We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Joe Watty’s Bar is a welcoming local bar with good food, music & craic. The bar is well placed in Kilronan Village, at the cross-roads to Dún Aengus and the Seal Colony. When you drink at Joe Watty’s, you drink with the locals. We offer you a ‘Ceád Milé Failté’ to Joe Watty’s, one of the Islands Oldest and most Traditional Pubs, where you may relax and unwind in front of a warm open fire with a pint of Guinness or Irish Coffee. Located at the cross-roads that lead to Dún Aengus Fort and the Seal Colony, and only 300 metres from the Pier.You may wish to sample our ‘Traditional Island Bar Food’ of locally caught Lobster, Crab, Mussels, Fresh Fish, a variety of Meat & Vegetarian Dishes and Homemade
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (1,063)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveller rating
563
203
71
39
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
563
203
71
39
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger mussels chowder stew live music great music the pub aran islands great spot fish of the day few drinks a great evening great guinness first night lovely atmosphere locals band
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

We went to Inis Mor for our honeymoon and came here for dinner. We had oysters in the afternoon, which were delicious, but unfortunately the experience was soured when we came back for dinner. My meal had I think been cooked from frozen, as it...was icy cold inside. I sent it back but there wasn't really any recognition that there had been an issue and by the time it was brought back out my husband had long finished his food, so we cancelled the order and I had to find food elsewhere. It was a real shame as the rest of our experience in the pub had been very good.More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went there for dinner and asked about menu options as I have dietary restrictions. The waiter was incredibly careless and gave poor information about the menu. When asked if there was cream in the curry option, he advised no it's gluten free and gave...incorrect information about other options. When the issue of poor information being given was addressed with a supervisor they were unwilling to listen. I wanted to change my order. It resulted in me cancelling my order. Overall basic customer service not met which was so poor in an expensive restaurant that services basic food. I certainly will not return and will not recommend to others!More

Date of visit: June 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Joe Watty's is touted as one of the best places to hear Irish music but when we were there none was playing. It seems all entertainment starts later than 9 at night. Food was okay and the service was good. People were friendly and we...had a nice time.More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A fantastic bar on a fantastic island! Local music, great drink, good fun. There aren't a ton of options on the island, but even if there were more, this place would still probably be a favorite.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our supper of and excellent salad, soup, fish & chips. Honestly am hard pressed to think of a better plate of fish & chips anywhere! The restaurant was virtually full but staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, attended to...us quickly, and maintained a clean pub throughout. We were back for lunch the next day and all the comments above prevailed. You should eat here!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2024 via mobile

Had a great evening at Joe Watty’s. There were 9 of us in the party. All of us were happy with the food. The service was excellent. Highly recommend for a laid back dinner while enjoying all that Inis Mór has to offer.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed on Inis Mór for two nights and had food in Joe Watty's on the second. My only regret was that we didn't eat there on the first night too. Seated and served by the brilliant Radic, a man clearly on top of his...game. I worked in five star hospitality in the past and he'd be snapped up instantly. He looked after us and the rest of the busy section with ease and good humour. Our visit was made infinitely more enjoyable thanks to him. The lamb shank was very filling and the pecan tartlet was the best dessert I've had in years. The pints of Heineken hit the spot too. Thank you Radic and Joe Watty's for a very enjoyable evening. 10/10.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

Came here for music on Friday night - loved it. Saturday night we had food, the waiter Radic was a gent. Ordered the chowder, mussels and lamb shank, 10/10. Will be back on our next visit! GRMA Radic!

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2024

Place was recommended by other members of our travel club. We ordered our first drink and soaked up the atmosphere on our St.Patrick's weekend. It was rudely interrupted by a woman who came right up to my sons face and said "do you have ID"...my son replied no not with me, hence he had already been served at the bar. I explained that I was his mother and my son was nearly 22x. That wasn't quite good enough and we were told she had been caught out before. And that she wasn't asking us to leave..... I said she was being extremely rude and that we were leaving and wouldn't be back. I don't know the women's name as she didn't introduce herself. I won't be back.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PJ Flaherty, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

It Is my business to check on underage people in my pub. Yes,I was quite near the lad because I did not want people hearing. I was not rude,neither was he. There was no problem until you raised your voice insisting you were his mother...More

Reviewed 19 March 2024

Not actually a seafood restaurant and that’s what we were looking for. So didn’t end up eating here as they the only fish on the menu is fish and chips. So we just had drinks. And the lady running the place and the owner where...so rude to people I wouldn’t go back if you don’t like your job and going to talk to people like they are dirt get a different job. Heard three different groups of people being talked to like dirt. The rest of the staff were lovely.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PJ Flaherty, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Elaine’s A Chara. I thinks you may have us confused with some where else. As owner of W Joe Watty’s I am never rude to our customers. You are nor correct when you say we have only Fish & Chips on the men. We have...More

Reviewed 11 March 2024

Definitely the best pub food and serving staff on Inishmore. Dined here several times over the Tedfest weekend with a group of 11 - we were all really impressed by the lovely staff and really good reasonable priced food.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PJ Flaherty, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Enniskerryn A Chara. So glad you had a great time for TedFest and a big thank you for your custom and rating. PJ & Grace.

Reviewed 14 January 2024

We had an amazing dinner here. Yes, it was packed and we had to wait, but it is easy enough to grab a pint and wait for your table. The food was absolutely incredible and probably higher end than we were expecting from a pub...like place. From the ferry, it is a little bit of a walk up the hill but you will not be disappointed.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2023

Frozen dry fish socking bad. Overpriced and poor food. Goats cheese salad had three small balls of Goats Cheese and lettuce overpriced and poor value for money!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PJ Flaherty, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

A Chara. So sorry you had an unhappy experience. Not sure what you mean by ‘ Frozen dry fish sock in bad’ you had a starter portion of Aran Goats Cheese which we serve 3 regular sized balls of with a good selection of salad...More

Reviewed 16 October 2023

In late September Watty's was the only place open for dinner. The atmosphere was charming and warm. Dinner was excellent and the service was very good.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2023

Great food, good service and lots of fun ! When I visited in 2019 this pub was exceptional, it was even better on this trip. Attentive staff, great local seafood, reasonable prices and free music . The locals do not mind sharing this pub with...you. Wait for the ferry to leave and then enjoy a more leisurely meal on this rural Irish island.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Aran Islands Hotel
671 reviews
.73 km away
Hotel Inis Oirr
196 reviews
11.79 km away
Aran View Country House
430 reviews
23.01 km away
Hotel Doolin
1,143 reviews
23.06 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Teach Nan Phaidi
624 reviews
5.84 km away
The Bar
390 reviews
.50 km away
Bayview Restaurant
296 reviews
.54 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Inis Mor Bike Hire
32 reviews
.52 km away
Inishmore Playground
8 reviews
.26 km away
Inis Mor Horse Carriage tours
49 reviews
.49 km away
Dive Academy
371 reviews
.51 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
No1Ma
28 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from PJJoeWattys | Property representative |
Sorry for late reply. I am away at the moment but anything in Kilronan is close. Also, if you click into the links page joewattys website there is a list of all accommodation
0
Votes
babs d
18 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PJ F | Property representative |
Barbara, A Chara So sorry for delay in replying to this and I suspect it might be too late now. I thought I had replied on my phone when it came in and obviously I did something wrong. Children are welcome in the bar up... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

JOE WATTY'S BAR, Inishmore - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Joe Watty's Bar

Yes, Joe Watty's Bar is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Joe Watty's Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5