We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Strawberry Beds | Chapelizod, Castleknock Dublin 20, Ireland
+353 1 820 4351
Website
Today
12:00 - 00:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 23:30
Fri - Sun 12:00 - 00:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

815 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 796: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Super restaurant with very good food and a lovely lively but cosy atmosphere, which was surprising as the place is quite large. Only negative is the waiters didn't often understand us as they weren't local, and they rushed about so much it made us a little edgy. However, I'd recommend a visit. Good wine and champagne list too.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Howth is a well-known fishing village just outside of Dublin, very touristy, and the restaurants there were disappointing. I was a bit surprised to find an excellent seafood restaurant nowhere near Howth, called the Anglers Rest, a short cab ride just to the west of downtown Dublin, just the other side of Phoenix Park. The mussels and fish chowder were... More 

Helpful?
Thank dinghysailor
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Anglers Rest, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We're delighted that you had a good experience with us here at The Anglers Rest and we hope to see you again really soon. More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After an hour flying kites in the nearby Phoenix Park my mother and I decided to visit The Angler's Rest for a coffee and a hot chocolate for my four year old son. Living nearby we have dined here before and always enjoyed our visit. We were met brusquely and told that we could have a table but would have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank clarecath
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Anglers Rest, responded to this review

We are extremely disappointed that you did not have a good experience with us here at The Anglers rest. We will take all your points on board and discuss them with our team. if you could send us on your contact details and info regarding your experience to marketing@wbg.ie More 

Swords, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was here with my wife and 2 children on a Saturday afternoon at about 2 pm for lunch. We've been lunching out frequently for some time now so we have a good idea of the standards out there. We were shown to a table by the maitre d when we entered. First impressions were that it was a nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank liamagester
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Anglers Rest, responded to this review

We are extremely disappointed that you did not have a good experience with us here at The Anglers rest. We will take all your points on board and discuss them with our team. if you could send us on your contact details and info regarding your experience to marketing@wbg.ie More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for a birthday meal with the family. We had 4 children and a baby with us and the staff were very accommodating. The children's sized portions are very generous and they were happy to take out the kids meals while we ate our starters which were delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Róisín M
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Anglers Rest, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We're delighted that you had a good experience with us here at The Anglers Rest and we hope to see you again really soon. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have not been here in about 40 years and the place has been transformed from cosy pub to upmarket restaurant (In pricing anyway). A group of vintage old timers met for lunch and we we could all see that there was a bias towards fish on the menu. No problem with that but we all agreed that the pricing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aidan O
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Anglers Rest, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We will take all your points on board and discuss them with our team. More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a lovely meal with a couple of friends at the Angler's Rest last month. It is really cozy and inviting and the atmosphere was great. It is clearly a very popular spot and I can understand why. The food was amazing and my favourite dish was a very generous bowl of mussels which I really enjoyed as a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna40
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Anglers Rest, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We're delighted that you had a good experience with us here at The Anglers Rest and we hope to see you again really soon. More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great evening, great atmosphere, great food and great staff!! I cannot rate this place highly enough, the food was wholesome and tasty, the staff were friendly and service seemed to be at the centre of what they do! The atmosphere was buzzing, we were a table of six and were recommended by the taxi driver from the airport, we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank pkwe1975
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Anglers Rest, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We're delighted that you had a good experience with us here at The Anglers Rest and we hope to see you again really soon. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Visited with 3 friends for midweek dinner. Starters of crab, chicken wings, fried prawns and crab claws were good. 3 lads chose steak and these were very good. Waiter agreed to do Seafood platter for one (on menu its a dish for two) and it included half a lobster which had been cooked a day or two earlier - nothing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dromadamusic
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Anglers Rest, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We're delighted that you had a good experience with us here at The Anglers Rest and we hope to see you again really soon. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Hours before going to the restaurant I rang to change the time of our booking, I was met with disinterest and inexperience and even though I asked for the man on the phone to confirm the time with me he responded by laughing saying its fine its fine and mispronouncing my name, not exactly a good first impression. Not surprisingly... More 

Helpful?
Thank louwhelan
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Anglers Rest, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not have a good experience with us here at The Anglers rest. We will take all your points on board and discuss them with our team. if you could send us on your contact details and info regarding your experience to marketing@wbg.ie More 

Travellers who viewed Anglers Rest also viewed

Castleknock, County Dublin
Castleknock, County Dublin
 
Castleknock, County Dublin
Blanchardstown, County Dublin
 

Been to Anglers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$33
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 00:30
Saturday
12:00 - 00:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Strawberry Beds | Chapelizod, Castleknock Dublin 20, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Castleknock
  • Phone Number: +353 1 820 4351

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Anglers Rest and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Anglers Rest staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?