We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant

The Esplanade, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EB, England
+44 1271 870333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good23%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (5 reviews)
“pie” (3 reviews)
“mussels” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Esplanade, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 141 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Every meal for a party of 11 was excellent. Chicken salad ranked second best ever eaten! Good selection of both fish and meat meals . Options for children and vegans. Service good and staff helpful. Good ambience.

Thank Kathy A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is amazing from the second we arrived to the second we left. We didn't want to leave, our only disappointment is we wanted to stay 2 nights but had no rooms available. The room we had was clean and had a fantastic view....More

Thank Becky J
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and even wanted to extend it! Thank you for your praise towards Housekeeping, our view and the meal enjoyed in our Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrival was pleasant & receptionist helpful. The first room was perfect as was the newly fitted bathroom. We had to change rooms as our first choice had been booked for our second night. I was informed the room we had to change to for our...More

Thank Treinf
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review. I believe you stayed in our deluxe sea view terrace rooms. For other readers benefit, one of these rooms (Room 41) has an en suite which offers support handles, a walk-in shower and a lower basin to enable a...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went on a hike from Lee to Woolacombe and came across the hotel by chance Lovely outside terrace good food and nice service I can highly recommend it!More

Thank DirkAdam
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to read you found us on the off chance and enjoyed your spontaneous visit to the Watersmeet. We are situated just off the South West coastal path and provide a resting spot with a sea view!...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, we stayed a couple of nights in one of the terrace rooms, spacious and great outside terrace seating area with lovely views over the bay. Great breakfasts. It's a 15 min walk or so to the main beach which is the main attraction...More

Thank Sm0
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our deluxe sea view room with terrace area. They really do offer a comfortable addition to enjoy our sea view. We hope to welcome you...More

Reviewed 21 June 2017

So sweet was the girl on reception, with her helpful advice as to how we could find the little beach we were looking for in spite of the fact we weren't going to use the hotel that day. I have stayed here before however, and...More

Thank franklymydear2016
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased our Receptionist was able to help you. We hope to welcome you back to the Watersmeet soon.

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Food was fantastic & the view was great! We had a very pleasant evening. Good wine list & cocktails were tasty too!

Thank gezabella
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your meal with us and the views our dining rooms offer. We hope to welcome you back to the Watersmeet in the near future.

Reviewed 10 June 2017

we stayed here for one night on our way further down the coast and i'm so pleased we did! we were greeted with a warm welcome from the reception staff and i have to say that we found all the staff to be helpful and...More

Thank rubysmom63
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thank you for your recent review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your one night stay at the Watersmeet. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Watersmeet in the near future (for a couple of nights!).

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel is located on the quiet bay to the north of Woolacombe and south of Mortehoe on the Esplanade Road. It is best approached from Woolacombe, as the road to Mortehoe is very narrow. It does have its own car park (upper and lower...More

Thank IanGH
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for your review and description of the Watersmeet. When the hotel is full of residents the car park can be tight but staff are always willing to double up to create spaces. Thank you for your compliments toward the service, choice on the...More

Reviewed 3 June 2017

I love this hotel. We have stopped here twice - both times (sadly) just overnight stays. It isn't cheap, though some attractive deals are available (especially if you dare to book at short notice) but we thought it was worth every penny to stop at...More

Thank alexwood62
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Thank you for your recent review and compliments towards all aspects of your stay. We really are blessed with location and sea view. As you mention we do indeed offer late availability rates and offers during the off peak months, these are bookable via our...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Barricane Beach Cafe
491 reviews
.33 km away
Chichester Arms
511 reviews
.71 km away
The Captains Table
879 reviews
.77 km away
Miss Fea's Cafe
72 reviews
.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
Barricane Beach
151 reviews
.32 km away
Woolacombe Beach
2,656 reviews
.66 km away
Walk - Morte Point Trail
130 reviews
.60 km away
Woolacombe Surf Centre
136 reviews
.72 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jacquioakes
1 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Brian J | Reviewed this property |
sorry I do not know
0
Votes
familysummerholiday
15 September 2016|
Answer
Response from derek83 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry , we only dine at the resteraunt , so have no knowledge of any of the rooms
0
Votes
familysummerholiday
27 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CliveDE | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, no idea. Only stayed for afternoon tea.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$63
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Esplanade, Mortehoe, Woolacombe EX34 7EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Woolacombe  >  Mortehoe
  • Phone Number: +44 1271 870333
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Watersmeet Hotel
Description
We do our best to ensure your visit will be both enjoyable and memorable - whether it's a formal dinner in our table d'hote restaurant or passing through for lunch in our popular bistro. You and your family will be most welcome. Afternoon teas served all day. Dramatic sea views and sunsets can be viewed from both restaurants, Locally sourced seasonal foods mainly on our doorstep. 2 AA rosette awarded.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing