We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Church House Inn

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
379 Off the A | Churchstow, Kingsbridge TQ7 3QW, England
+44 1548 852237
Website
Today
11:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 162: English reviews
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited for a family party on a Saturday night. We were fed, pizzas, freshly cooked in the pizza oven on the terrace. Really perfect party food and great quality. The following day we returned for Sunday lunch. We both had the freshly caught lemon sole. Pan fried in lemon and herb butter,, accompanied with new potatoes and a mixture... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki112509
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on our way to a pub in Slapton but decided to take a flyer on this place which didn't pay off. This is a characterful pub and we received a friendly greeting, we ordered from the specials menu the Cray fish tails linguine with chilli, garlic, lemon grass and when it arrived it was a lump of dry... More 

Helpful?
Thank hollyb3
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Good pint of "proper job" nice main course as was the dessert just an issue with the dessert pricing very poorly displayed ! New management I think other than that the staff are pleasant & helpful ! But please take note No disabled facilities or restroom you can push a wheelchair in but the floors are on different levels in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John G
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

After visiting numerous restaurants in the Kingsbridge area and being shocked by the low standards of food and high prices-I have finally discovered a gem. It was a splendid meal in convivial surroundings. The chicken supreme was perfectly cooked and both the Stake and Ale pie and Thai curry were delicious (but the Thai curry could have been a bit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gpinchen1
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017

This is used to my parents local, visited regularly and we were always treated well and welcomed ... what a difference a year makes - since our last visit dad has had a nasty fall and consequently is now an electric wheelchair user, it's early days so treating them to their 1st meal out in months, together as a family... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Suzi S
Suzi C, Owner at Church House Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry you were disappointed with your visit to us. The landlord/chef had had a heart attack that morning and the kitchen staff were trying to carry on as normal, perhaps in hindsight we should have closed on a Good Friday and disappointed numerous other happy diners. As to the wheelchair access we have numerous tables that are... More 

Cataluña
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We ate here in February and were so disappointed. As another reviewer said why change a winning formulae. We used to come to this pub regularly and always enjoyed the food. The steak and ale pie was a particular favourite of mine. Meat cooked to perfection, plenty of it with a lovely crusty top. A huge choice of veg in... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank judyandnick
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

This is first time that we have eaten here under the new owners. We had a friendly welcome and attentive service. Sadly the food is very disappointing, rather uninspiring menu choices, and the food we had was very average. We have so much great produce in Devon and places that have on the menu the traditional pub favourites with more... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Nick C
Suzi C, Owner at Church House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nick C We are sorry you were disappointed with our menu on your visit, we recognise that we cannot please everyone as everyone has personal tastes. And we are sorry we could not tempt you with our local produce as well, of which there was plenty; Fowey mussels in a white wine, cream, garlic and parsley sauce, Freshly caught... More 

Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We were visiting the area last weekend and went to the pub to watch rugby. The place was very welcoming, the beer great and the atmosphere terrific with plenty of friendly chatty locals. We stayed on and had dinner which was superb. There's no ready-meals rubbish going on here and I am very happy to pay good money for locally-sourced,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank B168ert
Suzi C, Owner at Church House Inn, responded to this review

Dear B16ert Many thanks for your glowing review which is very much appreciated. We are indeed in the process of extending our wine list and do hope that next time you visit you will be delighted with the new additions. More 

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2017

I have previously eaten at this pub/restaurant many times in the past and knew that it had been taken over by new owners in January so thought as it was my birthday we would try here again for a Monday night evening meal and see what the new owners now had to offer its customers. For starters we ordered the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
Suzi C, Owner at Church House Inn, responded to this review

Dear Helen C We apologise that you were disappointed with your meal, we are aware that we cannot please everyone as food is such a personal taste. The very experienced chef who cooked your meal that evening has been at the pub for over 10 years and most certainly was not looking to be confrontational, only looking to chat in... More 

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Being a regular favourite of ours, we tried here for the 1st time after new ownership. On entering the bar area we noticed the lack of the usual locals stood around. We were given our table number and left to find a non existent table, this was corrected when we returned to the bar and were once again left to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltash
Suzi C, Owner at Church House Inn, responded to this review

Apologies for the confusion over your table number, this was corrected immediately for you. And we apologise that the two vegetarian alternatives did not meet your taste buds, we are aware that we cannot please everyone as food is very much a personal thing. As to the carvery, Pete the carvery Chef is very much still here and served you... More 

Travellers who viewed Church House Inn also viewed

 
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Church House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 14:30
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 379 Off the A | Churchstow, Kingsbridge TQ7 3QW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Kingsbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1548 852237

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Church House Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Church House Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?