We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe Watty's Bar

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Joe Watty’s Bar is a welcoming local bar with good food, music & craic. The bar is well placed in Kilronan Village, at the cross-roads to Dún Aengus and the Seal Colony. When you drink at Joe Watty’s, you drink with the locals. We offer you a ‘Ceád Milé Failté’ to Joe Watty’s, one of the Islands Oldest and most Traditional Pubs, where you may relax and unwind in front of a warm open fire with a pint of Guinness or Irish Coffee. Located at the cross-roads that lead to Dún Aengus Fort and the Seal Colony, and only 300 metres from the Pier.You may wish to sample our ‘Traditional Island Bar Food’ of locally caught Lobster, Crab, Mussels, Fresh Fish, a variety of Meat & Vegetarian Dishes and Homemade
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (1,016)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
545
200
68
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
545
200
68
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger chowder hake oysters live music great music the pub aran islands great spot few drinks fish of the day a great evening great guinness first night one night lovely atmosphere grace
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 19 December 2022

Came here after a day of hiking on the island and had great fish and chips with a pint of cider. Welcoming atmosphere and fun locals, if I didn't visit in the off season I bet it would be even more lively and better.

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 29 August 2022

If you like a good Irish chowder like I do with a good pint of Guinness then this is the place to visit while on the island and touring, good food, good drinks, good music and very good staff. You won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 November 2022

We ate twice in Joe Wattys while visiting for the weekend, and loved the upbeat, comfortable atmosphere, the food and the service. We had a group of 17 from our LGBT+ community centre so I rang in advance, and while they don't take bookings they...let us know what time is best to come in and had a section set off at the back. We had several vegetarians with us who could happily eat off the menu, and none of the young people had any issues with their food they absolutely loved it and couldn't wait to go back the second night! Dessert is highly recommended with delicious options. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and overall we had a fantastic visit and wouldn't hesitate to go back in the future when visiting. Hats off to a great business, who not only deliver on their food but also in terms of their staff and customer service! Go raibh míle maith agat!More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 September 2022

Perfect food, great atmosphere, irish folk musician every day, very nice owners, place you must visit. :)

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 September 2022

Our family of 7 adults had an enjoyable lunch here. It was very busy and most tables taken. However, we sat in the corner table with lots of history on the walls. We had two vegans, one vegetarian and the rest "normal" eaters and were...all well catered for. Enjoyed our meals and the ambiance.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 September 2022

Unfortunately we did not eat here as it was too windy to eat outside. It poured rain when we were there and they are quite happy to leave us and our small dog out in it even though the place was empty. The staff were...really condescending also. Seem to prefer localsMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 August 2022 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, place was pretty packed at 3 on a Saturday afternoon. But they found us q really nice seat, with 3 young children its nice to be out of the way in a restaurant. Food was good. Children had kids portions of fish fingers...and chips, it went down well. My wife had the chowder and was very happy with it. I had deep fried fish it was good not amazing. And the portion could have been bigger. Got 2 desserts to share and they were both excellent. The best thing about the place was the service. No hanging around, very little waiting time. Overall, absolutely recommend this place for lunchMore

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 August 2022 via mobile

Went to see Padraig Jack's 'Making Sand' show last night and really enjoyed it. The marquee beside the pub is small and cosy and made for a great intimate atmosphere. Some original songs, a few cover versions and loads of interesting and funny stories about...his life and the island. €15, tickets on the door or online. Show was from 8:30pm until just after 10pm. A very enjoyable evening - 100% recommend! 😃More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 August 2022

Had walked for about 2 hours on the Island on a beautiful sunny day when we came across the oasis that is Joe Watty's. Lovely food, pleasant efficient staff and clean and tidy premises. Just rounded off the evening nicely, hats off to Joe..!!

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 August 2022

Good system for the table waiting list. Perfect bar menu, wonderful friendly feeling and very good live music.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 August 2022

Visited this pub for drinks with two kids. Were made to feel unwelcome. Planned to eat here but changed my mind based on the reception we got.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 August 2022 via mobile

Visited here with my husband. The only positives I can say were the host who was very nice and the 2 men playing music were brilliant. However the food was disgraceful, I ordered the goats cheese salad, €18.90 and my husband had the fish of...the day and chips, hake €19.90. The portions were tiny, no presentation, just completely taking advantage of tourists. While the goats cheese itself was lovely, the salad was big lumps of peppers, ordinary salad tomatoes and lettuce. The chips we got were the cheapest of chips, awful. No wonder we are known as rip of Ireland. I have no problem paying expensive prices for food, but give great food. On speaking to locals while we were out elsewhere this place is known for this. We have been reccomended by several locals to try The Bar restaurant.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 August 2022 via mobile

We ordered 3 fish n chips, the portions were so small and fish was not fresh. The 3 portions of chips were not enough for 1 person and don't get me started about the mushy peas, there was about a tablespoon if even! How anyone...could charge €20 per head, they should be ashamed of themselves! Definitely won't be back there.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 July 2022 via mobile

Very impersonal.. limited menu, staff not knowledgeable.. wouldn't rate at all unfortunately.. wouldn't recommendMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2022

It’s a strange world to most service is too slow but your review is a first for me in 40 years of catering. I checked out your service review you were asked 3 times if you were ready to order over 20 minutes not 10...More

Reviewed 24 July 2022 via mobile

My husband and I visited Joe Wattys a number of times recently during a holiday on the Aran islands . Great atmosphere and friendly staff. They serve very good Guinness along with good food. There is also live music every night which adds to the...atmosphere. Definitely a place to rerun to.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Aran Islands Hotel
638 reviews
.73 km away
Hotel Inis Oirr
181 reviews
11.79 km away
Hotel Doolin
931 reviews
22.98 km away
Aran View Country House
423 reviews
23.01 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Teach Nan Phaidi
607 reviews
5.84 km away
The Bar
361 reviews
.50 km away
Bayview Restaurant
271 reviews
.54 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Inis Mor Bike Hire
28 reviews
.52 km away
Inishmore Playground
9 reviews
.26 km away
Inis Mor Horse Carriage tours
45 reviews
.49 km away
Dive Academy
325 reviews
.51 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
No1Ma
28 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from PJJoeWattys | Property representative |
Sorry for late reply. I am away at the moment but anything in Kilronan is close. Also, if you click into the links page joewattys website there is a list of all accommodation
0
Votes
babs d
18 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PJ F | Property representative |
Barbara, A Chara So sorry for delay in replying to this and I suspect it might be too late now. I thought I had replied on my phone when it came in and obviously I did something wrong. Children are welcome in the bar up... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

JOE WATTY'S BAR, Inishmore - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Joe Watty's Bar

Yes, Joe Watty's Bar is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Joe Watty's Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5