We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Half Moon

The Half Moon Inn | Melplash, Bridport DT6 3UD, England
+44 1308 488321
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good19%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (25 reviews)
“fried rabbit” (3 reviews)
“profiteroles” (5 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Half Moon Inn | Melplash, Bridport DT6 3UD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 293 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Went one evening for a meal as recommended to us. A fair choice on the menu and two had different fish dishes and I had the pork. All excellent I have to say though not so impressed with the tart I had for dessert. The...More

1  Thank Veggrower1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Possibly the most astounding response ever heard from a pub landlord: “I’m not surprised…” was the reply when I politely informed him that my pint was off. I suggest that if that had been the reaction from a plumber when told that his pipework leaked...More

6  Thank MJandPJ
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've previously written a review for the same venue but wanted to write a 2nd one given that one or two negative reviews I spotted before booking. To start, I had booked a table for 6 which became 8 on our arrival and the staff...More

2  Thank Montragon
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Our first visit since the new management couple took over. A friendly, if confusing greeting (thought we were someone else!), although we noticed that they assumed people must be eating, as, rather than greeting and asking how they could help, it was "have you booked...More

4  Thank Leisah C
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

The Team Sir are the owners ,Paul & Sallie Adams, If I am quirky that is because I am an Award Winning Film/TV Makeup/Hair Designer, We apologise if you did not enjoy the time in our restaurant ,maybe a visit to The Harbour @Sidmouth would...More

Reviewed 21 June 2017

We are two couples who go out once a month for a 'Mystery meal' each couple taking it in turns to book a surprise venue, within an hour's driving time of Weymouth. We have been going out for over 6 years and we rate the...More

Thank DorsetMoose
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thankyou for your great remarks!! We hope to see you again soon Regards Sallie & Paul

Reviewed 19 June 2017

Very poor amounts of food were served. It was not value for money at all. The Coq au vin was just a 4 or 5 chunks of diced chicken under a bit of pastry. A measly bit of veg next to it. and about 6...More

3  Thank crimsonave
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Wow Deepest Apologies After all the good reports we have had we do wish you had mentioned your complaints at the time of dining as we would have most definitely had rectified all your complaints. My biggest worry is that my waiting staff would have...More

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Weather had been glorious and we were looking for somewhere to have an evening meal. New Mine Hosts had only been in for a couple of weeks. Lovely friendly feel as soon as we walked in and were shown to our table. Whilst we waited...More

Thank tamsure
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Our first visit with the new owners. We were welcomed by all the staff and felt valued. Food was delicious, unhurried. Decor very tasteful and comfortable. Varied pricing but all in all the best meal we've had locally for a long time.

Thank maggie962
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Maggie962 Thankyou for your valued Remarks, We hope to see you all again soon Sallie &Paul Adams Lorddanebury

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Lovely homely country pub, owners and staff very pleasant and helpful. Beautifully decorated, terrific food, nice area to sit and relax if you just want a drink. Food super and good choices. Everybody made very welcome

Thank mamita11
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Hello Thankyou for your kind remarks We are so happy at this gorgeous 16th century pub and know that with our fantastic team And Henry our a Award winning chef We will do nothing but get better and better Kind Regards Paul & Sallie

Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Good quality food from an interesting though short menu. The edge was taken off it by the prices (£60 for the two of us: one starter, two mains, plus drinks is OTT; as is £4 for a small portion of spinach). Slightly odd service. Nothing...More

2  Thank Eat-it-up-wor-Edna
Lorddanebury, Owner at The Half Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Dear Sir I'm so sorry you did not enjoy experience with us As you were told we had a full restaurant all bookings and we managed to fit you in at a very busy time As I recall you enjoyed the amuse Bouche which was...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Brassica Restaurant
220 reviews
3.79 km away
The New Inn
184 reviews
4.41 km away
The Greyhound Inn
116 reviews
3.80 km away
Red Lion
124 reviews
3.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mapperton House & Gardens
165 reviews
2.82 km away
Hive Beach
331 reviews
3.16 km away
Donkey Walking Adventures
13 reviews
4.01 km away
Bridport Market
82 reviews
4.95 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Eat-it-up-wor-Edna
23 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Eat-it-up-wor-Edna | Reviewed this property |
Wow! What a response to my question. Publicly threatening to take legal action against a customer for their opinion (and sending it from a 'Lord' to try the make it more intimidating) is certainly a novel approach to public... More
5
Votes
ChilliPepper1
23 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Dan C |
No. The previous couple now run The Anvil Inn and have done since April/May this year. They no longer have anything to do with The Half Moon, which has been under new management since 23rd May this year.
4
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:30
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:30
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:30
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:30
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Half Moon Inn | Melplash, Bridport DT6 3UD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport
  • Phone Number: +44 1308 488321
  • E-mail
Description
Sallie and Paul Adams welcome you to this tastefully furnished, intimate country restaurant and pub.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing