We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poogan's Porch

72 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
+1 843-577-2337
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (609 reviews)
“biscuits” (854 reviews)
“fried chicken” (634 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
72 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (6,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 6,004 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We had a wonderful evening dining at Poogans. The food was excellent, the service was friendly and helpful, and we received a 40 percent discount on the evening we were there.

Thank David K
Reviewed yesterday

I was starving and couldn't make up my mind between 3 menu items, all quite different from each other mind you. So I asked our server and she said to try the pulled pork eggs Benedict. It was brunch hour, perfect choice. Flavors were amazing.

Thank Colleen b
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I came here with a business colleague. Very enjoyable food. The atmosphere is good and the staff is very friendly. The menu is filled with tasteful choices!!!

Thank Israel L
Reviewed 2 days ago

I could say that the *only* thing that made Poogans less than perfect was the noise level. My wife and I prefer a more quiet dining experience. It is a converted house and there are 100+ guests at this house, so it is a bit...More

Thank wpbjunk
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We just happened to be in town during restaurant week and got a 3 course meal for $35. Food was excellent and a modern version of old southern cuisine. Plus there is a ghost or two in the restaurant.

Thank Mark M
Reviewed 2 days ago

Service was excellent, attentive but not overbearing; complete with a little ghost story thrown in. I had the scallops and they were fantastic. Ambiance was casual yet refined. Would highly recommend.

Thank cbmay19
Reviewed 3 days ago

Good food, interesting history and place was clean. We had a large party and our server did well with our group. Everyone was happy with our dinner choice. I would recommend them for a visit while in Charleston

Thank Floridatourist17
Reviewed 3 days ago

We had Lunch here. I wasn't too hungry so I ordered the Mac n Cheese with Ham Appetizer. It was huge! I couldn't finish it. They gave us some hit biscuits and I could have made a meal out of those! Our waitress was very...More

Thank ThomasJAdams
Reviewed 4 days ago

Overall, we were disappointed at Poogan's Porch. It was our first trip and I was looking forward to our visit. Our server seemed to be having a bad day and was neither attentive nor warm. My food was served lukewarm and our server took so...More

Thank Holly O
Reviewed 1 week ago

We first visited Poogan's Porch about 35 years ago and it has become tradition to eat at Poogans. It just wouldn't be a trip to Charleston without stopping in at Poogan's Porch. Love the Buttermilk fried chicken and mashed potatoes! There biscuits are better than...More

Thank lneal0124
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 62 hotels in Charleston
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
3,534 reviews
.04 km away
The Elliott House Inn
868 reviews
.04 km away
Kings Courtyard Inn
617 reviews
.20 km away
Days Inn Charleston Historic District
2,495 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Brown Dog Deli
1,212 reviews
.31 km away
Eli's Table
2,347 reviews
.06 km away
82 Queen
2,481 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gibbes Museum of Art
40 reviews
.08 km away
Circular Congregational Church
88 reviews
.16 km away
Meyer Vogl Gallery
20 reviews
.07 km away
Charleston City Hall
32 reviews
.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KHamaker418
26 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Patrick G | Reviewed this property |
I would recommend that when a restaurant offers a chance to make a reservation you listen to their advice. I saw lines at this restaurant every day.
0
Votes
DanielaEmmi
26 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jodi T | Reviewed this property |
It wouldn't be that hard at all honestly! If anything you will just have a small wait time of less that 20 minutes.
1
Vote
Patricia C
6 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TexasTraveler030 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, late response.. my party was all adults and I really don't remember seeing children.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$30
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:30
09:00 - 14:30
Monday
17:00 - 21:30
10:30 - 14:30
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:30
10:30 - 14:30
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:30
10:30 - 14:30
Thursday
17:00 - 21:30
10:30 - 14:30
Friday
17:00 - 21:30
10:30 - 14:30
Saturday
17:00 - 21:30
09:00 - 14:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 72 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
    (Meeting & King)
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Charleston>  > Downtown
  • Neighbourhood: Downtown
  • Phone Number: +1 843-577-2337
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing