We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Willett Arms

€€ - €€€, British,
2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
+44 1202 883144
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (19 reviews)
“roast chicken” (6 reviews)
“brie” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 574 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We had a lovely meal, Served by very friendly staff, Would definitely recommend a visit, you won't be disappointed. Nothing is too much trouble.

Thank J S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The service was polite and our waitress was efficient. We had to wait aaaaages for the food. We all had the roast which I thought was a tad expensive for what was actually delivered (e.g. a rotten parsnip and not the best quality roast potatoes)....More

Thank Cardigankate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The pub was busy when we arrived which is expected on a rainy Sunday lunchtime. We had a booking. I’m gluten intolerant so I asked whether they had a gluten free menu or could any of the options on the menu be made gluten free....More

Thank Marbellys B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Most chain pubs offer appalling food at inflated prices. The Willett Arms is certainly no exception. In fact, I struggle to think of a worse meal at a higher price than this was. You will find better ingredients and cooking skills at a Wetherspoons -...More

2  Thank Ned W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I ate here on a Sunday afternoon about 4pm and ordered the roast chicken. Plenty of seating inside and out although being a very busy Sunday. Service was quick and a full menu on offer. I’m very much looking forward to coming back to eat...More

1  Thank Steph S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Incredibly disappointing food. Gammon was tough, fillet steak over cooked (if indeed it was fillet), and duck salad was worst duck ever tasted. I would have complained at the time but nobody bothered to ask how the food was. This “gastropub” has been reasonable in...More

Thank robljones
General Manager A, Owner at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Rob, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us. We hope you are willing to give us another chance. Please reach out to us at 01202 883144 so we can work towards a resolution. Kindest regards The Management Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The surroundings were pleasant, the staff were friendly. Ordered a meal at 7-45 pm on a Monday evening. Several of the chosen items were not available, even cod and chips. A total of six menu items were not available according to the waitress, and others...More

Thank homerhendry
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Homerhendry, it is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again. We hope to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Waited well over an hour for simple food such as a few salads. The meat on the salads was dry and chewy. Loved the venue and the staff were polite but can’t return for such below average food and slow service at those prices.

Thank Alex B
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alex B, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us with your recent visit not being up to the standards we strive for. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Willett Arms Management team

Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Went in here because was moving to the area and it looked good from the outside. Had the prawn and crab linguine... delicious. Been back twice food was still good now a favourite of mine

4  Thank eatpac
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Eatpac, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We hope to see you soon! WIllett Arms Team

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Went in Sunday lunchtime after going round Wimborne Market. Hadn't booked but was shown to a table straight away although it was really busy with lots of families in, probably cos it was a hot sunny day. Thinking it would take ages for our meals...More

1  Thank MickG2012
General Manager A, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mickg2012, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Willett Arms! Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
Les Bouviers Rooms
173 reviews
1.42 km away
Kings Head Hotel
747 reviews
1.69 km away
The Minster Arms
37 reviews
1.75 km away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
1,692 reviews
4.90 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cloisters Restaurant
284 reviews
1.42 km away
La Vie En Rose
132 reviews
1.48 km away
Le Petit Prince Patisserie
33 reviews
1.47 km away
The Thirsty Bird
29 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wimborne Minster
311 reviews
1.57 km away
The Priest's House Museum & Garden
91 reviews
1.58 km away
Wimborne Market
73 reviews
1.00 km away
Affordable Studio Art
42 reviews
1.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Salli L
18 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from General Manager... A | Property representative |
Hi Salli Dogs are allowed in the bar area and outside only Hope this helps Regards James
1
Vote
Karen H
12 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from bonjgb1009 | Reviewed this property |
No I dont believe there is. Plus it is closing down for refurbishment on the 5th February.
2
Votes
Everyonelovescake
11 September 2016|
Answer
Response from General Manager... A | Property representative |
Hi We do allow guide dogs in the bar area, but not in the restaurant. And we can adapt the menu for gluten free and if there isn't anything on there we can use the main menu as we have a lot of options there too Hope... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wimborne
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 883144
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing