We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Willett Arms

€€ - €€€, British,
2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
+44 1202 883144
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (19 reviews)
“brie” (6 reviews)
“sunday roast” (17 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

One of our local rest'rants so we come here quite a lot and are never dissapointed. Lovely meal again and good service by Kate. Not very busy on a Thursday, we were full when we came out.More

1  Thank d_shute
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear d_shute. Thank you for your 5* review. Kate will be pleased with the positive comments about the service she gave. We know she works very hard to please all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the whole experience with us. Please join us...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Book a table for anniversary meal with family. The food was very tasty and hot. The only down side was it took some time between courses, the place was busy and there only seemed to be about 3 staff serving and they seemed to be...More

1  Thank Lynne C
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lynne C, thank you for your positive review. We always aim to serve our guests with a smile. I will pass this onto the team. See you again soon. Kind regards. Willett Arms

Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked here to celebrate my mothers Birthday but sadly only managed to get through the starter before she was taken ill. She is 85 years old and has not been well.....it certainly was not the food as my squid to start was great. I...More

1  Thank Robert N
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Robert for your very kind review! It was a pleasure to have you. I hope she is feeling better and you can make it back in soon :D

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a table in advance for 2.15. When we arrived it took a few minutes for anyone to even say hello and I will be with you shortly. Our table was not yet ready so we had drinks at the bar (these were the...More

Thank Abi B
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Abi B, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve,. Thank you providing this information so we...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were very welcoming and the lunch although an unusual dish was very good, albeit it rather too much bread. Perhaps an open sandwich in this case would be better.More

1  Thank chatelaine2018
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Chatelaine2018, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Willett Arms. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We take your comments on board about the sandwich options. We have a new menu live from the 10th of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a Sunday roast here this weekend. We found the outside space very nice & dog friendly however the wait for the meal was long & when it finally came it was disappointing for the price, the beef was really fatty so not much...More

1  Thank foofyfinkle
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Foofyfinkle, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. During our peak times, guests may experience a small delay when receiving meals. We are sorry to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After googling pubs an route and checking vegetarian many choices, we decided on visiting this pub straight away after reading their menu. Lovely decor, attentive staff and food to die for. We had the butternut squash and sweet potato tart and it was delicious. It's...More

Thank Silverwitch71
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Silverwitch71, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Willett Arms! We hope to be of service to you again in the future when you are traveling our way. Best wishes, The Willett Arms

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recommended by a friend and wasn't disappointed, we went on a Sunday evening and the ambience was wonderful for our family celebration and not too noisy. The food was delicious particularly the roast dinners except the roasted vegetables which were slightly over done, staff very...More

Thank elaine w
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Elaine W, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Willett Arms. We are glad you enjoyed your Ruby Anniversary Celebration. Look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards Willett Arms team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Poor from the start, small starters followed by the wrong meat on 5 of our roast. We had no condiments bought out despite everyone around the table asking for various sauces etc. The sides weren’t out until the food was cold easily 10 minutes after...More

1  Thank Ja88ck
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Been here 20 years and only visited once. What a mistake the food was excellent and the surroundings pleasant until very busy. Yes a gem

Thank bradders242
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Willett Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Bradders242, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, The Willett Arms

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
Les Bouviers Rooms
176 reviews
1.42 km away
Kings Head Hotel
759 reviews
1.69 km away
The Minster Arms
39 reviews
1.75 km away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
1,745 reviews
4.89 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cloisters Restaurant
293 reviews
1.42 km away
La Vie En Rose
134 reviews
1.48 km away
Le Petit Prince Patisserie
36 reviews
1.47 km away
The Thirsty Bird
30 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wimborne Minster
323 reviews
1.57 km away
The Priest's House Museum & Garden
95 reviews
1.58 km away
Wimborne Market
77 reviews
1.00 km away
Coach and Horses Wimborne
49 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Salli L
18 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Guide642828 | Property representative |
Hi Salli Dogs are allowed in the bar area and outside only Hope this helps Regards James
1
Vote
Karen H
12 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from bonjgb1009 | Reviewed this property |
No I dont believe there is. Plus it is closing down for refurbishment on the 5th February.
2
Votes
Everyonelovescake
11 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Guide642828 | Property representative |
Hi We do allow guide dogs in the bar area, but not in the restaurant. And we can adapt the menu for gluten free and if there isn't anything on there we can use the main menu as we have a lot of options there too Hope... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Oakley Hill | Oakley, Wimborne BH21 1RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Wimborne
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 883144
  • E-mail
Description
The Willett Arms should be your first port of call for a memorable brunch, lunch, or dinner. Residing just outside the historic town of Wimborne, The Willett Arms is a family friendly pub boasting a chic bar area, an inviting dining room, and an attractive outdoor space that provides the ultimate retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. On the menu, you’ll find a wide range of tempting starters, light bites, and sharing platters, as well as devilish desserts and hearty mains that are sure to get your taste buds tingling. We are a child friendly establishment, so please feel free to bring your little ones along … they’ll love tucking into our dedicated children’s menu!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing