We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Low Country Bistro

€€ - €€€Cajun & Creole, Seafood,
49 S Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-2004
+1 843-302-0290
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (143 reviews)
“crab cakes” (176 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Contemporary, American, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
49 S Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-2004
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (2,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 2,112 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Went there twice, each time fabulous. The gumbo was New Orleans quality great. Service was friendly and prompt. Fresh Sangria is exceptional. Homemade chips there are better than most fries served elsewhere. Restrooms were very clean.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank X4510TIkarenr
Angel_Pow, Public Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for sharing this review! We are so happy to hear that our team took wonderful care of you and helped to make your meal with us a memorable one. We're thrilled that you enjoyed everything!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was great,, Server was REALLY great!!!,, we had fried oyster mac & cheese & low country Jambalaya,, YUM !!,,, getting Hungry :)More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank fisherman2012
Angel_Pow, Public Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing this review. We are so pleased to hear that our team took wonderful care of you and helped to make your meal with us a memorable one. We're thrilled that you enjoyed everything and we look forward to having​ you join...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We made a reservation for Thanksgiving Day. As expected, they were very busy, but that didn't keep the service from being excellent and friendly. And then the food...oh my! Their entire menu was available, plus they offered a traditional Thanksgiving meal. I chose the traditional...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Sandy B
Angel_Pow, Public Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sandy, thank you for sharing this review with us. We are so pleased that you chose to celebrate your Thanksgiving holiday with us. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed everything and we look forward to having you join us again...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great atmosphere. Wonderful service. Our waitress was very personable and charismatic. She was a godsend when a friend had a stain on her shirt. She gave her club soda, a washcloth, and salt to get rid of the stain. So sweet! The food was delicious,...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank avaserr93
Angel_Pow, Public Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing this review with us. We are so happy to hear that our team took wonderful care of you and helped to make your meal with us a memorable one. We're thrilled that you enjoyed everything and we look forward to having...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to Low Country Bistro for lunch and encountered good service and large portions (large verging on enormous for the entrees). The bowl of she crab soup was tasty and very hearty.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank vonifide
Angel_Pow, Public Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing this review with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything! We look forward to having you join us again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a busy Saturday night at the market, most restaurants in the area were crowded with waiting times, but we were able to be seated immediately here. My wife and I split the Bistro salad which was good. I had the crispy flounder sandwich. It...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Nelson T
Angel_Pow, Public Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us. We take all customer feedback seriously at Lowcountry Bistro and we are sorry to hear that you were completely satisfied with your customer service experience. We are, however, happy to hear that you enjoyed your food items....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here for brunch expecting good food but were incredibly disappointed. They are supposed to be known for their "she crab soup." Really? What we were served was goopy, gummy, tasteless, crab-less she crab soup. The worst we have ever eaten. The crab eggs...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank travelmavensny
Angel_Pow, Public Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We take all customer feedback seriously at Lowcountry Bistro and we are sorry to hear about your experience. Our General Manager Jeff Davis would welcome the opportunity to speak with you about this experience; Please send him...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I give this restaurant 3 stars due to the sparse and lack luster ambiance and location next to the busy “market”, which I’m not a fan of. However, what the bistro lacked in decor it made up for in quality. I had yummy shrimp and...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank KTHip
Angel_Pow, Public Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us. We take all customer feedback seriously at Lowcountry Bistro and we are sorry to hear that you were completely satisfied with your experience. We are happy to hear that Leann and the rest of our team took...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a busy day of sightseeing my wife and I just happened to find this place. Trust me, you won't be disappointed! The best shrimp and grits I have ever had, wanted to lick the plate but my wife gave me that NO look. Wish...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 312greggf
Angel_Pow, Public Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing this review with us. We are so happy to hear that our team took wonderful care of you and helped to make your meal with us a memorable one. We're thrilled that you enjoyed everything and we look forward to having...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped in for a quick lunch and drinks. both were great. Drinks were fresh. And the food also was fresh, like picked from the sea and picked from the garden fresh! The staff was super friendly and able to help adjust some menu items to...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Todd E
Angel_Pow, Public Relations Manager at Low Country Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Todd, thank you for sharing this review with us. We are so happy to hear that our team took wonderful care of you and helped to make your meal with us a memorable one. We're thrilled that you enjoyed everything and we hope you'll join...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 65 hotels in Charleston
Market Street Inn
14 reviews
.03 km away
The Spectator Hotel
697 reviews
.04 km away
French Quarter Inn
3,289 reviews
.06 km away
Market Pavilion Hotel
1,646 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kilwins Chocolate and Ice Cream
392 reviews
.01 km away
Anson Restaurant
766 reviews
.09 km away
Oyster House
1,058 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Black Fedora Comedy Mystery Theatre
649 reviews
.09 km away
Escape in 60
559 reviews
.02 km away
Zendulgence Salon and Spa
114 reviews
.03 km away
MoonPie General Store
97 reviews
.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
smn_33
23 July 2018|
Answer
Response from eiblek | Reviewed this property |
They no longer do bottomless mimosas. They do $3 mimosas during brunch
0
Votes
Leland and Amy H
25 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from marjo178 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, I would say it is kid friendly. It is a family restaurant.
0
Votes
ebleks
9 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Paul Y | Reviewed this property |
Yes make a reservation. You will have a great time.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$30
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 49 S Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-2004
    (Church Street and South Market)
  • Location: United States  >  South Carolina (SC)  >  Coastal South Carolina  >  Charleston
  • Phone Number: +1 843-302-0290
  • E-mail
Description
SIMPLY LOWCOUNTRY: Lowcountry Bistro focuses only on the freshest ingredients since all of the food we cook is from scratch. On the menu you will find cult favorites like Chicken and Waffles to Lowcountry classics like Shrimp and Grits. We also believe that great food can be affordable. Many of our lunch dishes are under $10. Our goal as a restaurant is to serve high quality, delicious food, at a fair price. We hope you agree after your meal at Lowcountry Bistro. SISTER RESTAURANT TO 82 QUEEN As an icon of the city for over 30 years, we have seen restaurants come and go. We pride ourselves on the fact that we were one of the first original Lowcountry cuisine restaurants to open their doors in the city. We know Lowcountry and after diligently researching Market Street restaurants, have come to the conclusion that what the area needs is a true, authentic Lowcountry restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing