We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Riverfront

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Street, Virginia, Ireland
+353 49 854 7561
Website
Today
09:00 - 02:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 23:00
Mon - Thu 09:00 - 23:30
Fri - Sat 09:00 - 02:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 230: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

First time at the Riverfront. Pros: Quick to be welcomed and seated, plenty of friendly and attentive staff, warm, colours for kids, big jug of water and orange cordial for table, comfortable seats and dining area. Cons: Menu choice was limited, order took a lot longer than expected to come out, beef was over cooked and dry, food was warm,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I travel from Dublin to the north quite frequently and always stop for a tea or lunch in the Riverfront. Lovely food, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff. The Riverfront gets everything right. Love it!

Helpful?
2 Thank Sean O
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you Sean for taking the time to review The Riverfront.We hope to see you again very soon . Best Regards Paul More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just home from a Wedding in Virginia Co.Cavan. We had dinner at the Riverfront the night before the wedding. It was a complete surprise to find such high standards in this rural town. The menu was very varied with every taste catered for. I had a seafood chowder to kill for. Main course I had a sizzling vegetable stir fry... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FlojoIreland
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this review

We were delighted to receive your 5 star review of The Riverfront . Many thanks for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing yourself and your husband again sometime soon . Best Regards, Paul . More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This has been my second time here stayed a night a few months back and had a great stay so as i was passing today i called in for dinner, and it was excellent i had the steak sandwich. the girl who served us was very friendly and we got the food quite quick which was great as we were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shane J
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A bit disappointed with our visit on this occasion. We had booked for 17 of us.we weren't all able to sit together as it just didn't look like they had the room, and using straight tables and a round one didn't really work and sort of split us up into 3 groups which made it difficult to communicate as a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny123186597
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this review

Hi Johnny, Thank you for your recent review but we feel we must respond to some of your comments . We made contact with the lady who arranged the booking and she confirmed she was happy with the seating arrangement.The booking was originally made for 22 and on the night 17 arrived which is not a problem but we did... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hope that the management of The Riverfront take on board the comments of our experience. Both myself and my wife went there for Sunday lunch as we had arrived home from the weekend. The Riverfront is the only restaurant within the town boundary where you can get Sunday lunch and I think that this has made them very complacent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roslea1
paulO6725GO, Public Relations Manager at The Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Riverfront. I must start by correcting one of your first statements . (The Riverfront is the only restaurant within the town boundary where you can get Sunday lunch and I think that this has made them very complacent as they do get the passing trade in the town) There are 4 restaurants... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I had a very pleasant evening. The Riverfront provides a high standard and good quality food and staff are very pleasant.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in here for an evening meal on Sunday. The place was quite busy. The staff were friendly. Three of us had starter and main course. The service was prompt. Food was good. Would recommend a stop here if your passing. Only downside was: dishes remained on the table from the starters until we were finished.

Helpful?
2 Thank Breen S
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we started calling in here for food on our way home from many appointments drogheda hospital , every single time has been amazing :) the food and staff are perfect. i have also been here for an evening meal , were there was a band playing later in the evening. there wa sa brilliant atmosphere and a very comfortable ,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank maggiemck19
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great meal, nice service, good atmosphere. Recommended for meeting with friends and for a good food.

Helpful?
2 Thank tomasz g

Travellers who viewed The Riverfront also viewed

 
Virginia, County Cavan
 
Virginia, County Cavan
 

Been to The Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:30
Thursday
09:00 - 23:30
Friday
09:00 - 02:30
Saturday
09:00 - 02:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Virginia, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  County Cavan  >  Virginia
  • Phone Number: +353 49 854 7561

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Riverfront and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Norwich, United Kingdom
Norwich, United Kingdom
Ballymena, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Riverfront staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?