We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Squat Lobster - CLOSED

The Pier | Isle of Bute, Rothesay PA20 9AQ, Scotland
+44 7884 290996
Call
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good11%
  • Average5%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
24 Sep 2016
“Closed during our visit ?”
25 Jun 2016
“good fish”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Pier | Isle of Bute, Rothesay PA20 9AQ, Scotland
All Details
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2016

Travelled to Rothesay for a week's vacation. Looked forward to some really authentic carry out "fish and chips". Went into Winter Gardens Discovery Centre each day and round to the Squashed Lobster but on each time it was closed and no signage of relevant opening...More

2  Thank tomlesdav
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Good service and good fish a friendly place everything was done right fresh and not overcooked the choice was about right not to overwhelming

Thank bzbaeren
Reviewed 5 June 2016

A variety of fish dishes and not all fried and not all battered. The manager is helpful and a real character and a wonderful cook. If you are berthed in the marina I recommend the Squat Lobster - just set your table have everything ready...More

Thank peaches168
Karon H, Owner at The Squat Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Hello, What a truly lovely review from your visit to us last July....we are very appreciative. We have still not re-opened for the season as there are some changes and refurbishments planned. Your comments about me were also very appreciated ! And I think "helpful,...More

Reviewed 17 February 2016

Wonderful little kiosk that cooks food there and then. Fish is exceptionally fresh and there are variations which are not so commonly found like smoked fish and chowder. Availability varies according to demand and supply. Prices are modest and is unlikely to disappoint on quality....More

Thank johnmxp
Karon H, Owner at The Squat Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

THANK YOU for your lovely review.... We hope you get over this way again from Italy; there are so many beautiful places to see on the island and we take pleasure in explaining to people how to get to these unspoilt places .....one visit is...More

Reviewed 26 October 2015

good fresh fish and chips produced miraculously in a tiny space. nice big chunk of lemon with it... nice touch!More

2  Thank jim2015
Karon H, Owner at The Squat Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Hello! Thank you so much for your review...and you gave us the highest score...THANK YOU ! We are closed for the winter, as we always are at this time (except for our first year just before my husband died). This year we were open Wednesday...More

Reviewed 15 October 2015

This is the best fish supper I have ever had. So good to see the fish being cooked in front of you to order and not some fish that has sat, after being cooked, in a display cabinet drying out. I have never had such...More

Thank Kookaimckay
Karon H, Owner at The Squat Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

WOW!! Thank you for your review.. we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal. WE ARE NOW CLOSED FOR THE WINTER SEASON...(although the weather just now is amazing....gggrrrr!) But we look forward to seeing you again next year...hopefully you will return to Bute and come...More

Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

I was on the Isle of Bute for a business trip and i was looking for somewhere to eat, i was recommend to go to the Squat Lobster by someone on the Island, so i ordered a fish supper and was not dissapointed, the service...More

Thank Derek M
Karon H, Owner at The Squat Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review...it really means a lot to us if you enjoyed your meal and that you take the time to tell us...SOOO glad you were pleased, and that was a great review. Thank you Karon...More

Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Visited this wee place on my way to the ferry, was a small setting with big things to offer lovely staff and im not a big eater so i choose the haddock gojouns my partner had the jumbo fish supper was very happy with what...More

1  Thank Louise A
Karon H, Owner at The Squat Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Very pleased that you enjoyed your meal, AND that you have taken the time to write a review, it means a lot to Emma and I to know if we are continuing to "get it right"l; the goujons are the same fish but the (large)...More

Reviewed 19 September 2015

I wish all fish and chip shops were so good! Nice to sit in the sun by the putting green and share some goujons and chips. Lovely crisp batter and the most excellent chips.More

Thank Christine R
Karon H, Owner at The Squat Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

THANK YOU. !! I am beginning to think that our semi-skin on chips are a bit like marmite...you either love them or hate them....so glad you enjoyed your meal!!! No cholesterol..(everything is cooked in rapeseed oil).. Add mushy peas and it's part of your five...More

Reviewed 15 September 2015

The fish and chips at the Squat Lobster are excellent. I would highly recommend stopping here as part of a day trip to Rothesay.More

Thank Lorna C
Karon H, Owner at The Squat Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2015

THANK YOU!....we are very glad you enjoyed your meal, and your trip to Rothesay - we are always grateful that people take the time to write and let us know if we are getting it right....(If they tell us we are getting it wrong we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Harry Haw's
558 reviews
.14 km away
Musicker Cafe
141 reviews
.08 km away
Esplanade Hotel
324 reviews
.04 km away
Victoria's Restaurant
137 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rothesay's Victorian Toilets
384 reviews
.07 km away
Rothesay VisitScotland iCentre
190 reviews
.08 km away
Rothesay Castle
261 reviews
.15 km away
Bute Brew Co.
105 reviews
.37 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$3 - US$11
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Pier | Isle of Bute, Rothesay PA20 9AQ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Argyll and Bute  >  Isle of Bute  >  Rothesay
  • Phone Number: +44 7884 290996
  • E-mail
Description
Message on The Squat Lobster Facebook page from a customer this evening ... "Defo waiting for some decent Fish n' Chips - don't keep us in suspense" My reply ....."I keep seeing you walking by, and I am dying to tell you..hopefully I can update you in about a week...I am so missing fish and Chips and local seafood too !"
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing