her service, helpfulness and cheery disposition. Thank you 😊More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Alistair_and_Alida, Owner at The Golden Larches, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Thank you for your positive feedback. Barb is happy to hear that she is a 10. Hope to see you again, Alistair and the Team

Reviewed 5 June 2021 via mobile

Lovely restaurant, the staff were welcoming and very friendly. Food was great, loved the homemade soup of the day, very generous portion.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 September 2020

Our family regularly visit this little restaurant. The food is of a great standard and the service is always warm and friendly. We had the mac and cheese with fries and garlic bread and the fish and chips, which was delicious, we also took away...a slice of carrot cake and a slice of chocolate cake for later on. It was great to see all the COVID-19 processes in place and comforting to know that the staff kindly tell customers to wear their mask and keep a social distance at all times. This is one place we shall return time and time again.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Lochearnhead Hotel
227 reviews
3.56 km away
OYO Clachan Cottage Boutique Hotel
1,047 reviews
3.64 km away
Monachyle Mhor
726 reviews
9.94 km away
The Four Seasons, Hotel & Little Larder
1,095 reviews
12.18 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Lochearnhead Hotel
119 reviews
3.54 km away
The Broch Cafe
322 reviews
4.48 km away
Mhor 84
635 reviews
1.18 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Balquhidder Church Ruins
70 reviews
3.76 km away
Glen Ogle
23 reviews
5.79 km away
Falls of Dochart
1,091 reviews
11.31 km away
St Fillans Village Store
97 reviews
12.64 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Janet Y
29 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from The_GoldenLarches | Property representative |
Hi Janet, We do not do High Teas. We prepare a wide selection of meals and have cakes and scone. We just don't combine the two as a high tea. Thanks for your question, Alistair
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Golden Larches

Yes, The Golden Larches offers takeaway services.

The Golden Larches is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5