We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fantastic location beside a beautiful beach looking over to Arran Cowal & the Mull of Kintyre. Friendly helpful staff, great mix of dishes and really good value. Dog friendly Open from 9.30am - 5pm Please note kitchen closes at 4.30pm
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Cafe, British, Diner, Scottish
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Table Service
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curly fries cakes cheesecake ice cream soup baked potato walk along the beach stunning views beautiful beach captive audience tea and cake well worth a visit lovely food tearoom arran cafe dog
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

We have been visiting Bute for many years and this tea room. Sadly feel over last few visits it has gone downhill. Food was reasonable . In these days of Covid disappointed to find the table we were shown to had not been cleaned ,...the menu had food sticking to it. When our soft drinks were brought there was no covering on straws and they were just laid on table. Would have left but need to eat before catching ferryMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a sunny afternoon so the atmosphere was busy with plenty of customers. Understandably service was a bit slow, so we had a bit of a queue and a wait for our food. Not a big deal on a gorgeous day. On the plus...side, the burger was good, and the portion of curly fries was generous too. I had onion rings and a tuna salad in a polystyrene carton - but what a shame that eating outside with the superb view of Arran across the bay meant no plates (or glasses for drinks) and the brittle plastic forks were easily snapped. I hate eating tuna salad out of a polystyrene carton! Especially with a fork snapped in half! Toilet facilities leave room for improvement too, though I recognize that staff are busy serving when the cafe is crowded. I'd go back as the view compensates for the small negatives. But what a great lunch stop this could be if some small but significant improvements were made.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unhelpful, rude and generally a very bad experience. Try to avoid if you can and bring a packed lunch.

Date of visit: June 2021
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped to spend some money in a local business having cycled around Bute....1st thing on my mind was to refill my bike water bottle. Spoke to a member of staff on entering who was unsure. She asked another member of staff who stated they were...not allowed....what a joke. Suffice to say I put my wallet back in my pocket and left....to think they have a cycling Scotland tool station but not willing to assist a cyclist with a basic need.....More

Date of visit: May 2021
Kim M, Owner at Ettrick Bay Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi as you can no doubt see we are very busy with cyclist and campervans so as you can imagine the amount of people who want water bottles or tanks filled on a daily basis it's just not possible to do..... there is however a...More

Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

Excellent service, friendly staff, good selection on menu. Lovely burger and curly fries. Nice strong cup of tea. Will be back.

Date of visit: October 2020
Reviewed 4 October 2020

Visited there on beautiful sunny day so sat outside with amazing views. Bought a latte, tea, empire biscuit and enormous portion of homemade strawberry cheesecake for £7.50 so good value we thought. Not able to comment on full menu or the interior of cafe but...seemed okay from what we saw. Only unfortunate thing was toilet for takeaway customers & probably sightseers was not very nice at side of building and only could see one for all including disabled users. The day I visited there was no soap, no handryer/paper towels & no toilet paper! Even though it was 4 o'clock it still should have been stocked and inspected though not sure who is responsible for it.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Reviewed 2 October 2020

I should have reviewed some weeks ago as we were there several times at end of August. Covid distancing works really well with a one way system, screens between tables, hand gel and also masks are worn by staff so some prior reviews from people...saying different is at best confusing and at worst vindictive untruths. Staff fantastic, polite helpful and make sure your at ease. We visited with our 5 yr old grandson who has a superpower called autism and is sensory sensitive so he was slightly upset the lady who served us immediately asked if there was anything she could do to make things easier for him and us....usually we get the eye rolling from others until he settles but she was fabulous very understanding....this is the first place we have e er visited where staff were genuinely offering to help in anyway they could and my daughter will not forget that act of kindness so thankyou. Food is fresh, plentiful and cooked to order with a vast choice on the menu. Views are stunning as it’s directly on the beach and I noted a review moaning about the car park being full....seriously what on earth did she expect....it’s a prime location for walkers and those visiting the beach and sadly the tearoom can’t reserve spaces just in case she decides to visit......it never ceases to amaze me what some people moan about...... If it’s no fuss homemade food your looking for with great attentive staff and stunning views then you won’t be disappointed.More

Date of visit: August 2020
kimmH6703ZS, Owner at Ettrick Bay Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Thank you so much for your review we always appreciate when someone understands how difficult times are at the moment with the new restrictions so its greatly appreciated. I'm so glad you felt comfortable with your little one in the tearoom and we will always...More

Reviewed 28 September 2020

This place, although the breakfast i got was nice? The female server was really quite rude she didn’t make conversation and everything she was asked for seemed like an almighty task to her, the guy on the other hand was lovely, also the toilets were...filthy with a flooded floor, gents toilets had no paper towels or a working hand drier,, and even the windows and walls in the cafe need a good scrub, bad service so no tip left for them.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Reviewed 24 September 2020 via mobile

Was visiting Isle of Bute for the day, had researched before hand and decided this would be a good spot for morning coffee and hopefully a walk on the beach. We visited first day of new COVID19 rules for wearing masks inside restaurants and was...complimented on the first who arrived wearing and kept on till seated. Excellent social distancing with screens dividing the tables, and sanitizer upon entry and tables cleaned etc Entry was a little confusing and we saw everyone make the same mistake. First door you see from the car park is for takeaway only, you need to walk around the building to the other side to enter. We had a mocha and a latte both piping hot and spotted a cake local to Scotland but new to us. It was sadly drizzle all morning so unable to walk the beach which looked great but we enjoyed the excellent sea view from our tableMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Reviewed 23 September 2020 via mobile

Highly professional staff taking COVID precautions very seriously, awesome sense of humour. Food and drink is very reasonably priced and always of high quality. We are always made to feel very welcome which is why we frequently return.

Date of visit: September 2020
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Victoria Hotel
309 reviews
5.41 km away
Cannon House Hotel
141 reviews
5.83 km away
The Glenburn Hotel
1,272 reviews
6.19 km away
OYO Chandlers
353 reviews
7.57 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Post Office Store & Tearoom
50 reviews
3.74 km away
Musicker Cafe
197 reviews
5.57 km away
Harry Haw's
765 reviews
5.60 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rothesay VisitScotland iCentre
244 reviews
5.48 km away
Rothesay's Victorian Toilets
480 reviews
4.82 km away
Rothesay Castle
334 reviews
5.56 km away
Bute Museum
85 reviews
5.64 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Angela N
15 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from GaryB-Dalton | Reviewed this property |
27 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from SunShina17 | Reviewed this property |
No idea sorry. I would contact direct.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ettrick Bay Tea Room

Yes, Ettrick Bay Tea Room offers takeaway services.

Yes, Ettrick Bay Tea Room offers delivery services.

Ettrick Bay Tea Room is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4